Gamecube games to Wii - DVD+RW Media

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by CKeegan, Sep 21, 2010.

Sep 21, 2010
  1. CKeegan
    OP

    Newcomer CKeegan Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello, I have seen a number of topics regarding burning gamecube ISO's to the Wii and I understand how to do so, however I have a problem;
    The disk I am using is of DVD+RW media. I have seen that you should change the book type to DVD-ROM for any kind of DVD+R disk, but I cannot do so in ImgBurn as the disk I use is not on the menu (I use Packard Bell).
    Is there another programme I could use or a method I should do?

    Thank you.
     
  2. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    Here's what you should do: Not use a RW disc. It will never work.
     
  3. ddetkowski

    Member ddetkowski GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,141
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Agree.
    RW's are not compatible. Buy DVD-R's only!!!!!
     
  4. moosehunter

    Member moosehunter GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    199
    Country:
    United States
    Um... DVD-RWs work perfectly fine. I used them all the time for SSBB modding before it became possible to load off of an SD card.
     
  5. Daizu

    Member Daizu GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    344
    Location:
    Hell
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe it worked for that game. But most of the time, it's better to use a DVD-R.
     
  6. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    RW has lower reflective index than R. It is not a good idea to use it on Wii cause in the long run it will damage Wii DVD drive.
     
  7. CKeegan
    OP

    Newcomer CKeegan Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the replies, to be honest I wasn't expecting such a response.

    The truth of the matter is that I have very few DVD-R (I just managed to find one) disks, so my choice is either DVD+R or DVD+RW.
    Seeing as I can now get rid of DVD+RW from the list because they won't work, I've now only got DVD+R's. Now, how would I change them to be compatible in ImgBurn?

    Most of these DVD+R disks are by Imation, if it helps.
     
  8. smash_brew

    Member smash_brew I may or may not have fallen

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    708
    Country:
    United States
    click the little book icon in imgburn and change the booktype to dvd-rom and that should make the +r's work just fine.
     
  9. CKeegan
    OP

    Newcomer CKeegan Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK but the disk I'm using isn't shown on the menu. I don't have a BENQ, Samsung etc... So what do I choose?
     
  10. chop

    Member chop GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    487
    Location:
    Pontefract
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've used dvd+r's for gamecube game, and they work.
    I didn't know how to set book type either so I just burnt them without setting it and they worked.
    I think it does it automatically
     
  11. Mega-Zelda

    Newcomer Mega-Zelda Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Jordan
    i used sony DVD-RW on every gamecube game i have
    all work perfect
    burn with imgburn @ 2x speed
     
  12. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    They kill your laser faster than even +R DL.
     
  13. Mega-Zelda

    Newcomer Mega-Zelda Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Jordan
    i guess its back to DVD-R
    thx 4 the tip
     
  14. CKeegan
    OP

    Newcomer CKeegan Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Right, now I'm having an issue.
    I burned the ISO to a DVD-R disk so it should be working fine - yet it is still not loading on the disk screen.
    Also, if I put it back into my laptop it doesn't work properly; on the properties menu it says that no space has been used... And none is free either.

    How do I sort this out?
     
  15. chop

    Member chop GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    487
    Location:
    Pontefract
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  16. CKeegan
    OP

    Newcomer CKeegan Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can't use NeoGamma, haven't got a USB or SD Card.

    Guys seriously, I have got no clue why I'm unable to back-up my games. I've tried DVD-R, DVD+R, DVD+RW, burned with ImgBurner at different speeds, and it's just not being read.
    I do not get it. :S
     
  17. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Install cIOS56rev20 and the cMIOS from this thread:
    http://gbatemp.net/t219243-neogamma-r9-beta-test

    Then try to load your discs with the latest NeoGamma. If it says that you can't use DVD-Rs, you can't use DVD-Rs. If you get it to identify a disc even once, then your wii is capable of reading DVD-Rs, and the problem is the discs, the burner, what or how you burn.
     
  18. XFelixX

    Newcomer XFelixX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    are you using Miltigame ISO creator to create an img of more than one game? if so, then ive heard that the newest one (4.x.x) has been known not to work.
    im hoping thats my problem, im just about to try again using multigame ISO creator 3.5.4 with NTSC DVD9, DVD-R at 4x speed.
     
  19. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Arrrrggh. Use single layer DVD-R discs. Nothing else. DVD-RWs are bad, so are dual layer discs.

    But you are right about the multi iso creator, the latest doesn't work with NeoGamma or WiiGator's GC loader. If it's completely broken, i can't say, i don't have a softmodded GC to test. I know that MultiGame ISO Creator v3.5.4F+ works with NeoGamma, and the bug that all discs created by it are PAL doesn't matter at all when using NeoGamma. It might matter when booting it standalone, with a modchip from the disc channel though.
     
  20. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden
    Over a year old thread :O

    Btw, Ive used a few dvd-rw discs for my GC, they worked fine.
     

Share This Page