Hacking HackingToolKit3DS Not Working. Citra loads unmodified game

JDLang76

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 8, 2019
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
85
Country
United States
I started a Ruby Sapphire mod a couple years ago and successfully played through most of it using HackingToolKit3DS V9 and pk3ds. I cant get the game modified again though.

I have the .3ds file. I extract it as "ruby" with packhackv9. I have another packhack folder that contains the modified files that pk3ds is working with.
I copy the modded files over to the clean extraction. I rebuild with hackingtoolkit. It comes out "ruby_edited."
But when I load it in Citra, there are no changes. It is the original game. Ive been at this for hours with no answers.

Any help greatly appreciated. I have months of work sitting in the pk3ds modded folder.
 

laramie

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2014
Messages
911
Trophies
0
XP
1,387
Country
United States
I started a Ruby Sapphire mod a couple years ago and successfully played through most of it using HackingToolKit3DS V9 and pk3ds. I cant get the game modified again though.

I have the .3ds file. I extract it as "ruby" with packhackv9. I have another packhack folder that contains the modified files that pk3ds is working with.
I copy the modded files over to the clean extraction. I rebuild with hackingtoolkit. It comes out "ruby_edited."
But when I load it in Citra, there are no changes. It is the original game. Ive been at this for hours with no answers.

Any help greatly appreciated. I have months of work sitting in the pk3ds modded folder.
Sounds like you might need the latest update of the game? Or you are using different versions of updates which brakes it.
 

JDLang76

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 8, 2019
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
85
Country
United States
Sounds like you might need the latest update of the game? Or you are using different versions of updates which brakes it.
Can you elaborate? I dont know what you mean by update. I have used the same .3ds file the entire time. Same copies of pk3ds and packhackv9. I havnt updated or changed any software or roms since the beginning.
 

laramie

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2014
Messages
911
Trophies
0
XP
1,387
Country
United States
Can you elaborate? I dont know what you mean by update. I have used the same .3ds file the entire time. Same copies of pk3ds and packhackv9. I havnt updated or changed any software or roms since the beginning.
I'm saying a game update might have made it's way in so maybe it broke it? Double check.
 

JDLang76

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 8, 2019
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
85
Country
United States
I'm saying a game update might have made it's way in so maybe it broke it? Double check.
How do I check that? Also, a little confused still. How could the game update when all Ive done is load and play the same .3ds file? (not sarcasm, Im genuinely lost on how its possible)
 

laramie

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2014
Messages
911
Trophies
0
XP
1,387
Country
United States
How do I check that? Also, a little confused still. How could the game update when all Ive done is load and play the same .3ds file? (not sarcasm, Im genuinely lost on how its possible)
It could happen from things like patching it then playing that mod with an update. Is the patch in the right folder?
 

JDLang76

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 8, 2019
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
85
Country
United States
im really appreciating your willingness to help. But you're talking over my head. Idk what the "patch" is. I mod the game with pk3ds. I copy those folders to the packhack9 folder. I rebuild the .3ds. I open Citra then click file>load. That right there is the extent of my knowledge. If you're still willing to help, you'll have to break things way down. Thanks!
 

laramie

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2014
Messages
911
Trophies
0
XP
1,387
Country
United States
im really appreciating your willingness to help. But you're talking over my head. Idk what the "patch" is. I mod the game with pk3ds. I copy those folders to the packhack9 folder. I rebuild the .3ds. I open Citra then click file>load. That right there is the extent of my knowledge. If you're still willing to help, you'll have to break things way down. Thanks!
So that's old school, now we build patches so apply to games so you don't need to rebuild the whole thing or download a whole game, just patch it. You may need to update citra too fyi.
 

JDLang76

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 8, 2019
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
85
Country
United States
At the risk of sounding lazy, would you mind sharing the appropriate links so i can look at the new method? Also, does this mean all my pk3ds work is scrapped? Cuz it was like 6 months of tedious work and i was around 80% done.
 

JDLang76

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 8, 2019
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
85
Country
United States
I have looked around and found no alternative method. Everyone who provides videos or tutorials is showing the tools I mentioned. So Im not sure what new method you're talking about.
 

laramie

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2014
Messages
911
Trophies
0
XP
1,387
Country
United States
I have looked around and found no alternative method. Everyone who provides videos or tutorials is showing the tools I mentioned. So Im not sure what new method you're talking about.
Patches come in ips format, it's for cia's and all. Mainly for 3ds consoles but you literally just make edits, make a patch by using your edited rom and a clean rom. You get a patch which is the difference between them. You apply said patch through the romfs/exe folder in citra/3ds. It applies the patch. Idk where you looked but it's really not hard to find bro.
 

JDLang76

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 8, 2019
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
85
Country
United States
Patches come in ips format, it's for cia's and all. Mainly for 3ds consoles but you literally just make edits, make a patch by using your edited rom and a clean rom. You get a patch which is the difference between them. You apply said patch through the romfs/exe folder in citra/3ds. It applies the patch. Idk where you looked but it's really not hard to find bro.
I have discovered how to patch a rom with an ips file. That was easy. I have not yet found how to create an IPS patch.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: That's gay man 2