GBA on R4

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by yaw, Jan 2, 2007.

Jan 2, 2007

GBA on R4 by yaw at 2:53 PM (2,646 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. yaw
    OP

    Newcomer yaw Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Can you also play GBA roms at the R4?
     
  2. ShadowXP

    Member ShadowXP ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    3,430
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't think so, to my knowledge no slot-1 devices can play GBA games. However, slot-2 devices that can play GBA games can be used in conjunction with the R4.
     
  3. yaw
    OP

    Newcomer yaw Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Netherlands
    ok thanks I think I'm getting the R4 for €57.50 Inc. sending is that a fair price?
     
  4. Monkey01

    Member Monkey01 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    586
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    57.50 in Euros is way too much I think. At www.bamboogaming.com/ you can get it for the same amount in AUD, which equals to about €35...
     
  5. ShadowXP

    Member ShadowXP ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    3,430
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    57.50 EUR Euro = 38.7210 GBP

    I got mine for £32.95, but that seems like a fair enough price to me [​IMG]
     
  6. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
  7. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Considering I ordered mine from bamboogaming for just over £18, you paid way too much.
     
  8. ShadowXP

    Member ShadowXP ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    3,430
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I probably did, but I'd rather have mine ASAP than wait over a week for it. :\
     
  9. YodaBoy

    Newcomer YodaBoy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Australia
    edit: opps wrong thread
     
  10. Dreb

    Newcomer Dreb Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    No Slot 1 solutions can run GBA roms at the moment according to the DS Homebrew Wiki.

    It does allow you to use a GBA slash cart in Slot two however, using the NoPass functionality in the menu.
     
  11. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I know this might sound like a totally stupid question (I already think the answer is yes but wanna double check) but using the R4 as a NoPass card I'd be able to run a Supercard SD/M3 in Slot 2? I wanna grab a GBA flash cart that lets me run NES/SMS/SGG retro stuff but wanna make sure that the 2 are totally compatible. Thanks in advance! [​IMG]
     
  12. iamwhoiam

    Member iamwhoiam Honorary R4 Fanboy

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,201
    Location:
    Hull/Manchester, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As the review states, yes.
     
  13. cenotaph

    Member cenotaph GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    341
    Country:
    United States
    GBA on slot-1 devices is technically possible, but will most likely not happen. This was discussed (somewhat thoroughly) in another thread: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=41192

    We really need a newbie FAQ issuing this (among other things), I've seen at least three similar threads over the past few weeks.
     
  14. Yan K

    Newcomer Yan K Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Belgium
    They can make a snes emulator for those [​IMG] slot 1 devices. So why not possible to make an gba emulator? [​IMG]
     
  15. Saturnplanet5

    Member Saturnplanet5 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    652
    Country:
    Australia
    Why bother?
     
  16. spokenrope

    Member spokenrope c7

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Messages:
    689
    Country:
    United States
    Because slot 1 solutions are the way of the future.
     
  17. madmk

    Member madmk GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    119
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, and its a challenge to developers. I'd love to see 100% working SNES emulators and such :-) It would be great. Imagine playing two player (across WiFi) Zombies on your ds's :-D
     

Share This Page