Gamecube emulation

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by smash_legend, Feb 9, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Feb 9, 2011

Gamecube emulation by smash_legend at 10:28 PM (16,266 Views / 0 Likes) 136 replies

  1. smash_legend
    OP

    Newcomer smash_legend Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    Canada
    apparently the 3DS will be, in some ways, more powerful than the Wii
    I have been thinking for a long time that, even if it's less powerful than the wii but at least more powerful than the PSP, that gamecube emulation COULD work
    but if you look at THIS you'll see that the developers are saying that it will be MORE powerful

    I for one, think that nintendo will/should eventually ether release some kind of accessory that will allow gamecube disks to be played on the 3DS (lyk a small disk drive thing that would attach to the system) OR add gamecube games to the 3DS shop (more likely)

    but if they don't then, what does that mean for us hackers?
    I think we should test this machine (when it comes out) in every way possible, to see if this device is capable of running gamecube games, or at least, start with N64 games and work our way up
    seeing as how the 3DS WILL be more powerful than the PSP, there is no doubt in my mind that it will eventually be able to run PSX games
    I don't know about Xbox games since I don't own an original Xbox, and don't remember the last time I played one, but I doubt it is less powerful than the gamecube so I really can't see that working at all

    even though it's a big fantasy, I still dream of playing PS2 games on a portable system, heh, now that, I KNOW is impossible
     


  2. ThatDudeWithTheFood

    Member ThatDudeWithTheFood TRIANGLEZ

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,198
    Location:
    Illuminati
    Country:
    United States
    No it would have to be 3x as more powerful as the gamecube to emulate it.
    Considering the wii has barely any more power then the gamecube saying the 3DS is more powerful isnt saying much
     
    Quantumcat likes this.
  3. TwinRetro

    Global Moderator TwinRetro Don't start nothin', Won't be nothin'

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,181
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Country:
    United States
    Forget about it. The architecture might as well be from a different planet. the 3DS would have to be 3x as powerful as the Gamecube/Wii to emulate it properly, and the 3DS comes close to neither even once.
     
  4. omgpwn666

    Member omgpwn666 Guy gamer and proud!

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    2,535
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Never gonna happen.
     
  5. _Chaz_

    Member _Chaz_ GBAtemp's Official Mook™

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,624
    Country:
    United States
    I don't see it happening without a hardware attachment or something.
     
  6. Slyakin

    Member Slyakin See ya suckers

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,450
    Location:
    Soviet Slyakin
    Country:
    United States
    On the PSP2? No.

    On the 3DS? HELL NO.
     
  7. xakota

    Member xakota GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    United States
    No way. I really wish it was possible because there's a ton of GC games I want to play like Wind Waker that I never got to, but it's not happening with this one.

    Might be possible with the NGP though.
     
  8. smash_legend
    OP

    Newcomer smash_legend Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    Canada
    hmm
    well what about PS1 and N64

    and how do you know it's not 3x more powerful?
     
  9. Ikki

    Member Ikki GBATemp's grumpy panda.

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,797
    Location:
    Montevideo
    Country:
    Uruguay
    Dude, you're going a bit too far.
     
  10. TwinRetro

    Global Moderator TwinRetro Don't start nothin', Won't be nothin'

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,181
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Country:
    United States

    [​IMG]
     
    OctopusRift likes this.
  11. smash_legend
    OP

    Newcomer smash_legend Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    Canada
    what's the NGP?
     
  12. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    3DS is on the level of the Wii. The Wii is only 50% more powerful than a Gamecube.

    So no, its not happening
     
  13. m3rox

    Member m3rox GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,673
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    lmfao.

    My dual core comp can't even emulate gamecube games at full speed. Like the 3ds stands a chance..
     
  14. smash_legend
    OP

    Newcomer smash_legend Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    Canada
    well what if, as I said, nintendo released a disk drive attachment, so you can put the disks in and play the games on the top screen
    I think this would be possible

    if nintendo was smart, that's what they'd do
     
  15. machomuu

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    I'm going to assume you're not joking.

    NGP=PSP2
     
  16. m3rox

    Member m3rox GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,673
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    stay in school kid.
     
  17. smash_legend
    OP

    Newcomer smash_legend Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    Canada
    ah, sorry, I didn't know that's what their calling the PSP2
    I thought maybe someone else was making a new handheld (lyk microsoft or apple)
     
  18. muckers

    Member muckers GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    247
    Location:
    Warwickshire, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So buy a used GC and the games you missed out on - they're ridiculously cheap now!
     
  19. heartgold

    Member heartgold GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,276
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Aw guys don't crush his dreams, 3ds2 should be more than powerful to [​IMG] even if 3ds could emulate, you need at least 1GB ram for games.

    psx and n64 yeah 3ds has power under the hood believe it or not so hopefully fingers crossed.
     
  20. smash_legend
    OP

    Newcomer smash_legend Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    Canada
    stfu
    the top screen SHOULD have enough power, all you need is a disk drive to do all the work
    I could even see hackers making something lyk that (but of course, not selling it -.-)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page