Get ANY enclosure working on your Wii!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Neptune, Apr 5, 2009.

Apr 5, 2009
  1. Neptune
    OP

    Member Neptune GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,537
    Location:
    Internet
    Country:
    United States
    I just tested 4 enclosures and 1 actually allowed me to format however would not work after the wii rebooted. I messed around with that one for awhile and finally decided to test something that I used to have to do on something else..

    Boot up your wii and usb hard drive (only tested on externally powered 3.5" enclosures) go to the channel and open it DO NOT HIT START. Power up the drive and after it spins up in about 2-4 seconds hit start.

    Tested on 4 different enclosures with 100% compatibility! Enjoy!
     
  2. Darkzero51521

    Member Darkzero51521 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Country:
    United States
    Yea, that didn't work.

    Also, topic title says on "ANY" enclosure, when you've only tested a few 3.5".
     
  3. elmachin

    Newcomer elmachin Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    United States
    i dont understand when i hit a on the channel it starts the loader and then it tells me to hit any button to restart. i dont get a chance to power up the drive
     
  4. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    If you power up this way now i wonder how you did it before? I always power Wii and enclosure at the same time.
     
  5. Neptune
    OP

    Member Neptune GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,537
    Location:
    Internet
    Country:
    United States
    I tested it on 4 completely different enclosures, so either it is NOT an issue with the usb devices and is actually the hard drives inside them, or you didn't do it properly. All 4 did not work previously doing any kind of boot up methods. Turning the Wii on then the drive, turning them on at the same time, rebooting with the drive on. Nothing.

    Going to the channel then booting the drive up and waiting a few seconds then hitting start worked 100% on each drive every time. If you wait too long it does not work, simple as that. Try it faster next time.

    This I verified does NOT work on thumbsticks that do not work. So far externally powered 3.5" only.
     
  6. Darkzero51521

    Member Darkzero51521 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Country:
    United States
    No.

    The issue is the enclosures themselves/the way they work/the drivers, it has nothing to do with the hard drive. And what about the people with USB powered externals? Just because you were lucky with four, doesn't mean this will work with "any" enclosure.

    Ontop of that, why would going to the channel make any difference than if you just went to the Wii menu and powered it up? There's nothing that's been loaded when you click a channel, only after you've started it.
     
  7. riddle43

    Member riddle43 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    374
    Location:
    Mich USA
    Country:
    United States
    ive been trying stuff like this sence the loader came out and i can say for sure this will not work with all 3.5 enclosures that are powered by a power cord not a usb cord so i happy yours works but the reast of us are stuck till we buy better smaller usb HDD. [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  8. shtonkalot

    Member shtonkalot Can't hold on much longer, But I'll never let go!

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    954
    Location:
    Gosford, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I agree with Darkzero51521 on this. There are some enclosures whose USB to ATA (whether SATA or PATA) just do not work with the Wii at all or with this USB loader.
    It has nothing to do with the size of disk (3.5") or the type of USB mass storage device being used (Flashdrive, SD adapter or HDD adapter).

    Someone else posted how they were able to get any HDD adapter working before, yet they had only tried a few too.
    I'm glad you've had success and are sharing your experience but this is no hack that makes incompatible devices work. It is a method of making compatible devices with issues work.
     
  9. spiritofcat

    Member spiritofcat GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    577
    Country:
    Australia
    I power on my enclosure before I power on my Wii.
    But even if I don't power it on first, as long as I leave a moment between powering on the enclosure, and booting the USB Loader I have no problems.
     
  10. mierdatuti

    Newcomer mierdatuti Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    I power on my enclosure before I power on my Wii and I don't have any problem, however, with some games load perfectly until they freezes after a while [​IMG]
     
  11. Kempston

    Newcomer Kempston Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Surely powering on the enclosure after powering the Wii up only results in USB1.1 speed for that enclosure?
     
  12. jovanah

    Newcomer jovanah Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I'm also using a 3.5 enclosures and have problems getting the USB loader to detect it straight away.

    what has worked for me on a Westen Digital 320gb and Seagate 80gb on the same enclosure is.
    Boot up Geexbox first and check that it has detected your HD, if so chose the reboot option in Geexbox.
    After it rebooted click the USB Loader and your hard drive is detected.

    Again I've only tested this on 2 HD (sorry dont have the model numbers on hand0
     
  13. Heran Bago

    Member Heran Bago Where do puyo come from?

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,854
    Location:
    Foggy California
    Country:
    United States
    Misleading thread title. [​IMG]
     
  14. shrek02

    Newcomer shrek02 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Singapore
    just wanted to ask i've been trying to use the USB loader on my wii but when the USB loader loads up it never ask to format may external drive? im not sure if it is being detected. loader does not give me any error. i've followed the instructions on how to install the USB Loader and was able to install successfully. the only problem when it comes to the part on how to install the USB External drive. on the tutorials after installing the cIOS and usb loader then I should plug in my external drive then load the USB loader after that it was supposed to tell me that the external drive is not partitioned or something like that but it is not prompting me to format my drive.

    can please anybody help me thanks
     
  15. quantocks

    Newcomer quantocks Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    Australia
    someone maybe rename the title to 'get 4 enclosures working with your Wii'
     
  16. elmachin

    Newcomer elmachin Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    United States
    didnt work on mine
     
  17. bugaveli

    Banned bugaveli Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    664
    Location:
    In a remote place
    Country:
    United States
    thread title is BS. its things like this that make noobs ask a million questions bcuz of one misleading thread. Good work on your get my enclosures to work thread
     
  18. anino

    Newcomer anino Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    Title is misleading.. I have 2 external HDD both powered and 3.5 PATA one did not work. This depends on the chip used by the manufacturer . The one that fails just give a blank screen not even an error.
     
  19. Heran Bago

    Member Heran Bago Where do puyo come from?

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,854
    Location:
    Foggy California
    Country:
    United States
    The OP does not even name the make or model of the enclosures used. F for eFfort. I'm actually really curious. Seems it could be a good subject for a GBAtemp wiki entry.

    edit: Ah, there is. Good to see! OP should contribute.
     
  20. iazybandit

    Member iazybandit Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
    I turn on my Wii and HDD on at the same time and have no problems.
     

Share This Page