Emulation games going forward a thing of the past?

Jayinem

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Now that Ryujinx has agreed to stop with their emulator I was thinking about it, we not only have no Switch emulators that are actively being worked on, but emulation as a whole may be dead all together. There was some news recently that Xbox One had 6 games working or at least playable, but to me the interest will not be high for that because Microsoft started putting all of their exclusives on PC where the emulator would be working anyway, the only exceptions were Halo 5 and 1 or 2 other decent exclusives like Rare Replay (which Rare Replay is a collection of older games you play on other emulators right now)

If I'm a dev am I going to put in all of the work for a Switch emulator just to possibly be sued by Nintendo? And same would go for Switch 2. However both Yuzu and Ryujinx were profiting off their emulators with patreons so who knows, maybe someone would be up for the task and do it non-profit.

Maybe one day in the future we will get a working PS4 emulator. But as it stands right now emulation in gaming as a whole looks very bleak.

I wish you could edit thread titles like you can posts, I'd like to correct it to emulating games not emulation games. Oh well.

• Haha
Reactions: ChibiMofo

Aergisgeist

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
In the modern era with modern consoles, I think the outlook is sadly a bit dim. I imagine emulating older games will continue strong in one way or another, with users passing around access to "prohibited" emulators.

Lumpofcoal

Trophies
XP
Country
Japan
There will be other talented folks. Just that it may not come as soon as some of you would like it too, making an emu isn't a walk in the park after all.