FAT ERROR

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Gagarin, Sep 9, 2008.

Sep 9, 2008

FAT ERROR by Gagarin at 8:28 AM (1,653 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. Gagarin
    OP

    Member Gagarin GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    What should I do to fix that.
    Fat Error.

    I tried a new micro sd card but it doesn't work.
     
  2. aero125

    Newcomer aero125 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Singapore
    Country:
    Singapore
    Strange.

    I have gotten 2 Acekard2 from DX last week and they both works fine.

    Have u tried formating the SD again, FAT16 format ?
     
  3. mysticwaterfall

    Member mysticwaterfall Streamforce Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,868
    Location:
    Right behind you
    Country:
    United States
    Sometimes doing the old nes trick of blowing on the cartridge works. The one time I got fat error, it worked for me.
     
  4. Gharakh

    Newcomer Gharakh Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Canada
    I got this for the first time a few days ago and was pretty worried.. after restarting the DS it came back, all I did was turn off my DS, eject the AK2, eject the microSD, then plug it all back in.. no problems since then.

    No clue what is causing the problem, but I'm getting closer to buying a cycloDS evo to use in case the ak2 dies on me
     
  5. zhuzhuchina

    Member zhuzhuchina GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    537
    Location:
    Shanghai
    Country:
    China
    it's a production bug, you should send back for warranty
    ciao
     
  6. ozzymud

    Member ozzymud GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    198
    Location:
    Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    Just sent an Acekard2 back to r4dusa.com after getting the FAT ERROR once... figured i aint gonna wait for it to happen again. (It was only a few months old). From all the posts ive read, it seems like a solder joint issue, bad quality control, anyhoo, the guy was apparently aware (although he made no direct mention of it), but when asked if the "bad batch" was past, responded yes and to send it back with the RMA form... we'll see in a few months if i get another dud :P

    So far it's the only card ive had problems with out of several ive bought in the last few months (not several Acekard2)

    R4DS-III, no issues (In my 3yo's)
    Edge, no issues (Wife's DS)
    Acekard RPG, no issues (My DS, too complicated for them they said :P)
    only the Acekard2 so far (Daughter's DS)
     
  7. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    these problems are fixed as of the 2.1 build of the ak2. if your ak2 doesn't say '2.1' on it and you get the fat error, send it back for a replacement.

    -another world
     
  8. ozzymud

    Member ozzymud GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    198
    Location:
    Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    where will it say this? on the package? outside or the cart? or on the board?

    got an image?
     
  9. mysticwaterfall

    Member mysticwaterfall Streamforce Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,868
    Location:
    Right behind you
    Country:
    United States
    Blah. Mine just died completely now, hard freeze at the warning screen. Sending it back tomorrow... It's a shame too, I just got my new 8 gig card and I can't use it [​IMG]

    ozzymud: it says it on the card sticker. There's another thread about it around someplace.
     
  10. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
  11. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    thanks bri =)

    -aw
     
  12. Phynx

    Newcomer Phynx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    This is happening to me now too... nothing above helped.

    Bought it from http://www.supercardnds.com/, but according to their policies "Product is returnable and exchangeable if it is reported defective 3 days upon receipt of the parcel." It's been a month.

    Am I boned? [​IMG]
     
  13. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    You should contact them to find out, but the Acekard has a 1 year warranty I believe. They should be aware of the FAT error and the fact that it doesn't always appear right away. If they stand behind their products, they should allow you to exchange it. If they don't, make sure to tell them that you'll just order from dealextreme.com (it's a lot cheaper anyway) or leetmod.com next time.

    -Bri
     
  14. mysticwaterfall

    Member mysticwaterfall Streamforce Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,868
    Location:
    Right behind you
    Country:
    United States
    The place I ordered my AK2 from has a similar one week policy, but they took it back no problem. Just send an email explaining it. Anybody who has been selling AK2's for a while should be well aware of the problem.
     

Share This Page