Games not working on R4 SDHC

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by jackspicer14, Dec 19, 2008.

Dec 19, 2008
  1. jackspicer14
    OP

    Newcomer jackspicer14 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    **UPDATE**

    Tetris DS doesn't work on my R4, I even tryed YSMenu and the screen goes black and freezes.

    Please help! [​IMG]
     
  2. pso

    Banned pso Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    they work fine on my r4 sdhc (except super mario 64 which i dont know cos i didnt try that yet).

    i have software version v1.24

    but i had no problems on the older firmware i had before (1.18 or so) either...

    which firmware do u use?
     
  3. gokuguy

    Member gokuguy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    403
    Country:
    United States
    If you cant get them working, these are your problems/solutions.

    1. You have an old firmware. Download the newest firmware for the R4 SDHC.

    2. If that doesn't work, get YSMenu instead of the firmware.
    Check this link here, i just explained about this to someone else. http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=123848

    3. If both of those don't work, you might have an almost incompatible Micro SD card. To find out if thats the problem, find Scorpei's R4DS Compatibility List by searching on a browser.

    4. If the problem still persists after a/getting a new, compatible micro sd card or b/confirming that you have a compatible sd card, your only option is to get a new Flash Card. If it comes to this, either go on www.gamebay.com to get a flash card (The R4 units are official there, i got mine about a week ago.), or get another one online. At this time, everyone is saying that the Acekard is the best & cheapest. It is more likely to break, but everyone says its good.

    hope it helped
     
  4. agentgamma

    Member agentgamma I dont know what to put here

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    876
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    Antarctica
    If you need a new flashcard, stay away from the R4.
    If you want a cheap flash card, get an AceKard 2.1 or an EDGE
     
  5. Briankealing

    Member Briankealing GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    SDHC is not compatible with the R4 due to hardware issues.

    Did you do your research? (Wikipedia!)
     
  6. pso

    Banned pso Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    1. r4 is still a fine card am playing PS0 atm other people moan that it dont work on their cards

    2. r4 sdhc does support sdhc u should have read the topic title! stupid post attacking somebody when u r the idiot
     
  7. Nintenterd

    Newcomer Nintenterd Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    How the hell did you get 1.24, can you pm me the link?
     
  8. agentgamma

    Member agentgamma I dont know what to put here

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    876
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    Antarctica
    1.24 is a clone firmware
     
  9. 1upm4n

    Newcomer 1upm4n Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    "The Hub''
    Country:
    United States
    r4 sdhc i dont think is made by the original r4 company. it is a clone. the only that works fine is probably an edge. like agentgamma said, get and acekard2.1 or an edge.
     
  10. jackspicer14
    OP

    Newcomer jackspicer14 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Alright everyone, I did the whol YSMenu, R4sayato thing, and now........ Super Mario 64 works perfectly, I'll try SC:DB, Tetris DS, and Mario Kart DS.



    Everyone, thanks a lot for your help, I really appreciate it. [​IMG]
     
  11. meateater

    Newcomer meateater Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    Just got my R4 SDHC today. Tried Mario Kart DS and had no problems with either single nor multiplayer mode.
    I am, however, having problems with Chrono Trigger. Chrono gets stuck in the warp screen after he goes after Marle. I suppose that's what he gets for being a hero.
    Castlevania: Portraits of Ruin is also exhibiting freezing problems at random intervals of the game.
     

Share This Page