Firefox- possible spyware?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Westside, Nov 20, 2010.

Nov 20, 2010

Firefox- possible spyware? by Westside at 6:58 PM (606 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. Westside
    OP

    Member Westside Sogdiana

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,905
    Location:
    Guantanamo bay
    Country:
    Uzbekistan
    My firefox always seem to start up with windows 7, I can easily kill it and things. I don't think it is a spyware, as I monitor my system with process explorer and autoruns. It is also not a fake version of firefox.exe as some installation files that require me to close the browser requires me to terminate that process before continuing... anyone have any ideas?
     
  2. BloodyFlame

    Member BloodyFlame GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Try going to Start -> All Programs -> Startup. Check if FireFox is there. That might be the reason why. If FireFox is there, delete it if you wish.
     
  3. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    Press Start, then type "msconfig" without the quotes.
    Click on the Startup tab, then look for Firefox and uncheck it.
     
  4. Westside
    OP

    Member Westside Sogdiana

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,905
    Location:
    Guantanamo bay
    Country:
    Uzbekistan
    It's a bit more complex than that. I use autoruns to monitor my registry contents, and under any configuration of start up, it does not include firefox.exe. I do however, think that firefox being at start up has something to do with another program inducing it, or some program calling it as I start it. There are no suspicious startup files also, they are all from legit companies that either makes drivers (nVidia, etc.) or programs (Adobe, etc.)
     
  5. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    What website does it go to when it starts up?
    And I'm pretty sure if you disabled everything on the msconfig Startup (and maybe Services too), then it will not automatically start-up anymore.
    So you have some work to do figuring out which program it is that's causing the problem.
     
  6. Westside
    OP

    Member Westside Sogdiana

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,905
    Location:
    Guantanamo bay
    Country:
    Uzbekistan
    Well, firefox is clean, no URL misleads, the homepage is google. There are no suspicious threads associated with the process.
     

Share This Page