Hacking hardmodded wii accidentally upgraded.

esalazar

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 14, 2009
Messages
26
Trophies
0
XP
16
Country
Colombia
Hi.

A friend upgraded his hardmodded Wii.

He doesnt know in wich version it was, but now it shows a 001 error everytime we try to run a game.

I cant open the Wii (I dont have the proper tools), so I dont know which was the chip.


What should I do?

Should I try downgrading? Maybe I could downgrade several times until it works
nyanya.gif
but dont know how to do that.

DOP/IOS should do the trick, but I still not understand that much, so I may en bricking it.

Any help appreciated.
 

MikeyTaylorGaming

YouTube Glitcher
Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2007
Messages
1,723
Trophies
1
Location
North West England
Website
youtube.com
XP
1,350
Country
United Kingdom
TheNewbPleaser said:
is it a new wii i mean have u bought it recently? if u have u got the new drive wich is uncapable of reading any kind of DVD..so... go for USB loading
n00b!! why would they buy a chip for a wii that cant play DVD-r 's??

your name CLEARLY not living up to expectations here eh?



best option would be to install bootmii first, then see if downgrading will do the trick
smile.gif


dont know how modchips work since i've never used one had experience with one, but it should work
wink.gif
 

esalazar

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 14, 2009
Messages
26
Trophies
0
XP
16
Country
Colombia
mikeyt1998 said:
n00b!! why would they buy a chip for a wii that cant play DVD-r 's??

your name CLEARLY not living up to expectations here eh?



best option would be to install bootmii first, then see if downgrading will do the trick
smile.gif


dont know how modchips work since i've never used one had experience with one, but it should work
wink.gif

OK, now tell me how to downgrade
rolleyes.gif
 

esalazar

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 14, 2009
Messages
26
Trophies
0
XP
16
Country
Colombia
mikeyt1998 said:
haha good question, i've never been on firmware 4.2
tongue.gif


try looking at the sticky at the top of the hacking page called how to mod any wii 4.2 or under
smile.gif


that'll have some helpful info in it i'm sure!

I think I know from memory this guides
huh.gif
and only one says how to downgrade to 4.1, and I dont think this will be enough...

I am sure he was 3.4 or something, if not 3.2.

If you know some posting saying how to downgrade, Ill follow it. Also, DOP-IOS is supposed to do the trick, but I dont really understand how it works.
 

vegemikee

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
356
Trophies
1
XP
325
Country
mikeyt1998 said:
TheNewbPleaser said:
is it a new wii i mean have u bought it recently? if u have u got the new drive wich is uncapable of reading any kind of DVD..so... go for USB loading
n00b!! why would they buy a chip for a wii that cant play DVD-r 's??

your name CLEARLY not living up to expectations here eh?



best option would be to install bootmii first, then see if downgrading will do the trick
smile.gif


dont know how modchips work since i've never used one had experience with one, but it should work
wink.gif

how can downgrading fix the 001 error with a modchip installed...
and youre one flaming someone else for being noob...

to OP, are you trying to load a game of a different region? that might be an issue.
otherwise, your modchip isnt up to date with firmware that supports and blocks those errors...
or, the update mightve somehow tweaked with the modchips settings? im not sure if it can do that, but it may be possible
 

esalazar

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 14, 2009
Messages
26
Trophies
0
XP
16
Country
Colombia
vegemikee said:
how can downgrading fix the 001 error with a modchip installed...
and youre one flaming someone else for being noob...

to OP, are you trying to load a game of a different region? that might be an issue.
otherwise, your modchip isnt up to date with firmware that supports and blocks those errors...
or, the update mightve somehow tweaked with the modchips settings? im not sure if it can do that, but it may be possible


My friend, or better, his daughter, updated the Wii. I dont think no one tweaked anything. Thats why I think downgrading may take it back to work.

Hmmm.. how could I know which modchip are they using without opening the Wii?
 

esalazar

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 14, 2009
Messages
26
Trophies
0
XP
16
Country
Colombia
xzxero said:
There is no point is going to anything below 4.1


QUOTE(xflak40 @ Dec 1 2009, 01:26 PM) i second that


OK, Ill downgrade to 4.1. Still dont know to downgrade any further
tongue.gif
 

razorback78

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2009
Messages
1,183
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
135
Country
to the OP what specifically have you upgraded? the most recent issue on #001 error that i know is due to installation of cios249rev15. you don't have to downgrade like everybody stated. check on the 249 revision maybe it is on rev15.
 

esalazar

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 14, 2009
Messages
26
Trophies
0
XP
16
Country
Colombia
Well, I worked the Wii as if it were new. I even used my SD from my own Wii, with all the programs, everything worked like a charm. Well, the hardchip will be there unused, but my friend can play now, using backup launcher with autoboot.
 

ocdetective

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
601
Trophies
0
XP
81
Country
Malaysia
4.2 took away the ability to play out of region games through the disc channel on hard modded wiis - I suspect that was the problem.
 

esalazar

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 14, 2009
Messages
26
Trophies
0
XP
16
Country
Colombia
Well, downgraded to 4.1 and installed everything just as if the chip never existed, now is a softmoded Wii


smile.gif
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    She has all my weak points smart funny blonde and she lights up the room when she walks in and nothing else exists when she is there
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I would eat the corn out of her.... Lol
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Psi! You're alive!
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    ...and you have yet another new
    girlfried :rolleyes:
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    MAKE HER SIGH A PRENUP
    +1
  • cearp @ cearp:
    PSI <3 🌽
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Lol Veho I'm down to 3
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Dumping one soon
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    My Facebook has like 120 women now or something lol
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Each one hotter than the last...
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Ordered a new SSD
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Your mom's an SSD lol
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Your mom writes to me fast
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I haven't placed an order with Newegg since like 2016 lol
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Amazon Is better lol
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Hard to find a fast 2tb SSD for 130
    +1
  • Peretti @ Peretti:
    lately I downloaded super mario galaxy for wii, but in the first phase, right in the first cutscene of the game, the game freezes in that part, with the image appearing but completely frozen. I already had this problem with pikmin 2 but in the end I couldn't fix the problem. Has anyone had this problem, and if so, did you find a solution?
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Moms spaghetti
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Why are republicans so desperate to see Hunter Biden's dick? I don't get it.
  • Maximumbeans @ Maximumbeans:
    They need to see it to prove he isn't a reptilian
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I thought they were trying to prove that he was a reptilian.
  • Maximumbeans @ Maximumbeans:
    Oh yeah :rofl2: then I have no idea!
    Veho @ Veho: