GBC ROMS ON DS?

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by clickmaster, Apr 13, 2009.

Apr 13, 2009

GBC ROMS ON DS? by clickmaster at 12:20 PM (2,660 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. clickmaster
    OP

    Newcomer clickmaster Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is it possible to download Game Boy Colour ROMs onto an M3DS REAL?

    I already have the ROMs i want on my PC, but i am not sure how to get them onto the M3DS REAL.

    Any help?

    Thanks.
     
  2. megawalk

    Member megawalk The Legendary SRW Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,067
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    alright my turn to say it
    "NO And never Will BE"
    sorry =/ somehow the ds can't handle it due to specific reasons =/
    if you are so interested playing them use a emulator instead
    unless a gba flashcard supports gbc too which i dont know if it does
    *Ignore this*

    Research turned out that Lameboy has also GBC support
    thats all
     
  3. InuYasha

    Member InuYasha Professional Coke Fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,778
    Country:
    United States
    Research a program called Lameboy,which will allow you to play gbc games......
     
  4. aphirst

    Member aphirst "Aren't girls with pee-pees just men?"

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    Augsburg
    Country:
    Germany
    If ran from the GBA Folder with the Touchpod Firmware, with the GBA Expansion inserted - the M3 Real will gladly play GBÂ ROMs. In addition, the emulator Lameboy has brilliant support for GBÂ ROMs, and will run on any Slot-1 flashcart.

    They won't natively work due to the nonpresence of a specific processor chip, but the DS is more than powerful enough to emulate. [​IMG]
     
  5. Placido

    Newcomer Placido Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Germany
  6. Eon-Rider

    Member Eon-Rider GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,021
    Country:
    Australia
    So where have you downloaded them to now? Just make sure you specify where you would like to download them to (i.e. your M3's MicroSD).
     
  7. megawalk

    Member megawalk The Legendary SRW Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,067
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i thought lameboy only supported gb games 0.o well now i know. what it can do
     
  8. blarutoballz

    Newcomer blarutoballz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
    use the lameboy which can be found in the downloads area of gbatemp
     
  9. Kuschel-Drow

    Member Kuschel-Drow GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    419
    Location:
    Duisburg
    Country:
    Germany
    The M3 real does play GBC roms with its GBA Expansion Pack? O_O!
    Never heard of that but I might try it then... >.<

    I'm using Lameboy for all the old Zelda games and stuff, but Alone In The Dark won't work with it... Q_Q
     
  10. aphirst

    Member aphirst "Aren't girls with pee-pees just men?"

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    Augsburg
    Country:
    Germany
    From my experience, the built-in emulators don't automatically back-up the save files correctly (Yes, I know they're just pocketNES and goomba [​IMG]). Oh well, I can live without the aesthetically-pleasing scaling that pocketNES applies to Castlevania 2 (the scaling on nesDS never looks quite right, I think it's to do with the DS' native screen WIDTH).
    I just use nesDS and Lameboy, and don't really have any problems. I hope Nutki picks up on his project again, or releases the source...
     
  11. Kuschel-Drow

    Member Kuschel-Drow GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    419
    Location:
    Duisburg
    Country:
    Germany
    Meh... I should learn to read.
    Okay, old gameboy roms work if they're thrown into the GBA folder. GBC doesn't, it only works with an emulator. (Except for The Legend of Zelda DX which is acutally the GBC version of the previous GB game, THIS one works, only without colors... ^^)
     
  12. Maz7006

    Member Maz7006 iSEXu

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,622
    Country:
    Lebanon
    Lameboy Emulator, this has been answered like a million times, remember google and the search feature in this forum are your friends [​IMG]
     
  13. Chris_Skylock

    Member Chris_Skylock GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    I cant quite understand how lameboy works. I tried it but it wont load my save files after saving it, of course.

    ~Chris
     
  14. aphirst

    Member aphirst "Aren't girls with pee-pees just men?"

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    Augsburg
    Country:
    Germany
    Just make sure it's the same filename as the game, but with a .sav extension. Oh, and be sure that when you want to actually save the "save" to the microSD to press X, or to use the "quit" option in Lameboy. It's worked with Gameboy/Colour saves from VBA and other emulators for me.
     
  15. InuYasha

    Member InuYasha Professional Coke Fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,778
    Country:
    United States

    You probaly forgot to pick a save slot for each game by clicking the R button and making a selection of 0-9 as a save slot then hitting x or use the save on exit feature......
     
  16. aphirst

    Member aphirst "Aren't girls with pee-pees just men?"

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    Augsburg
    Country:
    Germany
    The save slots are for Save States, not for SRAM saves...
     
  17. Rigle

    Member Rigle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    Spain
    Country:
    Spain
    Lameboy [​IMG]
     

Share This Page