Games/Homebrew not loading.

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by Silvermania, Dec 10, 2009.

Dec 10, 2009
  1. Silvermania
    OP

    Newcomer Silvermania Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Hey guys, having a tech issue. I found the 1.56b4 update and installed it... mainly because I learned that you can play Spirit Tracks if you have the cracked version and you use a save and cheat file they give you. Well, after the beta update install no games work at all. You can select the game and turn on or off the cheats for it, but when it goes to play it just says "loading..." and nothing ever happens. What could be wrong?
     
  2. Chrono_Tata

    Member Chrono_Tata GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Country:
    Thailand
    Maybe you had a bad install. Roll back to an earlier version then try installing beta 4 again.
     
  3. Silvermania
    OP

    Newcomer Silvermania Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Tried to roll back to 1.55... "Fatal Error, press A to continue."
    I tried it again.... and it installed properly.

    Games still won't load, still getting the "Loading..." screen of death.
    Oh wait.... I let it load for a minute and it finally went through.

    Spirit Tracks works, I have full train controls.
    Save feature works too.

    Any reason for such a huge delay in Loading?
    My card is 4GB and hasn't had any issues before.
     
  4. _Chaz_

    Member _Chaz_ GBAtemp's Official Mook™

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,624
    Country:
    United States
    Try formatting your Micro SD, you'll have to back up your Micro SD files as everything will be erased, but this can solve a lot of problems.
    Just copy the contents of your Micro SD to another folder, format, and copy them back when it's finished.

    I also use 4GB and had a similar problem before, this helped.
     
  5. Chrono_Tata

    Member Chrono_Tata GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Country:
    Thailand
    Umm. How many times have you tried loading games? It's a known thing that sometimes after installing a new firmware it's normal for loading to be slow for the first time. After that it should go back to normal. If this is a persistent problem then, yeah, you should backup and reformat.
     
  6. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    Yep, after installing a new firmware the first game/homebrew you load will take longer than normal to load. Of course, this usually means 5 seconds load time as opposed to 1 second. I think 1 minute is way too long and highly abnormal, so you should reformat your microSD.
     
  7. Chrono_Tata

    Member Chrono_Tata GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Country:
    Thailand
    Actually having bad sectors in your MicroSD card would explain the corrupt updates, so reformatting is a good idea.
     

Share This Page