1. ronin

    ronin Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    i just bought a new cable from ebay. it seems different from zerey's. i hope it will work fine
     
  2. Ozito

    Ozito Who you gonna call?
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    344
    Country:
    Sweden
    Where did you get the screens from?
    I wonder if they aren't of inferior quality?

    Judging by your picture, it looks like you soldered the cable to the resistor, is that correct?
    The manual says to solder to the left leg of transistor "DA1".
    If you haven't done it then you should give it a try.
     
  3. ronin

    ronin Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    screens are original from ags-101 and i'm sure i soldered the cable to the left leg of transistor:/
     
  4. ronin

    ronin Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    and my potentiometer doesnt change anything is this normal?
     
  5. Ozito

    Ozito Who you gonna call?
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    344
    Country:
    Sweden
    Sorry ronin, I don't know what else to suggest.:unsure:


    Does all the GB/GBC games freeze?
     
  6. driverdis

    driverdis I am Justice
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2,548
    Country:
    United States
    I just tested Pokemon Yellow (the real cart) and it froze exactly the same as the Drag'n'Derp. It will randomly go to white screen and freeze or just freeze. also, The ebay item ID for the gameboy has been removed, which means I cannot leave feedback for it. something strange is going on for sure.
     
  7. Ozito

    Ozito Who you gonna call?
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    344
    Country:
    Sweden
    That's odd, I ordered a kit from RCG for my GBA yesterday.
    It should hopefully arrive next week if nothing goes wrong.

    I got Pokemon Silver and Blade for GBC and a whole bunch of old GB games i can try out, and report back with my experience.
     
  8. soulrazor

    soulrazor GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    194
    Country:
    and if you dont put any cart in and turn it on? only gba boot logo or something more?
     
  9. driverdis

    driverdis I am Justice
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2,548
    Country:
    United States
    Just the GBA boot logo, as normal. in fact, it performs exactly like it should (like a normal GBA) when playing GBA games. the only problem is GB(C) games.

    I do have spare GBA boards and enough soldering experience to swap the board with one i know works 100% , as I would rather not mess with eBay and Paypal over the GBA when the mod itself works fine, and it costs me 0$.
     
  10. Ozito

    Ozito Who you gonna call?
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    344
    Country:
    Sweden
    Have a look at the soldering job done in it.
    See if it looks fine.

    As I mentioned before, my friends mod was acting all weird, I shorted the length of his wires and replaced them with kynar wire.
     
  11. driverdis

    driverdis I am Justice
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2,548
    Country:
    United States
    I fixed the problem by swapping the board with a known working one. the board that was in it looked like some of the parts like the power switch and triggers were replaced with ones from boards that had acid or another corrosive substance poured on it.

    I swapped the board before looking at the picture on this thread showing the wire soldered to the transistor, so mine is soldered to resister 11 (R11) as the board I pulled out was setup that way.
    I plan to move that wire to the transistor later today.
     
  12. Ozito

    Ozito Who you gonna call?
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    344
    Country:
    Sweden
    I finally moded my GBA, I have been postponing this purchase for quite a while now.

    Nice little box
    uploadfromtaptalk1398801269379.jpg

    First I had to remove my afterburner moded screen.

    uploadfromtaptalk1398801458954.jpg

    The next step was removing the edges.

    uploadfromtaptalk1398801523862.jpg

    Align the screen and solder the wire.

    uploadfromtaptalk1398801585570.jpg

    Assemble the GBA and enjoy!

    uploadfromtaptalk1398801649656.jpg uploadfromtaptalk1398801673431.jpg uploadfromtaptalk1398801723278.jpg

    --EDIT--


    I chose to guide the cable beneath the cartridge slot Instead of guiding it from above.

    Doing that minimises the risk of pinching it when reassembling the unit.
    [​IMG]
     
    Thomas83Lin and GBA rocks like this.
  13. Shuttleu

    Shuttleu GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
  14. reprep

    reprep GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    937
    Country:

    you can put a AGS-101 screen in AGS-001. this thread is about putting a AGS-101 screen in AGB-001.
     
  15. Cactuar

    Cactuar GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry to correct you but The AGS-001 mainboard won't work with AGS-101 screen, it does however work fine with the AGB-001 mainboard once you have the correct ribbon cable and power lead as is included in the 32 and 40 pin kits.
     
  16. reprep

    reprep GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    937
    Country:
    oops, you are right. i confused it with total case replacement of ags 101 and ags 001.

    i have an AGB-101 and i think it's great.
     
  17. Shuttleu

    Shuttleu GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
    I understand this is a thread on connecting a AGS-101 screen to a AGB-001 board, but as we are on the subject of the screens, I was hoping someone could tell me why I can't do it if the pin outs are the same?

    Hopefully a answer more than "because it won't work"
     
  18. Jayro

    Jayro MediCat USB and Mini Windows 10 Developer
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    7,434
    Country:
    United States
    The backlit SP had the best screen of any GBA series... so I applaud this guy.

    The GBA Micro was back-lit, but the colors were really washed-out, and it had horrible ghosting.
     
  19. Cactuar

    Cactuar GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    United States
    Ozito thanks for sharing, that looks outstanding.

    Yes the best screen combined with the (arguably) best ergonomics in the GBA series. It's a winner in my book. I have ordered a 40-pin light kit and glass lens but it's taking a while to arrive. I hate waiting on stuff especially when it's for a new project. This should be worlds better than the afterburner I installed in a AGB-001 back in 2002.
     
    Ozito likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Backlight,