Hacking Has anyone figured out how to spoof a pro controller with a computer?

legorhin

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Jul 5, 2017
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
22
Country
United States
Considering the pro controllers work on pc using bluetooth, it should be possible to fake controller inputs by reversing the interface.
(if this is the wrong board i'm sorry, my question just seems more related to hacking than hardware)

EDIT: I found this repository https://github.com/dekuNukem/Nintendo_Switch_Reverse_Engineering that has a lot of the communication protocols figured out, i might try writing something to answer my problem myself.

I will edit this again if i make progress
 
Last edited by legorhin,

urherenow

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
3,887
Trophies
1
Age
45
Location
Japan
XP
2,387
Country
United States
Google much? It has, in part, paired with a PC from DAY ONE. What do you mean by "fake"? Like using the PC to pair with the switch and control games with your keyboard?
 
Last edited by urherenow,

nastys

ナースティス
Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2014
Messages
1,730
Trophies
0
Age
23
Location
Earth
XP
1,738
Country
Italy
Google much? It has, in part, paired with a PC from DAY ONE. What do you mean by "fake"? Like using the PC to pair with the switch and control games with your keyboard?
I think he/she meant using the PC as a Pro Controller for the Nintendo Switch, not connecting the Pro Controller to the PC.
 
Last edited by nastys,

Naendow

Brick-Master
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2016
Messages
565
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
1,796
Country
Germany
I am not a developer or anything like that, but I think that it is possible in theory. Someone would only need to create a small software for this.
 

urherenow

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
3,887
Trophies
1
Age
45
Location
Japan
XP
2,387
Country
United States
Sounds interesting for a school project, but not much else. #motioncontrols

but with that in mind, one could go crazy and first connect a power glove to PC then emulate *some of the pro controller with that. OMG, that's so bad it's gooood :rofl2:
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
21,261
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
10,079
Country
Norway
Considering the pro controllers work on pc using bluetooth, it should be possible to fake controller inputs by reversing the interface.
(if this is the wrong board i'm sorry, my question just seems more related to hacking than hardware)

EDIT: I found this repository https://github.com/dekuNukem/Nintendo_Switch_Reverse_Engineering that has a lot of the communication protocols figured out, i might try writing something to answer my problem myself.

I will edit this again if i make progress
It sounds plausible, but can a PC bluetooth adapter spoof as a gamepad? Not so sure that would be possible without a custom driver, or at least a custom bluetooth stack.
 

legorhin

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Jul 5, 2017
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
22
Country
United States
Sounds interesting for a school project, but not much else. #motioncontrols
i'm not concerned about motion controls, i just want to mess around with Tool Assisted button inputs. Bluetooth stacks are outside my areas of expertise so i might just use a hardware approach instead
 

Futurdreamz

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2014
Messages
2,224
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
1,884
Country
Canada
Sounds interesting for a school project, but not much else. #motioncontrols

but with that in mind, one could go crazy and first connect a power glove to PC then emulate *some of the pro controller with that. OMG, that's so bad it's gooood :rofl2:
Theoretically it would mean you can plug any controller into your computer and use it as a Pro controller.

But I'd rather just get a second pair of Joycons.
 

YouTubePlays

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 14, 2019
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
61
Country
United States
Just wanted to chime in that I made this app which basically turns your phone into a Pro Controller.
You can attach a USB controller as well in that case phone acts as a bridge.

Just Search JoyCon Droid in google play you will need a suitable phone with android 9 though
 
  • Like
Reactions: nanchan and nastys

nastys

ナースティス
Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2014
Messages
1,730
Trophies
0
Age
23
Location
Earth
XP
1,738
Country
Italy
Just wanted to chime in that I made this app which basically turns your phone into a Pro Controller.
You can attach a USB controller as well in that case phone acts as a bridge.

Just Search JoyCon Droid in google play you will need a suitable phone with android 9 though
Can you make it compatible with earlier versions of Android if the device is rooted?
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • El_Doot @ El_Doot:
    by 1
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    funnily enough when i was telling my openly femboy furry bf and my friend(we talk about femboys sometimes) they said "nope we don't wanna hear that that's disgusting"
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    why is cheeto dust of all things
    the subject that crosses the line
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Wait, Switch Online now has Super Mario 64, right?
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    i really hate to say this but
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    i dont think it does
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Huh, makes sense; they did sell that through the 3D All-Stars collection.
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Which, last I heard was removed from the eShop...so they might as well offer it again, I guess...
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Will they use the same Shindou-translated ROM, or the original English ROM?
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    googling it, it seems that mario 64 is on the service
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    in japan they use the shindou version apparently but in the states and elsewhere they use the original rom
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    oh boy oh boy oh boy i sure do love living in japan and being a mario fan, i just got the new expansion pack, i cant wait to do some bljs!
    +1
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    From what I've heard about the Expansion Pack, the emulator used has some noticeable input delay and/or lag...would BLJs even be possible?
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Apparently Nintendo adapted the 3D All-Stars emulator, instead of their old Virtual Console emulator - or, if nothing else, copying what fans have done.
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    from what i can seem to gather there's some issues but nothing dramatic enough to severely impact what you're playing
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    honestly the whole expansion pack confuses me since i thought the nes/snes games were just a neat little bonus
    Gift
  • El_Doot @ El_Doot:
    wait julie your bf is a femboy holy shit im jealous
    +1
    Gift
  • AkiraKurusu @ AkiraKurusu:
    So many planes flying overhead, and they sound close...
    Gift
  • DJPlace @ DJPlace:
    do you need friends to play the games online for the switch exapsion pack i know snes and nes do.
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    @El_Doot well hey hot people do get more benefits in life
    Gift
  • J @ Jephter:
    Please I need help with this. I just homebrew my old 3ds console and downloaded a CIA file, but after surfing through for only 10 sec or less this appears. please can someone help me? Thank you in advance.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Start a new thread in the 3DS board, the chat box is not the best place to ask for such advice.
    Gift
  • Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    A week ago I got a payment request, through PayPal, from "[email protected]", who wanted US$64.
    Scam? Cancelled it anyway.
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    The note added to it simply said "Lucky Charms?", too.
    Gift
    RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing: The note added to it simply said "Lucky Charms?", too.