ROM Hack Discussion Full featured GB,GBC,GBA Emulator inside Shantae

TheRocK

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2003
Messages
374
Trophies
2
Website
Visit site
XP
820
Country
Gambia, The
As @MVG mentioned in his video:


he basically wrote an emulator. Trying to tinker with the files and LayerdFS I only get sound on GB and GBC games, but no video. Looking at the files it all seems simple enough to expand on this, but I couldn't get it to work with other Roms.

This is the interesting part from gamesdef.xml:

Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<!-- This Document contains the skin/game definition-->
<carbon packageName="Shantae GBC">
  <!-- titles is the number of titles in the collection
       engine can be one of 'gb', 'gbc', 'gba' , 'nes' (NES engine is a placeholder)
    
       count is the number of titles in the collection
    
       game id are zero based. so if you have 3 games in your collection label them
    
       <game id = "0" name="My Cool Game">
       <game id = "1" name="My Cool Game 2">
       <game id = "2" name="My Cool Game 3">
    
       romName is a link to the game which must exist in target\rom
  -->
  <titles count="2">
    <game id ="0" name="SHANTAE" engine="gbc" romName="rom:/ShantaeB3ae.bin" previewImage="rom:/assets/gamePreview1.png"
          description="Enjoy the original Game Boy Color version"/>
    <game id ="1" name="SHANTAE (GBA ENHANCED)" engine="gbc" romName="rom:/game2.bin" previewImage="rom:/assets/gamePreview2.png"
          description="Play with Game Boy Advance features unlocked"/>

Maybe someone with more knowledge can check this out.
 
Last edited by TheRocK,

Fadi5555

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2018
Messages
499
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
2,394
Country
United States
I hope we can do the same thing with mario 3d-all stars but I think it’s not possible (at least not yet).
 

Nerdtendo

Your friendly neighborhood idiot
Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2016
Messages
1,770
Trophies
1
XP
4,644
Country
United States
It's cool, but it would have been a bit neater before we had established emulators.
I hope we can do the same thing with mario 3d-all stars but I think it’s not possible (at least not yet).
There was a big push when the game released, but it was deemed impossible when they realized how much of the 3DAS games were recompiled for switch.
 

mrgone

old man
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Nov 6, 2002
Messages
1,331
Trophies
3
Age
45
Location
close to the oktoberfest
XP
2,884
Country
Germany
It's cool, but it would have been a bit neater before we had established emulators.
ah the internet, always complaining

There was a big push when the game released, but it was deemed impossible when they realized how much of the 3DAS games were recompiled for switch.
i guess MVG wrote the emulator explicitly for Shantae, so he probably didn't do a whole lot of compatibility testing beyond Shantae
 

Gaara4

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 13, 2015
Messages
87
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
2,044
Country
Germany
Can we also change the aspect ratio from 4:3 to 16:9?
I know many people disslike to change the aspect ratio, but i prefer 16:9 or fullscreen.
 

DaniPoo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2013
Messages
925
Trophies
1
Age
35
XP
2,288
Country
But why? Don't we already have pretty awsome GB-GBC-GBA emulators for the Switch?
Why are you messing around with this?
I mean it's optimized for one game, I don't except all games to run perfectly on this.
 

AlanLC

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2014
Messages
413
Trophies
0
Age
45
XP
2,598
Country
Brazil
Replaces the rom with Asterix ROM (GBC) and it worked, but I couldn't add it instead of replacing and it only worked GBC.

Why use another emulator instead of using Retroarch?
Dislike the retroarch GUI, want something more simple and straightforward with NES / SNES Online ...... etc
 
Last edited by AlanLC,
  • Like
Reactions: TheRocK

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
23,293
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
13,850
Country
Norway
ah the internet, always complaining


i guess MVG wrote the emulator explicitly for Shantae, so he probably didn't do a whole lot of compatibility testing beyond Shantae
Actually, he was originally testing with Tetris and then other games, he didn't test Shantae until he had a working emulator. It's supposed to work with any GB(C) game Limited Run might want to port to the Switch in the future. And possibly other platforms too from what I understand, GB(C) is just the beginning. Shantae just happened to be the first one they wanted to release.
As @MVG mentioned in his video:


he basically wrote an emulator. Trying to tinker with the files and LayerdFS I only get sound on GB and GBC games, but no video. Looking at the files it all seems simple enough to expand on this, but I couldn't get it to work with other Roms.

This is the interesting part from gamesdef.xml:

Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<!-- This Document contains the skin/game definition-->
<carbon packageName="Shantae GBC">
  <!-- titles is the number of titles in the collection
       engine can be one of 'gb', 'gbc', 'gba' , 'nes' (NES engine is a placeholder)
  
       count is the number of titles in the collection
  
       game id are zero based. so if you have 3 games in your collection label them
  
       <game id = "0" name="My Cool Game">
       <game id = "1" name="My Cool Game 2">
       <game id = "2" name="My Cool Game 3">
  
       romName is a link to the game which must exist in target\rom
  -->
  <titles count="2">
    <game id ="0" name="SHANTAE" engine="gbc" romName="rom:/ShantaeB3ae.bin" previewImage="rom:/assets/gamePreview1.png"
          description="Enjoy the original Game Boy Color version"/>
    <game id ="1" name="SHANTAE (GBA ENHANCED)" engine="gbc" romName="rom:/game2.bin" previewImage="rom:/assets/gamePreview2.png"
          description="Play with Game Boy Advance features unlocked"/>

Maybe someone with more knowledge can check this out.

I don't think he mentioned anything about GBA support, did he? The "GBA enhanced" Shantae is still a GBC game running in GBC mode, it just has extra features when played on a GBA.
 
Last edited by The Real Jdbye,

mrgone

old man
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Nov 6, 2002
Messages
1,331
Trophies
3
Age
45
Location
close to the oktoberfest
XP
2,884
Country
Germany
since the file listing in the xml shows a different rom for "gba enhanced",
the emulator likely uses a prepatched rom with the gba checks permanently enabled

i find it interesting that the xml states that nes is just a placeholder, but says nothing about gba, as both are not really required for shantae.
gb emulation is basically the core of gbc emulation so that has to work.
so, does gba emulation work? i doubt it, but i don't have the game so i didn't check.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty: *yawn*