G6 Lite Problem

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by Calogero91, Apr 29, 2007.

Apr 29, 2007

G6 Lite Problem by Calogero91 at 7:06 PM (1,755 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. Calogero91
    OP

    Member Calogero91 Gamertag: Calogero91 add me.

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Messages:
    691
    Country:
    Canada
    Lately m6 G6 lite has been acting up. It saves fine but some games just randomly freeze and when I turn it back on only the top screen boots and nothing else happens. Even when I start in GBA mode all I get is a black screen. I've updated both loader and software on my G6 to the latest but I can't figure out whats wrong. Sometimes it U-Disk doesn't even read it. Should I format it? How do I format it? Any suggestions?
     
  2. Calogero91
    OP

    Member Calogero91 Gamertag: Calogero91 add me.

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Messages:
    691
    Country:
    Canada
    Sorry for the double post, but can anyone help me?
     
  3. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    If it's working intermittently, it might just be dirty contacts. Try cleaning the contacts on the G6, blowing into the slot on the DS, pluging it in and removing it repeatedly, etc. You may also want to check that the G6 PCB is not loose in the case.

    If the problem is consistant, a reformat may help. Back up all of your saves if possible, then follow these steps: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=37111
     
  4. Calogero91
    OP

    Member Calogero91 Gamertag: Calogero91 add me.

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Messages:
    691
    Country:
    Canada
    I backed up all my saves and formatted my G6. It still gives me some problems booting. I noticed that one of the metal peices from the battery has been either broken or detached. Can someone show me a picture of a G6 that has both its prongs attached so I know its not just mine. If it is broken, would soldering it work?
     
  5. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    These are the only images that I know of off hand:
    [​IMG][​IMG]



    I never opened my G6, and I don't have it anymore, so I don't know how the battery was attached. I don't have any experience soldering batteries.
     
  6. Calogero91
    OP

    Member Calogero91 Gamertag: Calogero91 add me.

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Messages:
    691
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks for those pics, but I still can't really tell.

    Here is a (sorry low quality 2mp camera phone) picture of my problem.

    [​IMG]

    That little prong is completely off, its not broken off just not attached to I guess where its supposed to go.
     
  7. GBA_Temper

    Member GBA_Temper *KING OF GBATEMP*

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    810
    Location:
    Atlanta,Ga. United States
    Country:
    United States
    --It's because it is a different hardware setting...Other then that there may be 2 problems I can think of..
    1)You let it stay in your computer too long...
    2)it needs to be charged...
     
  8. Calogero91
    OP

    Member Calogero91 Gamertag: Calogero91 add me.

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Messages:
    691
    Country:
    Canada
    I charged it for about 2 hours like one of the G6 reviews said.

    But my question is does that metal prong being broken have anything to do with my G6.
     
  9. GBA_Temper

    Member GBA_Temper *KING OF GBATEMP*

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    810
    Location:
    Atlanta,Ga. United States
    Country:
    United States
    do you think the metal prong broke off?? well I really think that your g6 hardware may be new or old version but it should work regardless to hardware differences...Humm can you use the MPZUtility....see can that help out...
     
  10. Calogero91
    OP

    Member Calogero91 Gamertag: Calogero91 add me.

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Messages:
    691
    Country:
    Canada
    No it not broken off at all, its just not attached to where its supposed to go. I guess a bad solder on the battery.
     
  11. GBA_Temper

    Member GBA_Temper *KING OF GBATEMP*

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    810
    Location:
    Atlanta,Ga. United States
    Country:
    United States
    Humm...if it is not there then you don't need it...Have your g6 been working before
     
  12. Calogero91
    OP

    Member Calogero91 Gamertag: Calogero91 add me.

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Messages:
    691
    Country:
    Canada
    No offense GBA_Temper but your not helping at all. My only question is would soldering the little metal prong on back to where it's supposed to go fix my G6 in anyway?

    http://youtube.com/watch?v=mLdwoHxSAzc

    Here's a video of my problem, this the only thing that happens when my G6 boots.
     
  13. ugly_rose

    Member ugly_rose GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    521
    Country:
    Sweden
    Did you try booting without the Passcard? Playing some GBA in that way?

    I noticed in your video that you have a different Passcard splash from me, so I thought that maybe the Passcard is in some way damaged or just of a bad "generation"/version... [​IMG]

    EDIT: Oh, and my Passcard skips the whole DS "Setup" Screen.
     
  14. Calogero91
    OP

    Member Calogero91 Gamertag: Calogero91 add me.

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Messages:
    691
    Country:
    Canada
    No GBA mode does not booth either.
     
  15. GBA_Temper

    Member GBA_Temper *KING OF GBATEMP*

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    810
    Location:
    Atlanta,Ga. United States
    Country:
    United States
    DO YOU HAVE THE METAL PRONG??? [​IMG] I feel that you don't have the metal prong, so how would you soilder it on if you don't have it.... [​IMG]
     
  16. Calogero91
    OP

    Member Calogero91 Gamertag: Calogero91 add me.

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Messages:
    691
    Country:
    Canada
    YES IT IS THERE!!!!!! It's just loose.
     
  17. skullstatue

    Banned skullstatue Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    463
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, just take the prong and apply a small amount of solder parallel to the one that is still connected. You need a pretty small soldering iron to do this though. Anyways, if that doesn't fix it I don't know what to tell you. Is your computer detecting the G6 as a valid device? This can happen if the pins aren't making proper contact or if your G6 isn't screwed in tight enough.
     
  18. GBA_Temper

    Member GBA_Temper *KING OF GBATEMP*

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    810
    Location:
    Atlanta,Ga. United States
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks
     
  19. TM_Sephiroth

    Newcomer TM_Sephiroth Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    Brazil
    So...
    Did you fixed...?

    (I'm having this problem since December...and to "fix" I clean the contact and/or put a peace of paper with the case to make the G6 stick it on the Slot...)
     

Share This Page