Formatting to extract iso

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by garyla, Dec 12, 2007.

Dec 12, 2007

Formatting to extract iso by garyla at 9:21 PM (1,146 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. garyla
    OP

    Newcomer garyla Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have recently downloaded medal of honor heroes 2 (NTSC), i attempted to extract it, but then error appears saying i have insufficient space, and that nly NTFS can store above 4GB. I have checked google and to solve the problem, I have to format my C drive.

    Would formatting it delete 'everything' off my C drive? or will it (as i researched) just delete my program files?

    PLease help me, since i want to play this asap.

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. noONE

    Member noONE ~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    Linköping/Norrköping, Sweden.
    Country:
    Sweden
    By formatting your HDD you erase EVERYTHING from the Drive, so before doing this be sure to back up everything you need and then go for it, it isn't to difficult but if you haven't done this before, you should get some help.
    (and remember that you have to reinstall your operating system as well..)
     
  3. Azimuth

    Member Azimuth Chicken Teriyaki Boy!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    637
    Country:
    Canada
    Why not repartition instead?
     
  4. Lukeage

    Member Lukeage GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    178
    Country:
    Australia
  5. garyla
    OP

    Newcomer garyla Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So apparently, by converting via repartition, i can change the format without it deleting anything?

    Just want to be on the safe side.

    Thanks previously.

    Thanks in advance
     
  6. Lukeage

    Member Lukeage GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    178
    Country:
    Australia
    It's been a LOOOOONG time since i've done this (10 years maybe, back in the NT4 days) but here are the steps:

    1) Backup any REALLY IMPORTANT data. I can't stress this enough. If something does go wrong, you don't want to lose your documents/photo/etc.. that are not replaceable (but you already have backups of those...right? [​IMG])

    2) Close any open applications

    3) Open the command prompt (Run: cmd.exe)

    4) type at the prompt: convert c: /FS:NTFS

    5) Because this is your system partition, it will tell you it can't do it now and needs to do it on reboot. Say Yes. It should return you back to the prompt.

    6) Make absolutely sure you have the very important stuff backed up.

    7) Reboot your PC. I've no idea how long this will take, but the bigger the drive, the longer it will be.

    Once it has done its stuff, you should be back at Windows login. Everything should work as before, and you'll now be able to extract your file.
     
  7. garyla
    OP

    Newcomer garyla Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have my drive seperated into two, and so can i store my important stuff on my D drive, whilst I repartition my C drive?

    Thanks.
     
  8. Lukeage

    Member Lukeage GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    178
    Country:
    Australia
    Well you can convert your D: if that is more convenient, you probably won't even need to reboot windows.

    Just should mention, if you are dual booting an older windows (win98/ME), the boot partition, and the partition it is on are required to be FAT. If you don't have Win9x as well, just ignore this [​IMG]

    If you just have XP, there isn't really any need to use FAT anymore. Try converting which ever one you are more comfortable with (nothing should go wrong, but power outages do occur), if you are are happy you can convert the other too. This means you will never have this issue on either drive.
     
  9. pimpyT

    Member pimpyT GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    United States
    Lukeage is offering sound advice. I remember my anxiety when switching from FAT32 to NTFS, but it only took a couple of seconds and no files were harmed in the process. Still, listen to his advice of backing up important files. Better safe than sorry.
     
  10. garyla
    OP

    Newcomer garyla Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When i do what lukeage has told me via:
    convert c: /FS:NTFS

    This message pops up.

    The type of the file system is FAT32.
    Enter current volume label for drive C:

    What to do?
     
  11. Lukeage

    Member Lukeage GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    178
    Country:
    Australia
    It is asking for the volume label as a confirmation you have the correct drive.

    If you are unsure of the label, type dir (at the prompt, not as the label). The first line will show something like:
    Volume in drive C has no label.
    or
    Volume in drive E is Temp

    In the case of my C:, you just press enter. In the case of my E:, you type Temp.
     
  12. garyla
    OP

    Newcomer garyla Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks

    The repartition was successful, I never lost any data, and now the drive is NTFS.

    Thanks again, I am grateful for everyon e that has helped me. Hope now, my extraction will be sccessful.

    Thanks
     

Share This Page