Going to buy a CycloDS

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by Goofy Time, Oct 24, 2008.

Oct 24, 2008

Going to buy a CycloDS by Goofy Time at 2:47 AM (2,863 Views / 0 Likes) 26 replies

  1. Goofy Time
    OP

    Member Goofy Time GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    353
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, my R4 is pretty much hitting the kicker, so I'm gonna get a new card. I heard that CycloDS is currently the bets one of there, so I'm going for that.

    I am curious though. If I buy it from here, would it be reliable?

    Thanks.
     


  2. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    They're VERY reliable. Every flashcart I've ever bought has come from them. You will usually receive your order within a week using USPS express mail.

    I've bought 5 R4DS's (a while ago) for me and then for friends. I also bought; a CycloDS, two Supercard miniSD's and an M3 Perfect mini from them.

    Never had a problem.
     
  3. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Sure noob ^^ Go take your R4 pride parade elsewhere [​IMG]

    On topic: Yes they are reliable and so it the cyclo itself. Enjoy!
     
  4. Dwight

    Member Dwight Gawb. Gawb Bluth.

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,033
    Location:
    Washington State
    Country:
    United States
    R4's used to be one of the best flashcarts out there.
     
  5. Curley5959

    Member Curley5959 CCC Member!

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    past tense now [​IMG]
     
  6. Seven

    Member Seven oh hell no

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    777
    Country:
    United States
    Hi, looks like you're new here.
     
  7. jesterscourt

    Member jesterscourt Not Brad.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,153
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I'm not even reading your post, I see you are in the US, so here is what you need to do:

    Go to RealHotStuff.com
    Ship DHL.
    Be Happy.

    Make sure to use CycloEdit to keep everything up to date [​IMG]
     
  8. Goofy Time
    OP

    Member Goofy Time GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    353
    Country:
    United States
    The CycloDS works like the R4, right? More or less?

    Say, if I had games staggering, slowing down, or generally losing sync on the R4, would this also be occurring on the DS? This occurs on my R4.

    Also, does the CycloDS have a demonic spring?
     
  9. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    Slow-down in games depends more on the MicroSD than the flash cart.
    And no the CycloDS does not have a spring.
     
  10. Goofy Time
    OP

    Member Goofy Time GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    353
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, I had a 1GB Kingdom JP microSD card.

    Would a 2GB one fix that?
     
  11. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    No the 1GB should run better than 2GB. Maybe you just got a bad or fake card. Do you remember which games in particular caused lag?
     
  12. Priss

    Member Priss GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    I hear nothing but great things about the Kingston 1GB MicroSD (Japan)
    Does it actually say "Japan" above the serial number on the memory? Or you think it was Japan made.

    Kingston also deals with Taiwan and China made memory SD(HC) cards.
    http://www.cyclopsds.com/cgi-bin/cyclods/e...page=wheretobuy [​IMG]
    Scroll down to USA. I recommend Dealwoot.com ... nothing but great communication with them, service, and the cheapest I have found.

    Cheers mate

    PS. You could also look into a A-DATA 4GB MicroSDHC Class 6... From different peoples opinion though it's a hit or miss on the card quality and speeds.
     
  13. Goofy Time
    OP

    Member Goofy Time GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    353
    Country:
    United States
    It loses sync in Castlevania: Portrait of Ruin's and Sonic Rush Adventure's intro screens. It studders on many FMV's in Sonic Chronicles, and the framerate slows down in Portrait of Ruin and Order of Ecclesia, if enough stuff is exploding.
     
  14. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    Meh, I don't really think there's anything you can do about that. All microSDs will lag to an extent.
     
  15. Seven

    Member Seven oh hell no

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    777
    Country:
    United States
    Most of the time the freezeups in PoR only occur if I try. But yes, they will lag, most of the time not much though. There's just that problem game.
     
  16. Phreaker47

    Newcomer Phreaker47 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    So, this is the card to get now?

    I've been out of the NDS loop for a while. I still have an original R4 and will probably just stick with that (I guess I'll have to patch some new games when I get around to it).

    My friend, though, is probably getting a DS in the next few days. I take it this is probably the card I should recommend to him?
     
  17. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    As a cyclo owner I have to say this.. if you want good support, lots of features, and good build quality, then stick with the cyclo. Its worth the few extra bucks (for me). Not everone will use the extra features though (realtime save/load, slow motion, text reader) and if you are one of the ones that wont, you can save a LOT of money sticking with ane Acekard 2.1, or even an EDGE. I have used every one of these cards and I can tell you they are all decent. (Have also used R4, and before that a slot 2 solution with passme =) )

    @Seven

    I'm not. Thanks for your concern though. Get yourself a sense of humour man [​IMG] Just was bustin his chops
     
  18. lolzed

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    nice but,just wondering,is there any shipping prices included or none?
     
  19. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Im not sure exactly what you are asking, but the Acekard 2.1 or the EDGE are both available at Dealextreme.com with worldwide shipping included. Shipping is rather slow but the prices are great.
     
  20. lolzed

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    im saying,that if you buy cyclo or any other product,will there be shipping fees to pay for buyers outside of US and Canada?
     

Share This Page