Hacking Gateway 3ds card update, black screen

otto888

I break things for a living.
Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2008
Messages
319
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
1,032
Country
United States
i try and i try many times.. no changes..

You updated to 9.6, which isn't supported yet. You'll have to reformat your EmuNAND, and don't update. If you need to update to anything except 9.6 for some reason, I think there is a way to update by using CIAs, but I haven't tried it.
 

DeShelly

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2012
Messages
230
Trophies
0
Location
Greece
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
214
Country
Greece
and here its the black screen =p :lol:
21126_450249038464651_5147776775641637857_n.jpg
 

thorasgar

Checkout my evil Soon-in-ator™
Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
3,783
Trophies
1
XP
2,493
Country
United States
Why are you trying to update the GW? Is there a prompt asking you do to so? If you can play games maybe it doesn't need to updated.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Osmosis

phazonknight

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2014
Messages
167
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
165
Country
Canada
you updated the emunand, gotta wait for gw to release an update unless you have a backup of emunand with an older firmware on it
 

thorasgar

Checkout my evil Soon-in-ator™
Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
3,783
Trophies
1
XP
2,493
Country
United States
i dont know.. i just see gw have a update and i wanted to update it, thats all..
Some of the things you are saying do make sense to me. Let's start from the beginning.
What system firmware are you running (sysnand)?
What emunand firmware are you running ?
--both can be found in system settings of the respective firmware
What version of the launcher,dat are you using? 3.1.1 is the latest
Old 3ds or now 3ds?
What is the exact procedure you are using to attempt to update the gateway card and causes the black screen?

I ask this becuase if the gateway card needs to be updated the gateway menu will prompt you to update it. If it doesn't you don't need to do anything. All that is required to run the latest GateWay release is to put the new Launcher.dat in the root of the internal mSD or SD card and run an appropriate exploit such as cubic Ninja, OOT, web browser or DS profile. The exploit you should be using is dependent on the model of 3Ds you have and the sysnand version.
 

DeShelly

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2012
Messages
230
Trophies
0
Location
Greece
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
214
Country
Greece
Some of the things you are saying do make sense to me. Let's start from the beginning.
What system firmware are you running (sysnand)?
What emunand firmware are you running ?
--both can be found in system settings of the respective firmware
What version of the launcher,dat are you using? 3.1.1 is the latest
Old 3ds or now 3ds?
What is the exact procedure you are using to attempt to update the gateway card and causes the black screen?

I ask this becuase if the gateway card needs to be updated the gateway menu will prompt you to update it. If it doesn't you don't need to do anything. All that is required to run the latest GateWay release is to put the new Launcher.dat in the root of the internal mSD or SD card and run an appropriate exploit such as cubic Ninja, OOT, web browser or DS profile. The exploit you should be using is dependent on the model of 3Ds you have and the sysnand version.

sys nand: 4.5
emu nand: 9.5
version launcher: 3.1.1
old 3ds
i go to sys setings and i go to ds profile and i press the hotkeys for gw menu and there they ask me to update my gw card, update and black screen..
 

Bakuryu42

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
114
Trophies
0
XP
326
Country
United States
This is actually happening to me right now.
Sys nand: 9.2
Emunand: 9.4
Gateway: 3.1? Im not positive I had 3.1 downloaded from a while back so I assume I updated it, but I would have to put the old dat back to check.
 

ShadowOne333

QVID PRO QVO
Editorial Team
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
11,150
Trophies
1
XP
14,687
Country
Mexico
This is happening to me too.
Whenever I go into DS Profile, it asks me to update the Gateway 3DS card, even if I don't have it inside the console. o.o

I found a workaround though, you can go into the Gateway menu by Clicking Cancel on the Update prompt, but remember to NOT have the GW Red Card inserted, only after you press Cancel (B) and you go into the Gateway menu, you can put it in and use the Gateway functions and tools.

This still bothers me, though, as the update prompt is happening in both my O3DS and my N3DS, both of them have the Launcher.dat for 3.3. :/

Anyone knows a way to remove that update prompt?
 

sanderdsz

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
102
Trophies
0
XP
395
Country
Brazil
Im having this trouble...
I can't boot on the godammit classic mode now, it turn in black screen.
I haven't done anything, my gateway is in the 3.4v and my emunand probs on the 9.5, sysnand on 9.2.

Someone found the solution to this red card update bug?
 

kheldar

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2014
Messages
512
Trophies
0
XP
381
Country
Hey guys I have a quick question and didn't want to create a new thread for it : I have a Micro sd card with a gw emunand partition how can i fully format the card to its original state?
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: 10 year old hardware now still emulates switch pretty decently