1. Gab75

    Gab75 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    Italy
    The extra_space module moves the savestates to an unused section of NAND (about 50 MB). The savestate format doesn't change, so the required storage space is the same.

    PRO:
    More space to put games, teorically all free storage space can be used to put the ROMs
    CONS:
    Only 50MB are available for the savestates and game saves (if you like to use many savestates this can be a problem)
     
    maande80 likes this.
  2. byevoltor

    byevoltor Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    Mexico
    Hello friends!!!!:grog:

    A couple of questions:

    Is this the last hakchi2, is the official cluster tests?

    https://github.com/ClusterM/hakchi2/releases:bow:

    Is this the page with the latest KMFDManic cores? They serve equally for nes and snes, the core of retroarch also?

    https://github.com/KMFDManic/NESC-SNESC-Modifications/releases/:bow::toot:

    And last question, will cluster add the optional memory extension for snes in the hakchi2 menu? And menu to change snes funds in the hakcki2?:hrth:

    [​IMG]
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B3b0kbJ15NDpUi1rczJ4S2xXa1E/view

    Instructions to use, program made by klausus::teach:

    1. You must unzip the app in the same directory where you have the hackchii.

    2. You can put it in English or Spanish the application.

    3. You can select if you want to compress the images when importing (recommended).

    4. At the beginning the console does not have the original frames of the snes and it asks you to make a series of very easy steps so that the app can copy them by ftp.

    5. If you install a module with frames / borders and want to install another one, remember that you must first uninstall the one that is already installed if you do not want to leave trash in the console.

    6. If you uninstall the frames module for snes / canoe, either because you do not want extra funds, or want to install another one, before doing so, select in the snes a background from which the serial console comes. If it is selected as the current frame, one that you are going to remove can cause a softbrick (it is solved by reflashing the original kernel).
     
  3. supermist

    supermist GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    301
    Country:
    United States
    A soft mod to increase storage? The only way I can envision this is using an SD card or USB drive hooked up to the USB port on the back, with a y cable to ensure the device still gets power.
     
    loveShmups and artemus3 like this.
  4. Advokaten

    Advokaten GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    Sweden
    Save data is stored differently, I believe. Making more room for games but less for save states. Somebody correct me if I'm wrong. :)
     
  5. supermist

    supermist GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    301
    Country:
    United States
    I'm referring to this unreleased method a couple of posts back that increase the storage capacity without the need to physically modify the device.
     
  6. Higgy

    Higgy Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @Actnash Hi - I put my NESC back to factory fresh then followed the instructions, I added km_retroarch_11_3_17 and km_snes9x2010_10_23_17 HMODS then installed SNES Mini kernel.
    It boots to SNES Mini (I used Euro version) fine. But if I added extra SNES or NES then 2 things. No box art is shown and the games dont load, just goes to Black screen then after some time back to main menu.

    I changed console to SNES Mini in Hackhi 2,21f before adding extra games. And it says to add the HMODS before adding the SNES kernel which I did.

    Hakchi is showing this route for the extra games - /bin/snes /usr/share/games/nes/kachikachi/CLV-U-TCRSB/Super_Mario_All-Stars__USA_.sfc.7z

    Thanks

     
  7. youngtune27

    youngtune27 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    573
    Country:
    United States
    That border tool looks sweet. Does It come when the borders pre-added? That I can see in the pic
     
  8. KMFDManic

    KMFDManic GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    Messages:
    742
    Country:
    United States
    Today's Core Update:) UPDATE 11-4-17 Updated MAME 2003, SNES9x (minor MSU1 and logging related fixes), Rolled Back ViceX64 Core due to "Invisible" Cursor, Added WIP Hatari Core, which still needs work to function properly in the Mini NES/SNES Environment. In Extras & Dependencies Folder, I added an Atari800 Folder and a temporary method of fixing/running 5200/800 Games, if you have issues. 5200 runs fine on 2.21e. But, it has issues on 2.21f, with reading the Bios for 5200. 800 Does not work on either, but the FTP method fixes that:) This is a WIP, and the Atari 800 compatibility will be increased as I add to the Config File. You can use bios_atari800, rather than bios_atari800_5200, now. Hatari will likely need a similar script-in method, or FTP-Config to fully function. Due to the ever increasing size of the Core/Bios/HMOD Set, I will be separating into 2 different downloads in future Updates. For now, enjoy today's Update:)

    https://github.com/KMFDManic/NESC-SNESC-Modifications/releases
     
  9. Liriel

    Liriel GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Messages:
    765
    Country:
    Germany
    save states, rewind and ingame save are in the same folder but i think the save manager from hakchi only count savestat and ingame save but not the rewind files
     
  10. Gab75

    Gab75 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    Italy
    The savestate files should also include the rewind datas, indeed they are "very heavy" (about 2.2-2.3 MB each one).
     
  11. Liriel

    Liriel GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Messages:
    765
    Country:
    Germany
    perfect tool! thx
     
  12. maande80

    maande80 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    202
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Thanks for the answers, @youngtune27 @Gab75 . How unfortunate, if one save data is around 2.5 MB, for 50 MB you can only save for 20 games. Ouch...
    If there are 20 saves already, does that mean you can no longer save game (if you force to save you'll get an error) or the next saves will use regular save directory?

    ===========

    Anyone with Super Famicom that add NES games? In my case, NES game displays are incomplete, as if the edges are cut a bit.
     
    Last edited by maande80, Nov 4, 2017
  13. Advokaten

    Advokaten GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    Sweden
    Well, you could store endless save states on your PC. That's a bit of a hassle though.
     
  14. Actnash

    Actnash Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    Honestly, I’m not super savvy at this stuff. I just followed the directions on the website and everything worked for me. Maybe someone else here can help with this issue?
     
  15. Hellequin

    Hellequin Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    France
    Great idea! I just put Classic Demos (+ coverart) for Chrono Trigger, Gradius III, Legend, Super Bomberman 3, Super R-Type, TMNT IV, Wild Guns.
    Your DKC 2/3 saved me some time, so kuddo to you!

    Note: the longer the rollback, the longer is the time between "break" files, which mean that you can record a lot before the second one, which mean you can keep only the first one, which mean you save a lot of space.
    For exemple, with a rollback of 600, a 45 seconds demo needs three break files of 300 ko each (well, 4, technically, but the last one is not useful). With a rollback of 18000, you can record several minutes without hitting a second break. So instead of using about 900 ko, you use only 300, and for a way longer demo-time if needed.
     
  16. Smitchell6879

    Smitchell6879 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2017
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    United States

    Your right, I did notice that I was able to use only one inputs.state of 300kb vs the originals but I never realized it was based on the actually overall time. Nice catch.
     
  17. Gab75

    Gab75 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    Italy
    You're welcome! :)
    With the current "extra_space hmod" you can only use the "extra" 50 MB, after installing this module it's no longer possible to use the standard free storage space NAND to put the savestates and the "in game" saves... I don't know if in a future "extra_space hmod" release will be possible to use both sections of memory (50 MB unused NAND and standard free storage space NAND).
     
    Last edited by Gab75, Nov 5, 2017
  18. maande80

    maande80 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    202
    Country:
    Indonesia
    @Advokaten, yes, obviously. :)
    I see @Gab75 ... then I think I should uninstall it in the meantime. 20 saves are just not enough for me. :D

    Anyone here has their Super Famicom installed with English menu and NES games? While in-game, the NES games can't show full display. I wonder what's wrong. :wacko:
     

    Attached Files:

  19. viinceent

    viinceent Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Canada
    Little question, dont know if any of you will be able to help me.

    Im currently using hakchi2 to run a few N64 games. Mario 64 Works just perfectly but there is some games that i cannot play.

    When i try to run Paper Mario for example or even Pokemon Stadium 2, the game crashes.

    In Paper Mario it happens right after the cut scene after fighting bowser when mario falls off the castle. When he hits the ground game starts to slow down then completely freezes before returning me to the menu.

    For pokemon stadium 2 it just wont do anything, the game crashes right after i open the game

    Any tips on how to solve this crashing problem?
     
  20. The Frenchman

    The Frenchman GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    690
    Country:
    Canada
    That is great news! Hope Cluster adds it to Hakchi!

    BTW will it also be possible to add physical memory? any info on how much space we gain with this "softmod"?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - hakchi2, simple,