Gamecube discs resetting Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Redah, Mar 11, 2012.

Mar 11, 2012

Gamecube discs resetting Wii by Redah at 7:58 PM (4,406 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. Redah
    OP

    Newcomer Redah Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Not sure if this is the right forum, as it deals with both hacking, backup loaders, and hardware mods :)

    Anyway, I have a 1st generation PAL Wii that I got two days before launch. This Wii has been modded with a Wiikey (v1) which has been updated to the last firmware (1.9s). I used to be able to play both Wii and Gamecube backups without any problems, straight from the disc channel. Then the softmodding community took off and so I also softmodded my Wii. I've re-modded it with ModMii, and I am now on the very last system menu and every IOS and cIOS is updated to its latest version. USB Wii loading works fine with USB Loader GX.

    I tried to play a burnt Gamecube disc (DVD-R) through the disc channel, and all of a sudden this does not seem to work anymore. Haven't done it in like two years, but I felt the need for some F-Zero GX :D. When I insert the DVD-R, the Wii recognizes a Gamecube disc in the disc channel. When I click start the game should be launched, but instead the drive 'clicks' once (a reset) and for some reason the Wii also resets: I am presented with the Health & Safety warning and are then back in the Wii system menu. Which, again, shows that a Gamecube disc is inserted.

    I've spent today by installing a cMIOS (always had a 'official' MIOS) and eventually DML and Neogamma to load Gamecube games from SD-cards. This works... But it's quite a hassle. I can also start the Gamecube game from Neogamma (it resets the drive, then launches the game). For the record I tried to run a Gamecube backup through the disc channel again (hoping cMIOS might help in some way) but again the drive just 'clicks' and the Wii resets.

    So, Neogamma works, but I just want to insert my Gamecube backups from the Disc channel and go. I have no idea why this wouldn't work because it used to work perfectly (thanks to the Wiikey).

    Anyone have a clue?
     
  2. Anon10W1z

    Member Anon10W1z GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Country:
    United States
    What's the Wii System Menu version?
    Edit: Nevermind, ur on 4.3E.

    You might want to look at this: http://gbatemp.net/topic/321110-poc-boot-neogamma-via-disc-channel/

    You first have to install Priiloader: sites.google.com/site/completesg/system-hacks/priiloader
     
  3. Redah
    OP

    Newcomer Redah Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Netherlands
    That's an option, but it used to work with the regular disc channel without any mods (call me stupid, but most of the forwarders/loaders are 'ugly' in my opinion and yes that matters to me :P (i do like forwarders like the one for the homebrew channel and usb loader gx ;) ))...

    So I am trying to figure out why this isn't working anymore. The Wii clearly recognizes a GC disc, so I am guessing the Wiikey is doing its job. The question is: Why does the Wii keep resetting itself after it resets the DVD-drive (which apparently is necessary) ?
     
  4. Anon10W1z

    Member Anon10W1z GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Country:
    United States
    What the thing i told you to look at does is forwards the Disc Channel to a NeoGamma channel included, so basically you boot NeoGamma via the Disc Channel.

    No jumping thru hoops.
     
  5. Redah
    OP

    Newcomer Redah Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I know, and I appreciate the suggestion, but still it's a workaround that doesn't fix the original problem.

    Also, preferably I don't want to use Neogamma at all. I would like to just pop in the DVD-R, hit start and go. Like I could before, before softmodding...
     
  6. luckwii

    Member luckwii GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    388
    Country:
    United States
    I have the same problem...I can't figure out what broke Gamecube backs from disc....One of the newer updates of something.
     
  7. Anon10W1z

    Member Anon10W1z GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Country:
    United States
    @Redah *facepalm* That's all you have to do!
     
  8. Redah
    OP

    Newcomer Redah Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Netherlands
    And today I stumbled upon a solution: Apparently there is a 1.99 beta firmware for Wiikey v1 available on the official website. I flashed this and now Gamecube DVD-Rs work great again :D The drive also does not seem to reset anymore when launching a Gamecube game, and thus the Wii also doesn't reset.

    I now uninstalled cMIOS and replaced it with the original MIOS again, and removed neogamma so my Wii can stay as 'virgin' as possible (except USB loading) :)
     
  9. Anon10W1z

    Member Anon10W1z GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Country:
    United States
    Huh, I found that out before but didn't want to suggest it.

    Good to hear the problem's fixed.
     

Share This Page