Chiptune Extraordinaire
OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Right.

Hello, I'm really new to this forum, and I have been lurking a while, and really like all the homebrew stuff here. I'm thinking of programming my own ds game. It's going to be a port of the flash game Free Rider 2. It has to be one of my favourite flash games of all time. I'm really new to all this, so first of all I need to know what software would be useful to get, and any wikis that would help. My port of the game is going to be as similar as possible to the original. Its going to use the ds touch screen to draw the lines (there will still be a straight line tool and a curved line tool) It will also let you draw scenery in colour (like on the freerider2.org site) and will allow you to do all the other things it does on the flash version. The bottom screen will have all the tools for zooming in and editing, and the top screen will be the one you use to drive your vehicle. As I have seen on a few sites, they have made alterations, the biggest ones being colour scenery (I like it allot) and website exclusive vehicles, freerider2.org has the monster truck, monkey bike etc, where as the free rider 2 track mill site has skateboard and scooter. I want to make it possible for people to use these vehicles as well, so I'm thinking of having a file that the vehicles are saved as that it can read (along as they are saved into the boot directory). Another thing is that you can load tracks, in a text format, like c+p from a text document. What I do is save them into word documents, so I want to make it so that it can read .txt files and read levels from them. The final thing is that I was very bored with the selection of pre-programmed backgrounds, the clouds, city etc so I want to make another type of file that it can read as a background file. If this all works well then I want to program an add-on that lets your turn your own images into backgrounds for it. I would also think it would be cool for