ROM Hack EO2 Translation WIP - Advice Needed

MaelstromVale

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I'm having some problems translating Etrian Odyssey 2. Since I came into this (hobby) project a complete noob, I'd like to see if there's anyone else who's seen the same thing happen before and would be willing to help me.

First off here are some images to show a little of what I've already done, so you don't get the idea I'm a *completely* worthless noob.

2319307260_2079cf8a66_o.jpg

Right now there are some translation work-arounds (severe shortening) because of the 8 character limit. This is a project for understanding and ease of use rather than a complete English overhaul, so it's fine for me (for now).

2319307258_8dc542df0b_o.jpg

You may notice that the "LV:" part of Allslash has been garbled. This is actually a minor problem arising from the real problem I'll explain soon. This will be mentioned later, so be patient.

2319307268_507769c514_o.jpg

Here's a pretty nice view of how well my table file is working. I actually started this process by making an EO2-tailored table file from scratch. I'm only about 360 characters into defining characters, which is why you'll notice parts written in kanji are missing. I stopped pretty early into the kanji section because they were jumping around so much and it was taking so long. I stopped at around 160-170 (HEX) into the table file. One of the entries in this hex shows us 3D8, meaning I'm probably lacking at least 278 kanji definitions. Probably a lot more. I may continue plugging in values, but for now this is more than enough to give a nice visual helper.

2319307264_5c507daffd_o.jpg