Gba Emulation on flashcart theory

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by JoshHamel, Jul 25, 2012.

Jul 25, 2012
  1. JoshHamel
    OP

    Newcomer JoshHamel Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    So, I know there has been no way to run gba on acekard and other carts except for some like iplayer and supercard dstwo. But I know we have home brew for os's such as linux and mac. I heard that some people were even running programs on them. Maybe perhaps you can run a mac or linux gba emulator on the homebrew and play gba games. Also on http://www.dslinux.org/ The guy says he ran desmume. I can't try it right now because I accidentally updated my 3ds to 4.3 and there is no acekard fix right now. And also there is DOS. Someone try it

    EDIT: I'm kinda a noob and stuff sorry! haha
     
  2. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,786
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    You wanna know why GBA emulation doesn't work? There isn't enough power. You know what'll happen when you try running GBA emulators on linux/dos? The same result, or probably even worse. Why? Cuz there isn't enough power.
     
    2 people like this.
  3. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I'll save paragraphs of typing and just say That's Not How It Works™.

    You can't just take any old OS and toss it on the DS. The OS has to be modified a lot.

    Furthermore even if you did get stuff running (such as the port of linux to the DS) and even if you did get a GBA emulator running, it would not run fullspeed. It would not even run one frame per second, I'd guess. Nowhere near playable, don't even think of it, it will not work the way you think it will.

    This is your only bet.
    http://gbatemp.net/topic/281715-gba-emulator-for-dsi-dsi-entry/
     
    1 person likes this.
  4. tomatoshadow

    Newcomer tomatoshadow Newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Canada
    As a Nintendo Ambassador (this make it sounds way more important than it is...) I have access to a couple downloadable GBA games. How do these work? Wouldn't it be possible to use these to emulate other games? I'm thinking for example of how people hacked Virtual Console roms for the Wii. They would inject their own roms into already existing VC games. Those GBA games have to be emulated on the 3DS somehow, but how?
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    They are emulation, yes.

    The games on the Wii can be modified because the Wii is hacked, custom software can be written for it, native software for it can be modified, and full write access to the NAND is possible.
    NONE of that is true for the 3DS, so it's not possible right now.
     
  6. heartgold

    Member heartgold GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,276
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You need to stay updated with this thread. http://gbatemp.net/topic/281715-gba-emulator-for-dsi-dsi-entry/

    Yes, games are running at full speed. No sound support yet but still emulated well enough beyond anyone's expectations.
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I don't consider fullspeed with frame skipping to be fullspeed.

    And yes, this means the DSTwo's emulator isn't fullspeed on most games.
     
  8. Vampire Lied

    Member Vampire Lied Resident sociopath

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United States
    Frameskip and no sound definitely =/= fullspeed. It is a good start, but not yet something to get overly excited over. If you can play the n64 emulator on psp and be happy with it, then the gba emulator in its current state will make you happy too. The ds2 with its extra processor can't even emulate gba properly.
     
  9. Tom

    Member Tom Gbatemp's Unofficial Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    New jersey
    Country:
    United States
    that would be the slowest thing ever, i'd besurprised if you got 1fps , linux runs slow anyways
     
  10. 59672

    Member 59672 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    Canada
    What you seem to want to do, is run an operating system on the ds, which already runs an operating system of sorts, to emulate a handheld.

    It is the equivalent of trying to run metro 2033 on max, in a virtual machine, on a netbook. Not happening
     
  11. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,887
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    OP if you really want to pirate and play GBA games then get a used GBA SP for 10 bucks and contact Jimmieenunoz (sorry if I spelled it wrong).
    He's selling GBA flashcards.
     
  12. Quget

    Newcomer Quget Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You can emulate gba games using this.

    http://gbatemp.net/topic/281715-gba-emulator-for-dsi-dsi-entry/

    N
    o sound support yet sound have been disabled to make it support more gba games.
    Idk why people are talking bullshit about gba emulation would never work.

    3ds emulate gba games by itself.
    nds lite runs gba games from 2nd slot.

    Many things proof otherwise. Why do people still say it will be slow?
    I used this emulator made it slow emulate Medabots rpg versionon my 3ds(Not many problems) Just some void bug(Void will have some random sprites sticking on screen) .

    Let me guess some poor programmed gba emualtor for the ds was really slow ?:P
     
  13. gamefan5

    Member gamefan5 Kid Icarus Uprising connoiseur

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,838
    Location:
    Somewhere in this Earth
    Country:
    Canada
    Re-read a few posts back. -_-'
    First of all, we're talking about a flashcart, as in Slot-1 cardridge. The NDS wouldn't be able to run it a fullspeeed. Why? Because it lacks power.
    2nd. The DSI doesn't have a slot-2. Meaning it can't play GBA games.
    Meaning, it will have to rely on Slot-1 flashcart. Problem is, it's not hacked. And I don't think it could be enough to run GBA games
    3rd. Never we have said that the 3DS wouldn't be able to emulate GBA at fullspeed, we have said that we can't do it because it is not hacked!
     
  14. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    'Cause you're not sure of what's going on.

    Yes, using official software, in 3DS-mode. The 3DS in 3DS-mode is a lot more powerful than the DS.

    But we don't have access to running homebrew emulators in 3DS mode. Homebrew still runs in DS-mode on a 3DS, meaning there's no power/speed increase versus playing it on a DS, the same limits still apply.

    That's not emulation, that's running it on the actual hardware (hardware that was removed in the DSi and 3DS, and the OP has a 3DS).

    No, those things you mentioned are not emulation on the DS. The first is emulation in 3DS-mode (which we cannot make ourselves), and the second is not emulation at all (and will not work on a DSi/3DS).

    Given that the only one that plays retail games (which is a recent development, it started out doing nothing but GBA homebrew) doesn't even do sound yet, there's a while to go.
     
  15. Quget

    Newcomer Quget Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Everyone keeps saying it is not possible.
     
  16. gamefan5

    Member gamefan5 Kid Icarus Uprising connoiseur

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,838
    Location:
    Somewhere in this Earth
    Country:
    Canada
     
  17. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Well, to be fair, "ages ago" every DS system out there (original and Lite) had a GBA slot, so there was no need to write an emulator which would perform worse when you can get a hardware solution that Just Works™.
     
  18. gamefan5

    Member gamefan5 Kid Icarus Uprising connoiseur

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,838
    Location:
    Somewhere in this Earth
    Country:
    Canada
    True, true. I guess everything started when the DSi was released.
     
  19. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, and while most people disregarded the DSi, when the 3DS came out it was clear there'd be no further GBA hardware capability.
     
  20. Gnargle

    Member Gnargle The day I set a profile picture is the day I die

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do we have to explain this every time some 12 year old arrives and thinks they know better than people who've been using flashcarts for years? The DS Lite does not emulate the GBA via slot-2. It literally has the GBA hardware inside it to make it work. The DS isn't really powerful enough for full-speed GBA emulation, that emulator you posted is a mess of speedhacks and frameskipping to make it even remotely playable. Fine work, to be sure, but not really a substitution for the real thing.
     

Share This Page