Error Has Occured....

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by jakeruston, Nov 18, 2007.

Nov 18, 2007

Error Has Occured.... by jakeruston at 6:08 PM (1,234 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. jakeruston
    OP

    Member jakeruston GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    I got the American Release of Super Mario Galaxy, did the Update on the disk and got the 001 Error as everyone did. Then, I thought I'd wait for the PAL Release WITHOUT updating my modchip's firmware. So, now I have the PAL Release, I've tried burning it twice yet it comes up with the message, "An error has occured" when I insert the disk. All other games work just fine.

    How can I fix?

    Thanks,
    Jake.
     
  2. paul1991

    Banned paul1991 Banned

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Messages:
    680
    Country:
    United States
    UPDATE YOUR CHIPS FW. TYHEN LLEARN HOW TO USE THE SEARCH FUNCCTION.
     
  3. jakeruston
    OP

    Member jakeruston GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Okay...

    Problem is, I don't know what modchip I have.
     
  4. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Open it and find out then.
     
  5. Sinkhead

    Former Staff Sinkhead yay p1ngpong.

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,692
    Location:
    Across the pond
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Unfortunately there is no way to tell except opening up your Wii, or burning update discs for ALL the modchips and trying them out.
    Maybe contact the person who modded your Wii?

    - Sam
     
  6. jakeruston
    OP

    Member jakeruston GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've decided to take the silly option of burning disks for ALL modchips.

    I got my Wii chipped in the March/April region. What modchips could it be?

    I just tried the WiiKey Update Disk and I got the same error as I do with SMG.
     
  7. sekhu

    Member sekhu moo?

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,156
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you can't play mario galaxy because the only way you can is to update the chip's firmware, or have a d2ckey. giving us the month the chip was chipped does not offer any further insight into what chip it could be. ask the person that chipped it for you, or open the wii up - take a picture, and post it in this threasd so people can have a look and see if they can help you

    without an update, and unless you have a d2ckey, you will NOT be able to play Mario Galaxy regardless of what region version you try
     
  8. jakeruston
    OP

    Member jakeruston GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What I mean by giving you the month is, what modchips were actually released by then? It would make the scale lower...

    If the black screen with the error comes up, is it that it can't read the disk (EG. The update disk is wrong for the modchip) or it has been burnt wrong/bad media?
     
  9. sekhu

    Member sekhu moo?

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,156
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A lot of chips were out then, that's why you HAVE TO open your Wii to find out what chip you have. Or alternatively ask the installer.

    If a black screen comes up with an error message, and you use the exact same media for all your games, and burn at the same speed, and all your games except for the current burnt disks work, then it could be a bad burn. Or it could be a bad burner.

    if you're worried about opening up your wii, get a professional to check it out for a fee. You really need to find out what chip you have. burning different firmware disks is not a good idea, you may cause a bad flash, or you may be burning coasters if you have a chip that doesn't upgrade
     
  10. jakeruston
    OP

    Member jakeruston GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Media Used: TDK +R (All the time)
    Speed = 2.4x (All the time)
    Burner = IMGBurn

    Its not that I'm worried about opening, its that my parents won't let me. I may do while they are out tomorrow though.

    EDIT: I meant opening, not burning [​IMG]
     
  11. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    ask the dude who chipped yer wii!
     
  12. jakeruston
    OP

    Member jakeruston GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is there any tutorials I should follow for checking what chip I have, if I do?
     

Share This Page