Homebrew FCE Ultra GX Update

Tantric

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2007
Messages
247
Trophies
0
XP
826
Country
Canada
Hi All,

Awhile back I migrated everything from Google Code to GitHub. With some help from Askot I've merged in (hopefully) all of the changes from the last 4 years since I last put out a release. Thanks to Zopenko for picking up the torch as well and continuing to support the emulator.

I've rolled it all up into a new release. Please try it out and post feedback here, or better yet submit a pull request if you have changes.

Latest Release: https://github.com/dborth/fceugx/releases
Changelog: https://github.com/dborth/fceugx/blob/master/readme.txt

Enjoy!
 

ngs428

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2014
Messages
200
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
123
Country
United States
Nice! I will give it a try!

All of Zopenko's 3.3.8 mod features are included in this version, correct? I see you mentioned it above, but wanted to be clear on it.
 
Last edited by ngs428,

Tantric

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2007
Messages
247
Trophies
0
XP
826
Country
Canada
Nice! I will give it a try!

All of Zopenko's 3.3.8 mod features are included in this version, correct? I see you mentioned it above, but wanted to be clear on it.

Yes that's correct. It's included in the readme's changelog as well.
 

The_Hulkster

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2008
Messages
300
Trophies
0
XP
1,152
Country
Any chance of this (and the SNES emulator) being ported to the PC?

This is just so much better than the emulators out there today.
It would be great to be able to run this on a little HTPC or something.
 

justjack

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2009
Messages
268
Trophies
0
XP
1,422
Country
Chile
Could you port this option from the other emus to FCE Ultra GX?

* Added an option to switch between screenshots, covers, or artworks images,
with their respectively named folders inside /snes9xgx at the device's root.
You can set which one to show, by going to Settings > Menu > Preview Image.
The .PNG image file needs to have the same name as the ROM (e.g.: Contra III.png)
 
  • Like
Reactions: mastershoes

IpsoFact0

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2015
Messages
428
Trophies
0
Location
The Six
XP
248
Country
Canada
^^^^^

* Added an option to switch between screenshots, covers, or artworks images,
with their respectively named folders inside /snes9xgx at the device's root.
You can set which one to show, by going to Settings > Menu > Preview Image. *

This feature would be nice to match up with the other emulators from the GX line.
 
Last edited by IpsoFact0,
  • Like
Reactions: mastershoes

HeavyMetalLoser

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2016
Messages
105
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
483
Country
United States
How do you get the cover images to display? I created a folder named "covers", put it in the fceugx folder, and made sure all the image files had the same name as my roms. I've done it the exact same way I did with SNES9X GX and VBA GX, so I don't know what I'm doing wrong.
The images files are all 160 x 244 PNG files.
 
Last edited by HeavyMetalLoser,

niuus

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2016
Messages
1,677
Trophies
1
XP
3,197
Country
Venezuela
How do you get the cover images to display? I created a folder named "covers", put it in the fceugx folder, and made sure all the image files had the same name as my roms. I've done it the exact same way I did with SNES9X GX and VBA GX, so I don't know what I'm doing wrong.
The images files are all 160 x 244 PNG files.

The feature is currently missing, for the moment. Change the screenshots path to point to your covers folder in the meantime.

* Added an option to switch between screenshots, covers, or artworks images,
with their respectively named folders inside /snes9xgx at the device's root.
You can set which one to show, by going to Settings > Menu > Preview Image.
The .PNG image file needs to have the same name as the ROM (e.g.: Contra III.png)
 

Edu64

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2015
Messages
124
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
1,184
Country
Cote d'Ivoire
First of all, thanks for this emulator, it's very good!
I have noticed that the FCE version of retroarch has an overcloking option, is it possible to implement that option in this version of the emulator?
Games like "Kirby Adventure" run very fluid when putting "2x" in the option of "overcloking"
 
  • Like
Reactions: niuus and Maeson

Maeson

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2013
Messages
933
Trophies
0
XP
2,462
Country
Spain
First of all, thanks for this emulator, it's very good!
I have noticed that the FCE version of retroarch has an overcloking option, is it possible to implement that option in this version of the emulator?
Games like "Kirby Adventure" run very fluid when putting "2x" in the option of "overcloking"

That would be a brilliant feature. Imagine all those games with slow-downs working smoothly. I don't know if it will be easy to implement, though, but the feature itself sounds too great.

I tried the FCEUMM core from Retroarch 1.3.6 but it had problems up the wazoo (Like the D-Pad of the GC being all wrong, making playing and moving around the GUI obnoxious), and being unable to change your settings while playing a game is quite annoying (I'm used to 1.0.0.2 which let you do it).
 

niuus

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2016
Messages
1,677
Trophies
1
XP
3,197
Country
Venezuela
So do the vwii emulators still get updates? Been waiting and hoping msu-1 support gets added to snes9x or maybe a overclock
What?!? Have you been living under a rock? Hahaha, here you go:
https://gbatemp.net/threads/snes9xg...screenshot-button.389448/page-23#post-6920404
https://github.com/qwertymodo/snes9xgx/tree/msu1

That would be a brilliant feature. Imagine all those games with slow-downs working smoothly. I don't know if it will be easy to implement, though, but the feature itself sounds too great.
Indeed, sounds pretty cool.
 
Last edited by niuus,

Sonic Angel Knight

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 27, 2016
Messages
14,187
Trophies
1
Location
New York
XP
11,902
Country
United States
Last edited by Sonic Angel Knight,

niuus

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2016
Messages
1,677
Trophies
1
XP
3,197
Country
Venezuela
NOOO NOT MY ROCKS! :ninja:

OH okay so is real then. Well is only for vwii? Man hope a wii u port is next, or android... or any other homebrew console. :P

Hope this work with PS3 or HID controllers. Does fceultra gx work with HID yet? :unsure:
Get out of your rock like, now... it is supported on Wii U.
 

Sonic Angel Knight

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 27, 2016
Messages
14,187
Trophies
1
Location
New York
XP
11,902
Country
United States
Get out of your rock like, now... it is supported on Wii U.
But is winter... I need my rock during winter, is cold, and soup be all expensive. :ninja:

Maybe just a peak, hope i can use my new fight stick i just bought. :creep:

So are all the gx emulators being update with new features or just the nintendo ones? I still think Genesis plus gx can use 32X game support to complete the ultimate package, and hope the color pallet in the nes games are fixed, I still not sure what option to pick, i been using default, and those border line screen flickers in some games, like SMB3 and Megaman are annoying. :ph34r:
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • linuxares @ linuxares:
    depends
    Gift
  • linuxares @ linuxares:
    some triwing screws are really crappy in quality so they just destroy themselves without a proper bit or screwdriver
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Yeah might as well just invest $10 in a good set
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    @KenniesNewName That's the problem with gadgets, there's a new one being leaked, announced, released every week, and if you wait for something better to come along you can wait forever, there's always something new on the horizon.
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Same thing with price too. Miyoo Mini is $50 and it's fine, but RP2 is only $100 and has way more options, but now there's the RP3 and it's just $30 more, but the Ayn Odin Lite is $190 and it's very powerful, but the Ayn Odin Pro is $250 and it's an absolute beast, but now we're already in the Windows handheld range and I really would like a Windows handheld... Ayn Loki starts at $200, but why not add a few bucks for better specs... but now we're close to the Steam Deck and that is a much better choice...
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    So we get from $50 to $500 in tiny, reasonable increments.
    Gift
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    Veho should eat a cookie :P
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Everyone should eat a cookie.
    Gift
  • Skelletonike @ Skelletonike:
    I have oreos
    Gift
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    They have oreos cereal :ninja:
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    My attitude in those cases is to decide what I want in that particular moment, not waiting for emminent releases. And decide based on function, that is, if I will use it almost daily and if it satisfies my desire/need
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    This saves me money, room space and head space
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I just give up on buying anything and wait until the desire subsides. Works just as well.
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    I know those moments
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Buy all the things and fill your house with junk you will never use lol
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Correction, with junk you'll use once.
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Lol maybe
    Gift
  • Extryzz @ Extryzz:
    Does anybody know how to fix vwii i get a black screen when booting forwarders, some work but the animated ones do not, I converted to vwii btw.
    Gift
  • Extryzz @ Extryzz:
    do i have to download a certain homebrew or can it be through tirasmu
    Gift
  • Tom Bombadildo @ Tom Bombadildo:
    Make a thread in the relevant section, you're more likely to get an answer there
    Gift
    Tom Bombadildo @ Tom Bombadildo: Make a thread in the relevant section, you're more likely to get an answer there