1. mathieulh

    OP mathieulh GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    France
    Hi, my EZ-flash Omega keeps bugging me about a "firmware version" update and detecting mine as V00 regardless of what I do, even if I force update it by powering on using the R button, I tried using the omega-recovery, the SD card isn't detected at all if I do that, I tried with several SD cards. I can press B to skip this and keep using the card but it's rather annoying, any idea on how to fix this?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Sterophonick

    Sterophonick GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    Messages:
    254
    Country:
    United States
    Sometimes that happens to me, you can just turn it off and back on again and it should be fine.
     
  3. mathieulh

    OP mathieulh GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    France
    I did but it never fixes it, it keeps bugging me for an update at almost every restart, I just ignore it, if I "update" there is no error but it doesn't fix anything. The message occurs even when no SD card is inserted.
     
  4. Sterophonick

    Sterophonick GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    Messages:
    254
    Country:
    United States
    Huh.
    That's rather odd.
    Even if you do update it still has the problem?

    Edit: press A to update the firmware, when you hold R when booting that updates the kernel, or the loader
     
    Last edited by Sterophonick, Apr 23, 2020
  5. EZ-Flash2

    EZ-Flash2 Official EZ-FLASH Stuff
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    440
    Country:
    China
    firmware 00 means the firmware update failed. the card is working with a failsafe firmware now.

    If the microsd which contain the kernel update file smaller than 4GB when press R updating may cause the firmware autoupdate persisting fail.
    or the ezkernel.bin has internal crc failed also cause the firmware updating fail.

    here is a firmware 6 force update bin. try to run it on a 4GB or larger card. see what happened.
    http://www.ezflash.cn/zip/omegaforceFW6.rar
     
  6. mathieulh

    OP mathieulh GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    France

    This does not fix the issue, every one out of 2 reboots I still get the V00 update prompt even after running the force update.
    I am using a FAT32 formatted 8GB micro SD, when I press R to force the update I do not have any error upon completion.

    Best Regards,

    Mathieu
     
  7. EZ-Flash2

    EZ-Flash2 Official EZ-FLASH Stuff
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    440
    Country:
    China
    after you run the force updater. did you see the autoupdate display V06 -> V07? what if you skip it?
     
  8. mathieulh

    OP mathieulh GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    France
    Yes, I see it (whenever the V00 bug does not occur), otherwise it's V00 to V07 again, if I skip it the card works as intended but it will prompt me either to update from v06 or v00 to v07 at each reboot.

    Even after forcing the "update" to V06, if I reboot afterwards WITHOUT any SD card inserted it will still ask me to update to V07.
     
    Last edited by mathieulh, Apr 24, 2020
  9. EZ-Flash2

    EZ-Flash2 Official EZ-FLASH Stuff
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    440
    Country:
    China
    once you force updated it to firmware 6, then skip all the update request. how many times of the reboot of firmware 6 exists? I mean when you see V06 ->v07, skip it. boot in to SD interface. wait a while, power off/ on , and see.

    If as long as you do not run any actions to upgrade to V07, V06 can always be maintained, we will give you another V07 forced upgrade ROM.
     
  10. mathieulh

    OP mathieulh GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    France
    Hi, the V06 firmware shows up once every 2 reboot or so (the other firmware that shows up next reboot is V00), it's almost as if there were 2 banks and an event forces it to switch bank each boot.

    So, If I boot on V06 next reboot it will be V00 then next reboot will be V06 (and so on)
     
  11. mathieulh

    OP mathieulh GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    France
  12. EZ-Flash2

    EZ-Flash2 Official EZ-FLASH Stuff
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    440
    Country:
    China
    we are finding how could the failsafe firmware(v00) and the standard firmware (v06) shows each boot. please be patient.

    do you have another console to test? consider the highlight screen should cause voltage requirement issue.
    and, how long do you meet this problem? or when it began?
     
  13. mathieulh

    OP mathieulh GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    France
    Hi, So an update here, I have read your reply last night and since I own 2 GBA, 1 Gameboy Micro and 1 DS Lite, I thought I'd do the test on all of these, for some reason the EZ flash Omega which used to work on all these consoles is no longer recognized on anything except the GBA consoles (no Nintendo logo at boot on the GB Micro and no GBA cart detected on the DS Lite), I opened it and cleaned the contacts using isopropyl alcohol and that somehow fixed the firmware bug (it no longer shows V00 and updated to V07 fine) so that's fixed but it only works on the GBA consoles somehow. I think that cart is faulty.

    The regular GBAs are the consoles I use the most so I did not notice the cart stopped working on the GB Micro or the DS Lite, this is quite unfortunate.
     
  14. EZ-Flash2

    EZ-Flash2 Official EZ-FLASH Stuff
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    440
    Country:
    China
    for the ds and gbm problem, try to move the card a little out after plug it in completely. see what happens.

    it works on gba, it is not faulty, just contact problem.

    since you said the gbm and dslite are not your primary play machine. you may consider the metal contactor oxidation.
     
    Last edited by EZ-Flash2, May 2, 2020
  15. mathieulh

    OP mathieulh GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    France
    I tried moving the card, it did not work, original cartridges work fine on both consoles.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - firmware, version, Flash