gpSP Problem

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by Saken, Sep 18, 2010.

Sep 18, 2010

gpSP Problem by Saken at 3:58 PM (1,156 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. Saken
    OP

    Member Saken GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    347
    Country:
    Australia
    I downloaded gpsp from the main sticky, and a clean ROM for fire red.
    All was going well in my nuzlocke run, when i caught a rattata and after i renamed it, the game hanged. I could hear bg music, but nothing on the screen.
    I reset the game, and it hanged this time when i put my own name in.
    I don't want to proceed with my challenge if its gonna hang unexpectantly.
    Got any idea why this is happening?

    I'm on 5.5 Prometheus btw.
     
  2. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Seeing as there's no error message, and Fire Red appears to run ok according to a quick Google search, that's either your firmware or your MS giving you the issue. Try an alternative, genuine (!) MS first (or if you haven't got one format that one and repopulate it) otherwise downgrade to 5.00M33-6 (overall better compatibility with homebrew).
     
  3. Saken
    OP

    Member Saken GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    347
    Country:
    Australia
    Hmm.. i'll have a look with my other mem stick.. thanks.
     
  4. Saken
    OP

    Member Saken GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    347
    Country:
    Australia
    It seems to work fine on my other mem stick..
    It works well on my 2GB Sony, but on my 16GB sandisk it doesn't. The sandisk is magic gate supported and isos work fine.
    It seems pretty genuine to me.. donno..

    Edit: sorry for double post, kinda tired didnt realise til it was too late.
     
  5. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Bigger sticks can sometime cause problems with speed and file location (part of the reason i only use 4GB's). The highest i'd personally go if i wanted to run homebrew would be an 8GB Sandisk Ultra II. Perhaps if that 16GB was an Ultra II or an Ultra HG that'd be fine, but a standard 16GB may be problematic.

    Also bear in mind that every stick is different. I have 2 identical 4GB Sandisks and one is noticeably faster than the other.
     
  6. Saken
    OP

    Member Saken GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    347
    Country:
    Australia
    Hmm.. All i wanna do is play a Nuzlocke run, seems like fun.. oh well.
    I guess ill have to use the 2GB stick then.

    EDIT: do you think that going to prometheus-2 will make a difference? Maybe i should use a different version of gpsp?
     

Share This Page