Gaming GTA IV (PS3) laggy

Virdoo

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2016
Messages
1,209
Trophies
0
XP
2,770
Country
Croatia
Hi,

Probably everyone already noticed that, GTA IV is horrible laggy on PS3. As far as I remember, game was originally made for PS3 and then ported to PC (which also had a lot of problems due that port). Anyway to get back to the topic, game is horrible laggy and I've tried to update it, maybe newer patches will fix it like it did on PC, but it didn't. Is there anyway to reduce that lag?
 

Yandere-chan

The One and Only
Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2016
Messages
393
Trophies
0
Location
Hidden in your NAND
XP
540
Country
United States
Hi,

Probably everyone already noticed that, GTA IV is horrible laggy on PS3. As far as I remember, game was originally made for PS3 and then ported to PC (which also had a lot of problems due that port). Anyway to get back to the topic, game is horrible laggy and I've tried to update it, maybe newer patches will fix it like it did on PC, but it didn't. Is there anyway to reduce that lag?
Grand Theft Auto IV runs perfectly well on my Sony PlayStation 3 console (Super Slim Model). Grand Theft Auto V holds up a constant 30fps nearly always unless there's a bunch of stuff and effects going on like crashing into a pile of 20 people on the street sidewalks (I used an FPS counter via Mod Menu for proper values) but, since your issue is with Grand Theft Auto IV, then I'm not quite sure what's wrong with it. Could you provide me with some things such as

  • PlayStation 3 Model type?
  • Grand Theft Auto IV, is it installed to the HDD or running from the physical game disc?
  • Are you running the BLES or BLUS copy of the game?
  • Is the game fully up to date?
  • Have you tried deleting and re-installing the game's data to the console?
  • Have you tried unplugging the console for 5 minutes and re-plugging it in? (to kinda let the CPU/GPU cool down)
And finally, can you please provide me with a video of the game running on your PS3? I'd like to see the framerate for myself, as like I said, I've never encountered any issues with GTA IV on my PS3, or GTA V for that matter.
 

mustafag32g

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2014
Messages
806
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
1,958
Country
Argentina
Its caused by your ps3 display settings. There is a tutorial on youtube on how to reduce lag on ps3. It worked for me. Black Ops used to lag Like hell... watched the tutorial changed the settings and smooth lagg free gameplay... will post the tutorial when i come Home or you can look it up yourself
 

Pacheko17

Controversial opinions guy.
Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2015
Messages
1,495
Trophies
1
Location
República Juliana
XP
1,812
Country
Brazil
It's GTA 5... and a PS3. That was not the 60 fps that we have now. Games those days were 20 fps at most.

He's talking about GTA 4. Someone didn't learn roman numerals here lol
And no, games "those days" were not 20 FPS. A shit ton of PS3 games are 60fps, some even 1080p60fps. GTA V ran like shit because it was just too demanding for the PS3/X360.
 
  • Like
Reactions: DinohScene

BvanBart

Gaming addict #2 and some
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2007
Messages
1,315
Trophies
1
Age
34
Location
Bikini Bottom
XP
1,423
Country
Netherlands
He's talking about GTA 4. Someone didn't learn roman numerals here lol
And no, games "those days" were not 20 FPS. A shit ton of PS3 games are 60fps, some even 1080p60fps. GTA V ran like shit because it was just too demanding for the PS3/X360.

Boohoo I made a mistake... That was GTA4 indeed.
But 60FPS on PS3? Nah... maybe 1 or 2 games. Most games were 30 FPS.

 

Virdoo

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2016
Messages
1,209
Trophies
0
XP
2,770
Country
Croatia
I'm talking about GTA IV, GTA V works much much better in comparing with IV, that's why I'm confused.


  • PlayStation 3 Model type?
  • Grand Theft Auto IV, is it installed to the HDD or running from the physical game disc?
  • Are you running the BLES or BLUS copy of the game?
  • Is the game fully up to date?
  • Have you tried deleting and re-installing the game's data to the console?
  • Have you tried unplugging the console for 5 minutes and re-plugging it in? (to kinda let the CPU/GPU cool down)

1. It's old Slim model
2. I'm playing it from external HDD
3. BLES
4. It's fully updated
5. No I didn't
6. Problem happens all the time, since I installed the game (probably longer than half of the year) so this method won't work for sure.

Consider the fact that GTA V works much better than IV

***Edit it's BLES
 
Last edited by Virdoo,

Yandere-chan

The One and Only
Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2016
Messages
393
Trophies
0
Location
Hidden in your NAND
XP
540
Country
United States
I'm talking about GTA IV, GTA V works much much better in comparing with IV, that's why I'm confused.




1. It's old Slim model
2. I'm playing it from external HDD
3. BLES
4. It's fully updated
5. No I didn't
6. Problem happens all the time, since I installed the game (probably longer than half of the year) so this method won't work for sure.

Consider the fact that GTA V works much better than IV

***Edit it's BLES
Could we see a video of this lag you speak of?
 

Virdoo

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2016
Messages
1,209
Trophies
0
XP
2,770
Country
Croatia
I don't know how to record footage on PS3 so I can't really record it. Game has some slowdowns, no actual freezing, but light slowdowns. I would say something like 20 FPS so it's noticeable how game isn't running smooth like GTA V for example
 

Pacheko17

Controversial opinions guy.
Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2015
Messages
1,495
Trophies
1
Location
República Juliana
XP
1,812
Country
Brazil
Boohoo I made a mistake... That was GTA4 indeed.
But 60FPS on PS3? Nah... maybe 1 or 2 games. Most games were 30 FPS.


You're really wrong. There are A LOT of PS3 games at 60FPS, seriously.
I own a bunch of them, I have a PS3 for years and I have quite a large collection of games, I can tell. The ones running at 30 were often the more demanding ones that ran well on PC and were not really meant for the PS3 or the ones that came out later in the console's life span.

1 or 2? That's just insane.
 
  • Like
Reactions: DinohScene

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    K3N1 @ K3N1: Floridaman gets his own meth hijacking cop cars