Hacking GBA game capability with DSi.

Mnemosyne

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Messages
2
Trophies
0
XP
49
Country
United States
Here's the situation: I'm deciding to whether or not to buy a DSi in the near future, so I've been looking around today. I'm a fan of the old GB/GBA games, so I'm wondering what the compatibility situation is like with the Acekard 2. I've read a couple of reviews and such, and none explicitly state the how (and if) I would load and play these games.

Being a newb in this generation of handheld gaming, it'd be appreciated if any responses were kept to simple, layman's terms. Thanks in advance.
 

Heran Bago

Where do puyo come from?
Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2005
Messages
3,098
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Foggy California
Website
heranbago.com
XP
1,162
Country
United States
LivingToDie said:
tj_cool said:
DSi -> no slot2 -> no slot2 gba expansion -> how play gba games with flashcart? -> homebrew/possible homebrewchannel
If you want guaranteed GBA compatibility the DSi is not for you.

If you are a homebrew developer then please try, otherwise pray and wait.
 

Rayder

Mostly lurking lately....
Former Staff
Joined
Jan 14, 2007
Messages
6,606
Trophies
0
Location
USA
XP
589
Country
United States
Even if the DSi can be made to play GBA games, you will be limited to only what Ninty decides to release as DSiWare......or they'll start making GBA ports to the DSi as a DSi cart. Either way you'd be forced to pay for those old GBA games all over again.

But if you got a DSlite, you would only need to buy a flashcart for slot1 and slot2 (once) and then you can download/dump all the DS/GBA games you can stand and play them all for free without any limitations or extra cost.

The choice is obvious.
 

Mnemosyne

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Messages
2
Trophies
0
XP
49
Country
United States
Perhaps it was wishful thinking, but I was hoping some form of GBA emulation on the DSi would be possible. If only the Acekard could read .gba as well...I'll probably still end up getting the DSi anyway.

Thanks for the replies, guys.
 

killajackson

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
73
Trophies
0
XP
40
Country
Canada
how_do_i_do_that said:
The noob trap strikes again, people confusing integrated support with emulation.

Well is there a GBA emulator for DS/DSi? I don't believe there is, but it would be cool.
 

KamuiX

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
125
Trophies
0
XP
131
Country
Greece
There isn't because DS/DSL doesn't need it. It has slot2

Dsi needs it and maybe we will see somrthing in future. As i said in other post. DSi/DS/DSL has almost the same hardware, 2 arm processors. So maybe Dsi supports by nature gba games (through some kind of loader). Maybe i'm not sure at all
 

thephich

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 30, 2009
Messages
5
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
Canada
KamuiX said:
There isn't because DS/DSL doesn't need it. It has slot2

Dsi needs it and maybe we will see somrthing in future. As i said in other post. DSi/DS/DSL has almost the same hardware, 2 arm processors. So maybe Dsi supports by nature gba games (through some kind of loader). Maybe i'm not sure at all
(not trying to be a a** here) but althought it still has only the 2 arm processors (ARM 7 & 9) it has 12 MB of RAM 4x as much as the lite, meaning no need for the RAM expantion. just sayin, dont mean to be that douche who tries to prove ppl wrong, just wanted to point out
blink.gif
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    kenenthk @ kenenthk: You might be able to get 5 needles for it