gba emulator save onto r4 card?

Discussion in 'GBA - Emulation' started by llVeXXll, Mar 26, 2010.

Mar 26, 2010
  1. llVeXXll
    OP

    Newcomer llVeXXll Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Please help me no one on any other forums will reply!

    I have a GBA emulator. If I start playing say, Pokemon Sapphire, and save it (there are lots of different options of dot this and dot that) on to an r4 card in the right place, will I then be able to access the save on my DS if I have Pokemon Sapphire on my r4 card?

    Similarly if I had a DS emulator can I save the saves onto the card and then access them on the real DS?

    I'm asking this because I cannot yet afford a DS but want to start playing as my friend has challenged me to a race with pokemon. Thanks.
     
  2. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    You can't play GBA games with the R4, so if you put it on your DS it won't do anything.
     
  3. llVeXXll
    OP

    Newcomer llVeXXll Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the speedy reply [​IMG]. Aww sucks, so I guess that means I just have to actually buy the GBA games and put them in the bottom of the DS.

    Posts merged

    Wait so what if it was a DS emulator and I was playing pokemon crystal, THEN could i transfer the save to my DS via the r4 card?
     
  4. llVeXXll
    OP

    Newcomer llVeXXll Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    no not crystal ARGH I mean, diamond/ pearl/ platinum
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    AGAIN, the R4 doesn't play GBA games.
    It wouldn't matter if you transferred the saved data because the game itself will not play.

    No slot-1 device plays GBA games, you need a GBA-slot (slot-2) flash cart to play GBA games.


    Yes, though you might need to convert the save.
    http://www.shunyweb.info/convert.php
     
  6. llVeXXll
    OP

    Newcomer llVeXXll Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks and sorry for the confusion lol. If I was to get a slot 2 flash card is there anything else I would need to put the saves from a GBA emulator on it then like that link for the slot 1?
     
  7. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    You shouldn't need anything.
     
  8. llVeXXll
    OP

    Newcomer llVeXXll Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok so now I'm playing fire red on my gbs emulator and the game is fine and it's prompting me to save as .sg1.

    However, half the game is in Japanese! It's perfectly playable it just says everything in English and then again in Japanese. Will this make a difference when I try to transfer the save/ the game onto a slot 2 flash card?? Thanks.
     
  9. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,808
    Country:
    Antarctica
    If you want to have a save file to use on a gba flashcart, from the emulator use:

    FILE->EXPORT->BATTERY FILE

    [​IMG]


    If your brain isn't developed enough to say that you want to move your gba pokemon to a nds pokemon game. Use Pokesav:

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=50498
     
  10. llVeXXll
    OP

    Newcomer llVeXXll Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thankyou for all your advice and patience with me [​IMG]. Ok just before I buy a slot 2 flash card, I realised the version of fire red I'm playing IS japanese, it's just had little bits of it translated. Will I still be able to convert my save OK?
     
  11. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,808
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Wouldn't know if you can or not.
     
  12. me6941

    Newcomer me6941 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United Arab Emirates
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] you stupid people there is a gba emulator that works for R4 its called lameboy!!
     
  13. seahorsepip

    Member seahorsepip GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    @me6941
    Have you eat your own brains yesterday ??
    It's an gbc/gb emulator, a lot diffrent thing !
     
  14. .Chris

    Member .Chris Pffft.

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,182
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Um, but that's a Game Boy emu, not gba

    EDIT: what seahorsepip said....
     
  15. seahorsepip

    Member seahorsepip GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    @llVeXXll
    If you buy real game(legal way =P) then you can still use that sav on that gba card, there is an tool where you can flash the sav to an original gamecard [​IMG]
    And no you can't flash gba games to an original gba cartridge they are read only [​IMG]
     
  16. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't get why people would ever need to use that option.
    Why not just set the right save type right from the start?
     

Share This Page