EDGE or CYCLO DS Evolution (depends on the comp list)

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by gurtifus, Mar 2, 2009.

  1. gurtifus
    OP

    Newcomer gurtifus Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    France
    Hi all,

    I want to change my M3 Real for a Cyclo DS Evo or an Edge.
    I want the best compatible card.

    For example :
    I heard that Dragon Quest V works on EDGE without patching the rom or using the "Anti-piracy bypass cheat".
    But is it the same for Cyclo DS ? Someone can tell me if DQV works without patching or using the cheat ?

    Which is the best for commercial roms ? Which runs more commercial roms without any problems ?

    Thanks for your help.

    Gurtifus
     
  2. Sstew

    Member Sstew GBAtemp's Grim Reaper.

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,463
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    IF you have the money get the Cyclo, if your short on cash get the EDGE
    I prefer the Cyclo ROM compatibility is great. Updated frequently, Great staff, and hopefully a GUI update soon
     
  3. NightWalker186

    Newcomer NightWalker186 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Pineville, LA
    Country:
    United States
    If I were you, I'd def. go with the CycloDS Evo. I have yet to come across a ROM that doesn't work, and do have a lot. And the anwser to your question is YES DQ-V Works perfectly fine on it also. Not to mention most of the homebrew I've put on my cyclo has worked also. Fire Emblem does too. [​IMG]
     
  4. NightWalker186

    Newcomer NightWalker186 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Pineville, LA
    Country:
    United States
    AND Full D/L Play and Wi-fi works with all roms as well [​IMG]
     
  5. Splych

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    Well, to be honest, I wouldn't go with CycloDS Evolution if you don't have the money or if you aren't using the extra features. Those extra features include: RealTimeSave, RealTimeGuide, Wii - DS Connection etc.

    There is also... AceKard 2.1. It has very good compatibility (none so far) and it has an alternative firmware which is also very good. I haven't had any problems with it yet, so I would recommend it.

    I know it was off topic, but go with the EDGE if you aren't going to use the CycloDS's extra features and/or you don't have the extra cash. Go with the CycloDS if you are going to use the extra features and/or have the extra cash.

    ==

    I know it is mini modding but I can't stop to say this but... Use the EDIT BUTTON~! Don't double post, it just increases you post count for no reason, and the difference block was only 2 minutes too...
     
  6. taken

    Member taken GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    520
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Go with the cyclo ds.

    By the way starwars clone wars doesn't work with the cyclo ds evo or the edge card even with their firmware update.
     
  7. Splych

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    Leme try it with the AceKard 2.1 and will give you feed back if it does work. And it is the StarWars CloneWars: Jedi Alliance right?
     
  8. XRacer101

    Newcomer XRacer101 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Go with the CycloDS Evolution. It is the best cart out there.
     
  9. Advi

    Member Advi GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,143
    Country:
    United States
    acekard2 is AWESOME.............if you don't need those other features like In-game guide then it will more than suit your needs.
     
  10. gurtifus
    OP

    Newcomer gurtifus Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    France
    Ok guys, thanks for all your advice.

    But just a question, what's the In-game guide option ?


    Gurtifus
     
  11. Eon-Rider

    Member Eon-Rider GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,021
    Country:
    Australia
    It's exactly as it sounds. Find a guide in text format, put it onto your MicroSD and you'll be able to read it with this feature. It's quite helpful with certain games (especially Phoenix Wright).
     
  12. Splych

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    Just so you know, the AceKard 2.1 /w AKAIO v1.14 Firmware does load StarWars CloneWars: Jedi Alliance. I think this just shows that the AceKard has better compatibility then the CycloDS or EDGE.

    So far, no problems. So Gurtifus, if you don't need any of those extra features like In-Game Guide, go with the AceKard 2.1 and then use AKAIO firmware. Best one out there...
     
  13. hvyarms13

    Newcomer hvyarms13 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Stockton
    Country:
    United States
    I got StarWars CloneWars: Jedi Alliance to work on the DS with my cyclo evolution. I dont play this just wanted to see if it work so i got it a couple of minutes ago and it seem fine to me. I played it for awhile and everything ok

    v1.54B2
     
  14. Splych

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    I think it might be because he doesn't like the GUI/OS.

    I think he should just try the Sakura firmware. Unless he already has, or his M3Real just doesn't have the best compatibility.
     
  15. adjcn

    Newcomer adjcn Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    Go with the CycloDS Evolution.
     
  16. taken

    Member taken GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    520
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes
     
  17. Splych

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    Tested, and works perfectly for me. Using an AceKard 2.1 (/w a Black PCB) and AKAIO 1.14 Firmware.
     
  18. blanco613

    Member blanco613 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    150
    Location:
    usa
    Country:
    United States
    cyclo no question. the edge is just a cyclo clone
     
  19. purplesludge

    Member purplesludge anyone have any ideas for this space

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    wv
    Country:
    United States
    I've owned an m3real and currently have a cyclo and much prefer it over the m3real.
     

Share This Page