Getting wifi on desmuME

Discussion in 'NDS - Tutorials & FAQs' started by Lune, Mar 6, 2011.

Mar 6, 2011

Getting wifi on desmuME by Lune at 2:05 AM (680,175 Views / 2 Likes) 449 replies

  1. Lune

    Newcomer Lune Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    GETTING WIFI TO WORK ON DESMUME

    First you will need a couple of things:

    A Computer(of course)
    A wired internet connection (via LAN cable)
    Win PCap(PROVIDED)
    A wi-fi compatible DesmuME(PROVIDED)
    Any wi-fi compatible game.(DO NOT ASK FOR ANY LINKS TO ROMS OF COURSE....)




    STEP 1 : Download this pack DesmuME wifi pack this contains Win Pcap and the other things you will need. Also a version 0.9.7 of desmuME with wifi capabilities enabled by slytherx HERE.Whichever version of desmume you are using ( 32 or 64 bit) in its own folder... along with any other files the emu may need in that same folder along with it.



    STEP 2: Unzip contents and Install Win Pcap.After installation make sure and give Win Pcap exceptions in all firewall software..When installing Winpcap..check the option for starting the driver as windows starts up.



    STEP 3: Open DesmuME(IMPORTANT NOTE....ALL WINDOWS 7/WINDOWS VISTA USERS MUST OPEN DESMUME AS AN ADMINISTRATOR OR ELSE AN ERROR WOULD OCCUR WHEN CONNECTING TO WIFI" and go to Config--->Emulation settings. Now set the correct paths for the ARM 7 BIOS, ARM 9 bios and Firmware bin...of course it would be wherever you downloaded it to...Make sure the "Use external Bios image" "Use external firmware image" ,"Boot from firmware like the nds" AND "Enabled Advanced bus level timing" are all checked...I am not sure about the rest so leave them unchecked.. It would now look like this...

    http://img153.imageshack.us/i/setupg.png


    STEP 4: IN desmuME still go to Conifg---> wifi and click on "Infrastructure mode"



    STEP 5:Now open your game and go into Nintendo Wi-fi settings and search for an access point...u should see "SOFT AP" as one...test connection to that and it should work...I think this must be done every time you open/close the emulator....(Hey can't be too perfect)

    STEP 6:Enjoy.... [​IMG]

    TRYFORCE's TUTORIAL ON GETTING WIFI TO WORK ON DesmuME ON ANDROID COMPATIBLE DEVICES


    BEFORE ANY OF THE FOLLOWING MAKE SURE THESE THINGS ARE DONE FIRST:
    -Again..have a wired connection by a cable (lan cable)
    -Run desmuME as an administrator
    -"For anyone getting 'Unable to get IP address' or 'Unable to connect to Nintendo Wi-fi network' errors, you need to check your router firewall settings. I use DD-WRT and an enabled SPI Firewall will not allow you access, disabling that let everything work fine.(by Forumpost)
    -Disabling any firewalls that you think would be blocking the process...
    -WINDOWS 7/WINDOWS VISTA users must go to network and sharing center and make sure that your connection type is set to HOME network and NOT PUBLIC OR WORK(work may work but meh)
    -In the Wi-fi settings in desmume make sure it is set ton infrastructure mode and also the correct bridging is enabled with your ETHERNET CONTROLLER (your network adapter)
    - Try pressing tab when connecting to nintendo wi fi connection..weird but might work

    Emulator doesn't save: You would have to go into PATH SETTINGS and set your own paths for screenchots,cheats,roms,saveram etc.

    Error Code 52000/52001/52002:Check your modem status and change it from bridging to PPPOE or PPPOA(sometimes work).Also double check the WEP key you entered(if used).Make sure if your on windows 7 that you have run the emulator as an administrator and also check that it's connection is an exception in your firewall/antivirus software

    Error Code 52100:There could be Ip address conflict going on...you will have to give your ds its own ip address rather than using dhcp to find its own..check HERE
    for help on doing that(too long to type..).Also you can try chaging the dns to 4.2.2.2 4.2.2.3 4.2.2

    Error with saving wifi settings: "try keeping the external bios and firmware but without booting to ds on."

    CREDITS GO TO:
    DJPlace:Testing Mario kart ds
    Dreamboy21: For information on the firewall exceptions and testing Tetris Ds
    ryuga93:Info on error 52000
    slytherx: HUGE THANKS for compiling the 0.9.7 version to use wi-fi
    Forumpost: For information on disabling firewall in router settings
    soc4real: For information on bridging connection with Ethernet controllers.
    Tryforce:Another HUGE THANKS for tutorial on getting wi-fi to work using android devices.
    Chojo: with help on error 52100
    Jayc & 007 shinobi: Help on getting wifi settings to save
    kay2kid: on help in "speed up connect" method
     
    MacroKrome and nukeboy95 like this.


  2. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
     
  3. Lune

    Newcomer Lune Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    thanks alot for help [​IMG]
     
  4. DJPlace

    Member DJPlace Garbage Day!!

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,267
    Country:
    United States
    thanks for this.
     
  5. Lune

    Newcomer Lune Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    Your welcome of course...i presumed it worked??
     
  6. Elvarg

    Banned Elvarg Zyzz™

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    623
    Location:
    >>>>>>
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks this will help other nubs [​IMG]
     
  7. DJPlace

    Member DJPlace Garbage Day!!

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,267
    Country:
    United States
    yeah it worked i'm playing on my floor doing this.

    but it works i just need to test more games i guess...

    mario kart d/c's me before a race starts.
     
  8. SmokeFox

    Member SmokeFox Jesus Christ is the Lord

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Location:
    Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    Thanks!
     
  9. Aerow

    Member Aerow Can't wait to try out Pokemon Y~

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    India
    Wait, I thought Nintendo blocked this...
     
  10. Lune

    Newcomer Lune Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    Yeah i did hear things about that...meh but still works..im testing on other games though...
     
  11. Dreamboy21

    Newcomer Dreamboy21 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Somewhere on earth
    Country:
    Portugal
    Tetris DS Works great i've played with some japonese guys throw wifi
     
  12. Lune

    Newcomer Lune Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    Thanks ill update list after a couple more entries
     
  13. AsPika2219

    Member AsPika2219 Pikachu going beach!

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    942
    Location:
    Cats City
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Awesome! I will try this anytime soon! [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  14. Lune

    Newcomer Lune Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    Guys i also posted a youtube video of me on the gts...check first post..
     
  15. tajio

    Member tajio GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    403
    Location:
    Northern Ireland, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nice tutorial [​IMG] I'm having a bit of problem, I can't find the Wi-Fi Option under Config (o_O) I'm using DesMume 0.9.7 everything until you mentioned "Config ----- > Wi-Fi" I just can't find it...
     
  16. Lune

    Newcomer Lune Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    For some reason they removed it in that version..you gotta use the version i provided in the first post..it will have it there..along with the other things..and thanks
     
  17. tajio

    Member tajio GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    403
    Location:
    Northern Ireland, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sweet! Thank you, I can't believe I missed that in the folder lol [​IMG]
     
  18. Kingkiron

    Newcomer Kingkiron Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    I went to desmume forums and told them that wifi works in 0.96 with this method and my thread was deleted, guess they don't care lol.
     
  19. Lune

    Newcomer Lune Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Country:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    Hmmm i think they dont want people using this...not sure why...because when your connecting theres a caution coming up saying how its not perfect yet and blah blah blah..
     
  20. Kingkiron

    Newcomer Kingkiron Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    I guess, I'm surprised this isn't a more popular topic lol. This is like the only reason I didnt buy a ds like a usually do for pokemon, so I can trade and battle. But now emulator is just better.
     

Share This Page