Tutorial  Updated

Gateway CTRBootManager Setup - Auto Boot

(Sorry about the delay in getting this guide up, work has been killing me and i havent had much time. I appreciate the patience :) )

NOTE: This is only possible on firmwares 9.0-9.2 sysnand at the moment. This is due to the fact that 9.2 is the highest GW supported version, and 9.0 is the minimum version if you are on a non japan 3ds as themes were introduced in 8.1.

As a baseline for each of the tutorials, you need to have a running copy of the homebrew launcher running in some way. This could be done by the web browser, cubic ninja, or whatever other entry point available. A full list can be found here: http://smealum.github.io/3ds/

This guide will assume you have the following files on your SD card and up to date with the latest homebrew starter kit available at http://smealum.github.io/3ds/ . It will also assume you have Gateway already running and working. This is not a support thread for ether of these. There are plenty of guides around on how to setup gateway as well as the homebrew launcher. If you have both of these running and working you are good to go.

YOUR EMUNAND AND SYSNAND SHOULD BE UNLINKED AND YOU NEED TO BE RUNNING THE HOMEBREW LAUNCHER FROM SYSNAND.


1. Homemenuhax Installation

You need homemenuhax for this to work, its a entry point for the homebrew launcher that runs whenever you boot your 3ds.

To install it, you need to use the entry point you normally use to get into the homebrew launcher. Once in you want to use the piece of homebrew that comes with the starter kit called "menuhax_manager". Use the install option and go through the prompts to install the hack. After, go to the configure option. This will determine when the hack boots into the homebrew launcher and when it wont. I prefer using type 2 and using the L button. This means when you hold the L button on boot, it will kick you to sysnand. And when you dont, it will boot into the homebrew launcher. Or in our case, it will be CTRBootManager which will automatically boot into emunand. Take your choice and then move onto the next section.

At this point you should be able to restart your 3DS and if you used the type and button i did for homemenuhax it should automatically boot into the homebrew launcher when not holding the button and kick you into sysnand when you are. If not, retry and make sure your setup is correct before moving onto the next step.

2. Gateway Homebrew Launcher

The first gateway release to have the gateway homebrew entry point is 3.6.1. The files are only available starting in this version.

In the release there is a zip file called GW_3dsx.zip Open it and copy the 3ds folder to the root of your 3DS SD card. Now boot your 3DS back into the homebrew launcher, you should see the gateway option in the list now. Try using it, if it boots you into emunand you are good to go.

3. CTRBootManager Setup

At this point your 3DS should automatically boot into the homebrew launcher and you have a gateway item in the homebrew list that boots you into emunand. If this is not so, go back and get that working before moving on.

Put your SD back into your computer and you should have the following files on your SD card

/3ds/GW/GW.3dsx - Gateway Homebrew
/3ds/GW/GW.smdh - Gateway Homebrew
/Launcher.dat - Gateway Launcher
/boot.3dsx - The Homebrew Launcher

So do the following in this order:
1. Rename /boot.3dsx to homebrew.3dsx
2. Download and extract CTRBootManager to the root of your SD. All files in the zip should be copied https://gbatemp.net/threads/ctrbootmanager-3ds-boot-manager-loader-homemenuhax.398383/
3. Copy the following into the boot.cfg file on the root of the SD. Replace everything in the file!

Code:
boot_config :
{
  timeout = 0;
  autobootfix = 2;
  recovery = 8;
  default = 0;
  entries = (
    {
      title = "Gateway";
      path = "/3ds/GW/GW.3dsx";
    },
    {
      title = "Homebrew";
      path = "/homebrew.3dsx";
    } );
};

The "timeout = 0;" can be changed to specify the amount of time before it automatically boots the default item. In this case it is 0 to specify that it should boot automatically,
The "autobootfix = 2;" Is a fix for auto booting when timeout is 0. I am on a N3DS and 2 seems to work best for me, play around with it and see what works best for you. 8 was the recommended value for O3DS and 3 for N3DS.
The "recovery = 8;" is the button used when you want to get to the boot menu while booting if you have timeout set to 0. 8 is the R button, so holding R will take you into the boot menu when booting. A list of keycodes that can be used can be found here: https://goo.gl/4XLDIL
The "default = 0;" is the index of the item to boot to by default. It starts at 0 with the first item in the list being 0, then 1, etc.
The entries section contains the list of boot items. My default config contains a entry for Gateway and one for the homebrew launcher. This can be customized but needs to have the same format. You can add items from the boot menu on the 3DS if you dont feel comfortable editing it by hand.

At this point your 3DS SD Card Should Have The Following

/3ds/GW/GW.3dsx - Gateway Homebrew
/3ds/GW/GW.smdh - Gateway Homebrew
/Launcher.dat - Gateway Launcher
/boot.3dsx - CTRBootManager
/boot.cfg - CTRBootManager Config File
/homebrew.3dsx - The Homebrew Launcher


If all of this is good, you should be able to put it back into your 3DS and boot it.

With my default configuration the following happens:
No buttons held: Will automatically boot into emunand
L button held: Will boot into sysnand.
R button held: will boot into the CTRBootManager menu with options to boot into gateway and the homebrew launcher.

This is a initial version of my guide and i may have missed things or messed something, if you find anything wrong please feel free to let me know so i can fix it.

PLEASE READ THE ENTIRE POST BEFORE REPORTING ISSUES OR ASKING QUESTIONS!
 
Last edited by VeryCrushed,

VeryCrushed

Devious Prorammer
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2014
Messages
451
Trophies
0
Location
The Programmers Den
XP
453
Country
United States
Actually, Wifi data will pass to sysnand only if sysnand have empty wifi settings. Just fill out sysnand wifi connection fields with dummy information and it should be fine. This is how I make sure it doesn't update itself.
That's what I was talking about. You just worded it better lol
 
  • Like
Reactions: joimme

joimme

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 14, 2016
Messages
78
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
100
Country
BTW, thanks for the tutorial, this etup is working good for me even though I still couldn't find the perfect autobootfix value. Any ideas? (O3DS XL)
 

joimme

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 14, 2016
Messages
78
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
100
Country
What values have you tried? It seems most people have gotten away good with 8.
I have tried 12 and 8. 12 was fine last night but I guess I got lucky. I updated my gateway today and even though I can access gateway through the bootmanager menu, it stucks when autobooting. Maybe I'm really unlucky tonight?
 

adeptrain

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 24, 2008
Messages
16
Trophies
0
XP
224
Country
United States
Hi,
Hopefully someone can help me here. I want to change my boot.cfg a bit, but I'm afraid of making mistakes. I'm currently on a Japanese N3ds and currently everything is set up to go into the ctrBoot screen and after 3 seconds, load rxtools Emunand. I want to change it around and have it load into gateway emunand automatically instead of Rxtools. Here is my boot.cfg...also, any advice on other settings? Currently, I have about 80% success with loading into Gateway Emunand.

boot_config :
{
timeout = 3;
autobootfix = 2;
recovery = 8;
default = 0;
entries = (
{
title = "rxTools";
path = "/rxTools/sys/code.bin";
offset = "0x12000";
},
{
title = "Gateway Menu";
path = "/3ds/GW/GW.3dsx";
},
{
title = "HomeBrewMenu";
path = "/bootHBL.3dsx";
} );
};
 

VeryCrushed

Devious Prorammer
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2014
Messages
451
Trophies
0
Location
The Programmers Den
XP
453
Country
United States
Hi,
Hopefully someone can help me here. I want to change my boot.cfg a bit, but I'm afraid of making mistakes. I'm currently on a Japanese N3ds and currently everything is set up to go into the ctrBoot screen and after 3 seconds, load rxtools Emunand. I want to change it around and have it load into gateway emunand automatically instead of Rxtools. Here is my boot.cfg...also, any advice on other settings? Currently, I have about 80% success with loading into Gateway Emunand.

boot_config :
{
timeout = 3;
autobootfix = 2;
recovery = 8;
default = 0;
entries = (
{
title = "rxTools";
path = "/rxTools/sys/code.bin";
offset = "0x12000";
},
{
title = "Gateway Menu";
path = "/3ds/GW/GW.3dsx";
},
{
title = "HomeBrewMenu";
path = "/bootHBL.3dsx";
} );
};
This is why the first post is a tutorial, check out the first post to figure it all out. Then if anything isn't covered there ask
 

blax722

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2015
Messages
111
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
176
Country
Well, this setup have really low boot rate for me. Like it boots every third restart (when it have a good day) so, usualy like 2-3 of 4 boots freezes with menuhax logo and white bottom screen. Tried to reinstall menuhax with no luck. Really annoying.
 

VeryCrushed

Devious Prorammer
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2014
Messages
451
Trophies
0
Location
The Programmers Den
XP
453
Country
United States
It's 8. I think I've let it on the default value, because I don't use the 0 timeout...
I'd at least try to use my config and see if you have any luck changing the autobootfix value. If you can't get it working with what I have setup (and what everyone here uses) I'm not sure. As far as I'm aware, everyone who has used this tutorial has managed to get it to work. It's hard for me to figure out what's wrong if your config is different from everyone else's.
 
  • Like
Reactions: blax722

blax722

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2015
Messages
111
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
176
Country
Roger that! But honestly I don't think the config file is somewhat different, except the timeout and few added entries and it IS working, but with horrible boot rate tho. Anyway, going to test it.

Edit: So! Just did 10 reboots and 10 of them was succesfull. So right now I am living the dream. Using different config or changing bootfix value didn't change anything. What worked for me, was using themehax 1.2 payload for booting menuhax instead of the menuhax ones. Found a guide for it on Reddit, so maybe, you could add this to your first post, as I think it's kinda problem related and helpful.

Oh, and thanks for your help and great tutorial!
 
Last edited by blax722,
  • Like
Reactions: VeryCrushed

VeryCrushed

Devious Prorammer
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2014
Messages
451
Trophies
0
Location
The Programmers Den
XP
453
Country
United States
Roger that! But honestly I don't think the config file is somewhat different, except the timeout and few added entries and it IS working, but with horrible boot rate tho. Anyway, going to test it.

Edit: So! Just did 10 reboots and 10 of them was succesfull. So right now I am living the dream. Using different config or changing bootfix value didn't change anything. What worked for me, was using themehax 1.2 payload for booting menuhax instead of the menuhax ones. Found a guide for it on Reddit, so maybe, you could add this to your first post, as I think it's kinda problem related and helpful.

Oh, and thanks for your help and great tutorial!
I'll see about adding a small note, using the latest payloads is going to be recommended except for a few rare people. KOR 3ds support wasn't added till 2.0 and shufflehax at 2.1. Older payloads should only be used if there is no other way. I'm glad you were able to get it working though.
 

blax722

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2015
Messages
111
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
176
Country
Yeah, it's weird though, on my o3DS and on GFs n3DS XL I had no prob. with the new payload. Just my n3DS was doing this.
 

blax722

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2015
Messages
111
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
176
Country
Great idea! Just found that there already is this so called bug reported but what worked for the guy that wrote that post didn't worked for me, so I made an account and added how I dealed with the problem.
Anyway, thanks for the help!
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    SylverReZ @ SylverReZ: @salazarcosplay, Good.