GUIDE: Fix a few 5.50GEN-D3 Bugs.

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by fgghjjkll, Apr 26, 2010.

Apr 26, 2010
  1. fgghjjkll
    OP

    Member fgghjjkll GBATemp MegaMan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,040
    Country:
    Australia
    PR0NZ PR0NZ HERE!!!
    Even though it's not all too buggy, many people consider GEN-D3 the buggiest in the 5.50 generation.
    I'll be guiding you through on how to fix the save data corruption bug and the MS SPEEDUP HACK. (Sorry. No PSN fix but i heard that PSNFucker and PSNLover works.)

    Ok. For the GEN-D3 Save Data corruption bug, download this.
    And extract the archive. There should be a folder called "fix".
    Drag "fix" to /PSP/GAME and run the fix. This should stop that "Save data is corrupt" problems.

    For the MS SPEEDUP HACK, download this.
    This is PHAT only but i will soon upload SLIM instructions (or maybe Rydian will do it before i do [​IMG])

    Slim FATMSMOD

    What does this do, you wonder. Basically this is Dark_AleX's 3.71 FatMsMod, but for 5.50 GEN firmware/s.
    NOTICE!

    Anywho, You may want to extract the archive first and drag the "GENDMS" that is included, into your /PSP/GAME folder of your PSP Memory stick. Run the mod and you should be able to read/write your MS as fast as M33 firmwares (Ha! Take THAT! M3 Fanboys!)

    And that's all folks. Hope this fixes any of your problems.

    CREDITS TO:
    QJ.net for the files and my knowledge [​IMG]
    Dark_AleX for the FATMSMOD
    LUCA00555 for his GEN-D3 bug fixer
    Rydian for proving me wrong countless of times and hopes he can find something contradictory in my posts....
    THE PSP COMMUNITY!!
     
  2. Princess Rozalin

    Member Princess Rozalin †GBAtemp Official Princess Of Roses†

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    544
    Location:
    Netherworld
    Country:
    United States
    Just so you know Running the Fix also stop Decrypting in 5.50 GEN-D3 so new games wont Work However I Posted a V3 that was made by Circo that has the same effect though you can return back to it later.

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=221969

    Please do know i have not Tested this yet.I just posted this from the other Forum and theres a Video there Testing it as Well.So if anything happens im not Responsible for Bricked or any Damage to the PSP!
     
  3. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Er, MS speed hack... does that actually speed up loading of data from the memory stick? =D
     
  4. I2aven's_Sag

    Member I2aven's_Sag GBATemp Otaku

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    726
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    I think it's more useful for fake memory sticks than anything else (dual micro SD cards being an example). Then again I could be wrong [​IMG]
     
  5. Jolan

    Member Jolan Unlimited Bear Works

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,384
    Location:
    Netherlands, currently
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    Technically, it replaces your D3 game debugger with the one from D2, meaning it runs older games fine, but newer ones still required decryption. Which is the exact same thing as switching back to GEN-D2.
    Thanks for the improved save fixer though.
     
  6. Princess Rozalin

    Member Princess Rozalin †GBAtemp Official Princess Of Roses†

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    544
    Location:
    Netherworld
    Country:
    United States
    Ah Thanks for making it More Specific oh and Np im glad i can Help the GBAtempers
     
  7. fgghjjkll
    OP

    Member fgghjjkll GBATemp MegaMan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,040
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks for that. I'll update guide after school.
     
  8. serving

    Member serving GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    United States
    about this gen ms update it says its only for gen d2 what happens if i use it n gen d3
     
  9. fgghjjkll
    OP

    Member fgghjjkll GBATemp MegaMan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,040
    Country:
    Australia
    It only replaces the Memory Stick driver. So no harm done really. It won't decrease compatibility. However, if you use a slim, i suggest you wait until i get time to type up instructions for it.
     
  10. manobon

    Member manobon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    175
    Country:
    United States
    Does the fix work for 5.03 GEN-C?
     
  11. GreatCrippler

    Member GreatCrippler Greatness Fallen

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,141
    Country:
    United States
    So far, none of the speedups I have seen allow for .cso files to play at full speed. Sole reason I am still on M33.
     
  12. fgghjjkll
    OP

    Member fgghjjkll GBATemp MegaMan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,040
    Country:
    Australia
    No. read the topic title ffs
     
  13. nl255

    Member nl255 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,998
    Country:
    The easiest way to fix the save bug would be to use GEN-D2 and just use pegasus.prx from D3 as a plugin. Unfortunately I haven't found pegasus.prx from D3 posted anywhere so I haven't been able to try it.
     
  14. Brian117

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    Nice, thanks for the guide. You made me want to go back to 5.50GEN-D3. I too was a victim of that "save data is corrupted" error. So I decided to go back to GEN-D2 and forget about GEN-D3. But after following your guide and downloading the fixes, everything seems to be working smooth. Though the MS speed hack doesn't really seem to be doing anything [​IMG]. Not that big of a deal though.
     
  15. fgghjjkll
    OP

    Member fgghjjkll GBATemp MegaMan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,040
    Country:
    Australia
    Well it's usually for MS off dealextreme or china. Basically fake MS have speed problems. It takes ages for Project DIVA to load on my friend's MS from hong kong [​IMG]
     
  16. Princess Rozalin

    Member Princess Rozalin †GBAtemp Official Princess Of Roses†

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    544
    Location:
    Netherworld
    Country:
    United States
    Hey i just recived a MS Sandisk 8.0 but it says Magic Gate Unkown when on the PSP.Will this be able to fix it?
     
  17. fgghjjkll
    OP

    Member fgghjjkll GBATemp MegaMan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,040
    Country:
    Australia
    No. It will just making reading and writing to the MS hell faster. (Or maybe not so faster. It depends on the build quality of the fake MS)
     
  18. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sony messed up the MS access drivers in firmwares from 3.80 on The fatmsmod.prx which is being flashed here is the 3.71 version which preserves the original access speed. However, this was later further improved by Dark Alex in 5.00M33-6 which is the point GreatCrippler is making, and figures can be seen in the 5.00M33-6 update which contains a document comparing the MS drivers.

    Either way, using a fake MS is going to be the real issue with most read/write problems, not a few ms here and there.
     
  19. serving

    Member serving GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    167
    Country:
    United States
    the ms speed works fine for me
     
  20. fgghjjkll
    OP

    Member fgghjjkll GBATemp MegaMan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,040
    Country:
    Australia
    Thread updated for FATMSMOD slim instructions.
     

Share This Page