Get rid of banner brick on 3.4 without TP Hack

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by fellaw, Jan 29, 2009.

Jan 29, 2009
  1. fellaw
    OP

    Newcomer fellaw Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Germany
    Lately I was dealing with a banner brick on 3.4E firmware. From all resources I searched(including this forum), it came clear that it isn't possible if you had at least TPH on the Wii(which I hadn't). With TPH it would have been possible using an autoboot from TP starting Wad Manager.

    Well I was able to successfully restore my Wii, and I want to share my experience.

    Initial situation:

    3.4E firmware
    No TPH(restored my original because I wanted to play TP)
    No modchip
    No prevention against banner bricks
    Maintenance mode not booting
    SaveMiiFree working

    According to every source this would mean a full brick. Indeed, that's not completely true.

    Step by step procedure what I did:[*]Borrowed a working Wii with 3.4E firmware(no chip, but some homebrew on it)[*]Patched Wii Backup Disc 1.31 to PAL using RegionFrii[*]Installed a modchip(Wiikey2) in bricked Wii to enable autoboot[*]Exchanged drives between Wiis[*]Booted up working Wii with Backup Disc using SaveMiiFree[*]Backed up everything from working Wii to SD using Backup Disc[*]Exchanged drives again[*]Booted up bricked Wii with Backup Disc using SaveMiiFree[*]Restored all to bricked Wii, with "Finish Repair"(actually means eject disc and reboot)[*]Booted again with Wii Backup Disc[*]Chose "Delete All" in Backup Disc MenuThe last step seemed to have deleted all user data from the bricked Wii, including corrupt channels and saves. From there, my Wii was just as if it would have been initialized from the system settings.

    Most probably I could have skipped steps 1 and 4-7, but I wasn't sure about any system files related. This procedure should be reproducable on NTSC, just skip step 2. Step 2 is necessary despites the chip, because it otherwise the Wii wouldn't boot after step 8(didn't research why). The Backup disc didn't seem to copy over any saves(TPH was on working Wii), thus step 11 is mandantory.

    Unfortunately, I have to dash some hopes regarding unbricking a banner brick without a modchip on 3.4(TPH doesn't matter): That's simply impossible, because you don't have any chance to execute at least the Backup disc, not to mention any custom code. This applies to >=3.3 and 3.2 without starfall. I just repeat this to make it clear, though it was mentioned on every source I searched.

    I won't post any links to the backup disc, use Google instead. I also won't provide my my backup.
     


  2. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    Well of course, that's pretty much exactly how Nintendo repair them. Except obviously they use an original backup disc and hence don't need the modchip.
     
  3. linkinworm

    Member linkinworm GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,326
    Location:
    Birmingham (England)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    lol so in the end you just used a modchip, fail post
     
  4. kisamesama

    Member kisamesama GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    270
    Country:
    United States
    why fail post? he recovered from banner brick without tp hack!
     
  5. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Even with a modchip we can get rid of the brick using Autoboot WAD Manager
     
  6. fellaw
    OP

    Newcomer fellaw Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Germany
    No you can't because trucha signed discs won't boot on 3.4. You'd need tp hack and wad manager on SD.
     
  7. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    I'm curious, how do you get a banner brick on 3.4?
     
  8. WiiShizzza

    Member WiiShizzza Graphics juggler

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Country:
    Germany
    How to get the disc patched to pal ?
    All tools I used said "not a valid wii disc"

    I can't get the original disc to autoboot through recovery mode, nor Does it work through disc channel.
    Desplay just stays black...

    Any hint ?
    Ii never got it to run on mmy PAL wii.
     
  9. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Wasn't it just 1 byte to be changed in the .iso? Did you look at WiiBrew for disc structure information?
     
  10. WiiShizzza

    Member WiiShizzza Graphics juggler

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Country:
    Germany
    Hmm.... changing to autoboot requires altering one byte.
    Didn't find any info on how to patch that gc disc to pal...
     
  11. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
  12. WiiShizzza

    Member WiiShizzza Graphics juggler

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Country:
    Germany
    Yes, meanwhile I found the same.
    as far as I unnderstand, I have to change 0x003 I just try it....

    //EDIT:
    Okay, got it. changing 0x003 to 50 hex or P in unicode works.
    But as usual, TV is black...
     
  13. fellaw
    OP

    Newcomer fellaw Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Germany
    I fiddled around with channel icons on injects, because for some reason, my edited TPLs(created with tpl_conv) didn't display at all(no distortion or anything, just plain white). At some point I used a working icon.bin from a homebrew chan and exchanged the TPLs in it with my own. After I installed the wad: Brick. The dimensions of the images were right(compared to the original icons). Guess the animation file had something to do with it.
     
  14. fellaw
    OP

    Newcomer fellaw Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Germany
    RegionFrii

    Sry, wrote it wrong in my first post(correctly edited now).

    : RegionFrii complained about iso not being valid, nevertheless patching worked
     
  15. WiiShizzza

    Member WiiShizzza Graphics juggler

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Country:
    Germany
    Yes, got it.
    First 400 bytes of a gc iso are same then in a wii iso.
    So, I got it patched to pal.
    The disc also autoboots. But only a black screen.... on bricked wii same as like on a working wii.
     
  16. D-Jay

    Member D-Jay GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    I'm interested in this, too.
     
  17. fellaw
    OP

    Newcomer fellaw Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Germany
    Try this:[*]Insert Disc into bricked Wii[*]Pull the power cord[*]Plug it back in[*]Press eject to power up the Wii, not the power button[*]Attn: The disc will not be ejected, the drive just spins up[*]Boot directly into SaveMiiFreeShould help booting, at least it does/did here. Btw. which chip?
     
  18. WiiShizzza

    Member WiiShizzza Graphics juggler

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Country:
    Germany
    also ich brenn die disc dann zum 3. mal als DVD
    Hab jetzt die gebrickte wii nicht da, aber die dvd sollte ja auch auf ner ungebrickten wii laufen....

    ich hab saveMii und nen wiikey2

    /EDIT:
    Alles wie gehabt...... Schwarzer Bildschirm...

    That disc won't run on my PAL wii
     
  19. BL4Z3D247

    Member BL4Z3D247 GBAtemp Stoner

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    614
    Location:
    I'm so high I don't even know!
    Country:
    United States
    maybe the speed in which he burned the disc matters
     
  20. fellaw
    OP

    Newcomer fellaw Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Germany
    hmm.

    Used Sony DVD+R burned with 8x.

    Dunno whether other speeds or disc types make a difference.
     

Share This Page