EZ 3-in-1 Extension questions

Discussion in 'EZ-Flash' started by b2cool, Nov 21, 2010.

Nov 21, 2010

EZ 3-in-1 Extension questions by b2cool at 6:36 AM (1,135 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. b2cool
    OP

    Newcomer b2cool Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    87
    Country:
    United States
    So I might buy a ds lite this black friday and im thinking of buying the EZ 3-in-1 Extension, but i have some questions

    1.) Does the gba roms run off it?

    2.) Does it use SDHC?

    3.) what is the "plus" version?

    4.) would it be wise to get ez flash card too?
     
  2. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    1. Yes

    2. No, just 64MB of internal flash! No microSD at all!

    3. Don't know.

    4. No, there's better Slot 1 cards out there that are compatible with it -- ex. AK2i

    Edit: I'm waiting for this to show up in the mail, so I'm not trying to dissuade you. This is the perfect solution for GBA games IMO.
     
  3. b2cool
    OP

    Newcomer b2cool Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    87
    Country:
    United States
    That's awesome to hear.
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Yes.
     
  5. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    according to my contact at team ez flash there never was a "+" version, officially. the 3in1 was expanded to 64MB or NOR due to the older type no longer being manufactured. this was the 3rd revision of the ez flash 3in1. the developer of gba exploader, rudolph, named this 3rd revision the plus. there are no longer any 3in1 kits being manufactured. ez flash stopped making the 3rd revision (ie: the plus) over 2 years ago.

    its the same card as the previous two except for more NOR area. only an experimental multi-boot loader coded by ez flash for their slot-1 kits could make use of anything more than 32 MB at one time. from what i remember this loader was removed from the firmware with the promise of a debugged version to be added at a later date.

    the 3in1+ has a few issues with various native flashing tools. gba exploader has been updated for the new card and as long as your slot-1 can properly dldi patchs it you will be able to use this homebrew to flash roms to your 3in1.

    hope this information helps.
    -another world
     
  6. qwertymodo

    Member qwertymodo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    769
    Country:
    United States
    3) The plus model is the newest hardware version (v3), it has larger NOR RAM and, having tested a v1 and a v3 side-by-side, the v3 is considerably faster as well for PSRAM loading. However, the Wood R4 firmware (as well as potentially others) doesn't support the v3.

    FYI, the 3in1 works with the Acekard 2.1 and the v1 works with R4's either with Wood firmware or the original kernel. I have a Wood R4 patch that enables v2/v3 3in1's on Wood R4. It will NOT work with any M3 carts (besides the Simply, if you run Wood on it...). Besides that I haven't personally tested any other carts.

    Edit: Basically what Another World said
     
  7. WiiUBricker

    Member WiiUBricker Insert Custom Title

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5,806
    Location:
    Espresso
    Country:
    Argentina
    That's not right. I have an + version but it has only 32MB NOR.
    There are two + versions manufactured,

    v3, 32MB NOR
    v3, 64MB NOR
     
  8. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,802
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Provide PCB board info to back that up that there are 2 different versions of the same board.

    Also list who is selling the 32MB version of the v3.
     

Share This Page