Games that suddenly don't run anymore

Discussion in 'PSP - Hacking & Homebrew' started by Fazermint, Apr 9, 2012.

Apr 9, 2012
  1. Fazermint
    OP

    Member Fazermint I like dem vidya gaimes

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Dodging trolls
    Country:
    Norway
    So I've got this weird problem with this one specific game, Crisis Core: FFVII. I can start it, and it displays the Square Enix logo, FFVII 10th anniversary logo, and starts playing the intro. Now, by pushing X it should take me to the menu. But for some reason it doesn't respond. The X button works normally in other games. Dafuq is happening?

    I'm on the latest 6.20 cfw, PSP2000. Crisis Core was running normally before I upgraded from 5.50 gen-d3 cfw.
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Show us your /seplugins/ folder?
     
  3. Just Another Gamer

    Member Just Another Gamer 星空のメモリア-Wish upon a shooting star- Fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,898
    Location:
    Watching Hibarigasaki's starry sky
    Country:
    Australia
    Did you do something to the PRO CFW XMB or something menu thing?

    Cause sometimes changing some of the settings will cause for games to not work, like I had speed increase in GAME and VSH and it made some of my games not work and messed with my plugins.
     
  4. Fazermint
    OP

    Member Fazermint I like dem vidya gaimes

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Dodging trolls
    Country:
    Norway
    My seplugins folder is empty as I have no plugins installed.

    I don't think I've done anything to the menu settings. I'll have a look at it in a sec.
     
  5. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    i'm new to psp, but i was curious, do the memory sticks become corrupted? is it a common problem as we face with nds flash kits? using a flash kit mentality i'd suggest a reformat of the memory stuck, but i have no idea if that is an ideal solution.

    -another world
     
  6. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes they do, and it's a common problem with the many fake Pro Duo's going around and the MicroSD adapters (although Foxi will box my ears for saying it)

    A good stick seldom gets corrupted but i'd say it's a good practice to format your stick and repopulate it when you first experience game lag or problems, and ensure that your using a genuine piece of hardware. Also formats after constant content changes is a good idea too to ensure speeds are maintained (whilst this isn't something that can often have an impact on some games it really does...)
     
  7. Fazermint
    OP

    Member Fazermint I like dem vidya gaimes

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Dodging trolls
    Country:
    Norway
    Oh well, right now the PSP doesn't recognize anything on the memory card. Strongly considering getting a DS instead now, lol.
     
  8. emigre

    Member emigre Has complex motives

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7,917
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Does your PC recognise the MSPD?
     
  9. Fazermint
    OP

    Member Fazermint I like dem vidya gaimes

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Dodging trolls
    Country:
    Norway
    Yep. Well, my psp recognizes the card itself, just not its content, i.e.. I can go to games>memory card, but it says something like "there are no games".
     
  10. Ryupower

    Member Ryupower Brood

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,762
    Country:
    United States
    do you have a GAME folder in your PSP folder
    some game WILL delete it if there is nothing in it, just put a Blank .txt file in it


    for the ISO folder to show games

    there MUST BE a GAME folder in your PSP folder

    also
    are you on prema 6.20 CFW or temp 6.20 CFW
     
  11. marcus134

    Member marcus134 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    Québec
    Country:
    Canada
    Sometimes after upgrading the firmware I experienced some bug like game can't load ( number error) or corrupted save and the trick to solve it was simply to dump all the data on my pc and reformat the stick.
     
    1 person likes this.
  12. Fazermint
    OP

    Member Fazermint I like dem vidya gaimes

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Dodging trolls
    Country:
    Norway
    Permanent.
     
  13. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Go to the memory stick option in the PSP (do not enter it to view games, just highlight it), press triangle, and go to the properties. What does it say about magic gate? If it's false or unknown, that's a fake or damaged stick.
     
  14. Un4tural

    Member Un4tural GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it is a stupid thing, but did you check driver used? i updated to 6.20CFW and inferno driver wouldn't run patapon3 and crash in menu? it is unlikely you forgot, but i was like wth is wrong with it, it was running a minute ago, recopied my ISO, formatted card, recopied plugins etc... then remembered about the driver lol
     
  15. Fazermint
    OP

    Member Fazermint I like dem vidya gaimes

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Dodging trolls
    Country:
    Norway
    It's indeed unknown. I've tried formatting via the psp and via the pc with no luck.
     

Share This Page