Firecard Firmware?

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by Joedidyjoe, Jul 17, 2010.

  1. Joedidyjoe
    OP

    Joedidyjoe Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jul 17, 2010
    Could someone help me find the latest firecard firmware? Because i am currently on 1.41 (as my USB mode shows me), after a failed attempt to update over a year ago. I tried searching the website, but there is too much.
     
  2. Krestent

    Krestent What to post?

    Member
    3,953
    33
    Mar 31, 2009
    United States
    The last update was in 2008. That cart looks like it's long dead.
     
  3. Joedidyjoe
    OP

    Joedidyjoe Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jul 17, 2010
    But can anyone show me the latest?

    Or i might as well buy a new one
     
  4. Crimsonclaw111

    Crimsonclaw111 GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    387
    57
    Apr 7, 2010
    United States
    You may as well buy a new card. If you don't want to spend a lot of cash, just get a 1:1 R4 from Shoptemp and install Wood R4.
     
  5. Krestent

    Krestent What to post?

    Member
    3,953
    33
    Mar 31, 2009
    United States
  6. Joedidyjoe
    OP

    Joedidyjoe Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jul 17, 2010
    Any UK retailers of the R4 for a DS lite? Shoptemp is American.

    And an SD is needed, yes?
     
  7. tk_saturn

    tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,327
    14
    Jan 26, 2010
    ShopTemp is in HongKong. There are plenty of UK retailers which sell R4's, but many such as r4i.co.uk don't sell the specific 1:1 R4 which you need. Take a look at the Wood guide in my sig.

    A MicroSD card with a capacity of not more than 2GB is needed, ie those which are MicroSDHC won't work.
     
  8. Crimsonclaw111

    Crimsonclaw111 GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    387
    57
    Apr 7, 2010
    United States
    Shoptemp has world wide shipping. But yes, you do need a micro sd card. 1:1 R4s only support up to 2 Gigabytes, so shop accordingly.
     
  9. Joedidyjoe
    OP

    Joedidyjoe Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jul 17, 2010
  10. emigre

    emigre Oh Jeremy Corbyn

    Member
    8,026
    11,586
    Jan 28, 2009
    United States
    London
    Yeah, that's a good deal. Though you could spend a bit more and get an AK2 or go all the way and get a Supercard DSTwo.
     
  11. Joedidyjoe
    OP

    Joedidyjoe Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jul 17, 2010
    If i buy the R4 with SD, will it be in Chinese, as its from Hong Kong?
     
  12. Lilith Valentine

    Lilith Valentine GBATemp's Wolfdog™ ☠️Grunt☠️

    Member
    20,199
    21,561
    Sep 13, 2009
    Antarctica
    Between insane and insecure
    No, it will be in English
     
  13. tk_saturn

    tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,327
    14
    Jan 26, 2010
    Premium update service is where they set up the MicroSD card for you. It's a little pointless unless you have an Acekard2i, as that needs the firmware updating.

    You can set the R4 up youself, just follouw the Wood guide in my sig.
     
  14. Joedidyjoe
    OP

    Joedidyjoe Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jul 17, 2010
    Right, yeah thanks guys, will order one soon.