Edge cart and wifi?

Discussion in 'EDGE' started by Fafnir, Feb 6, 2009.

Feb 6, 2009

Edge cart and wifi? by Fafnir at 8:34 PM (1,296 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. Fafnir
    OP

    Newcomer Fafnir Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Damned US...
    Country:
    United States
    Is this sort of like the whole Wii connectivity thing where it's hit or miss? (I've been wondering, since whenever I get somewhere that has a hotspot, I can't really connect, even with the proper wep key and all.)

    I dunno if it's just me, but I'm just curious.
     
  2. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Works fine for me on my cart. Are you trimming the roms and if you are what trimmer are you using?
     
  3. Fafnir
    OP

    Newcomer Fafnir Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Damned US...
    Country:
    United States
    I haven't used any kind of trimmer. For the most part, I use roms that I just drag and drop onto the cart.

    Maybe I have to be closer to the hotspot for it to read. But doesn't the DS have about a maximum of 20 feet before it won't connect? Or am I wrong there?
     
  4. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Mines got a pretty decent range, it picks up next doors router anyway, so I can't see yours being any differet. Is it all games it's having problems with or a select few?
     
  5. Fafnir
    OP

    Newcomer Fafnir Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Damned US...
    Country:
    United States
    I haven't had a chance to test all of them. I don't have wifi at home yet, though I'm working on it. But I've tried Custom Robo Arena, Phantasy Star Zero and the only retail game I own, Pokemon Pearl.
     
  6. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Does Pokemon work ok?
     
  7. Fafnir
    OP

    Newcomer Fafnir Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Damned US...
    Country:
    United States
    I'll have to try it when I get to the local hotspot. If it doesn't, my DS is probably bricked or something.
     
  8. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It probably will work, it's just better to test it just in case it doesn't. It rules out it just being the flashcart then. If it doesn't work it could be something as simple as it not being set up right.
     

Share This Page