genesis 32x emulator for DS?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Jerme, Sep 28, 2008.

Sep 28, 2008

genesis 32x emulator for DS? by Jerme at 2:07 AM (4,015 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. Jerme
    OP

    Banned Jerme Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    United States
    is there one? im itching to play knuckles chaotix
     
  2. InuYasha

    Member InuYasha Professional Coke Fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,778
    Country:
    United States
    You best bet is to try the pc 32x emulators............
     
  3. Ferrariman

    Member Ferrariman Hip-Flop and cRap

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,357
    Location:
    Canader.
    Country:
    Canada
    I highly doubt it will ever happen.
     
  4. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think the DS is anywhere near powerful enough to play 32X games. There are PC emulators that will play it just fine though.
     
  5. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think it's possible. Gens has some speed issues with it on a 1ghz machine, so I doubt the DS' sub-100mhz could handle it. Same probably goes for Sega CD (even though it's much less resource-intensive than 32x).

    I like Knuckles Chaotix too. I like a couple of 32x games. Tempo (underrated platformer) and Kolibri (underrated shooter) I find fun.
     
  6. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    Possible, very slowly. Not worth the effort.

    DS lacks the power needed for smooth performance in this.
     
  7. Vague Rant

    Member Vague Rant Deceptively cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,980
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    School me; do Sega CD games use both the Sega CD and original Genesis/Mega Drive processors, or do they run using just the Sega CD's processor?
     
  8. Hadrian

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wasn't Neo Geo originally impossible? Of course that was purely a 2D console, where as 32X was 3D.
     
  9. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    I think the Sega CD uses both processors.

    I doubt all games use this extra speed. Stealth was able to port a single level from Sonic CD without music and only the present time period. A few features in Sonic CD use the extra speed and abilities of the SEGA CD. The special stages use rotating and scaling (like mode7). And obviously the video and music take advantage of the media hardware. But the music sounds nice in Genesis form:



    And this belongs in the DS Emulation section.
     
  10. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, Sega CD adds things not present in the original system. CD audio support and rotation/scaling come to mind.
     
  11. BORTZ

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,652
    Country:
    United States
    Haha sega CD. I had sonic Cd for my computer. i love that game.
     
  12. epicelite

    Member epicelite Equal opportunity ass kicker.

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,477
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United States
    K fusion is THE BEST!
     
  13. javad

    Member javad GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Messages:
    255
    Location:
    malta
    Country:
    Malta
    It depends on how good a person is in coding
     
  14. galneon

    Member galneon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    209
    Country:
    United States
    I can't see any way around the DS's lack of horsepower for resolution scaling. jEnesis, for example, only has nearest neighbor vertical scaling, no horizontal scaling at all. You have to pan from side to side with L/R. I don't think this is just a matter of coding.
     
  15. Dingoo-fan 32

    Member Dingoo-fan 32 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    385
    Country:
    Brazil
    The only portable than can emulate the 32x is the gp2x caanoo, knuckles chaotix and kolibri runs fullspeed [​IMG]
     

Share This Page