1. cpasjuste

    OP cpasjuste GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,078
    Country:
    France
    [​IMG]

    Hi,

    Here is a Duke Nukem 3D engine (eduke32) for the Nintendo Switch.
    I do have put some time in it to make it as good as possible, i think i did succeed, i hope you'll enjoy :)

    DOWNLOAD:

    INSTALLATION:

    • copy "eduke32" folder into "/switch" folder (overwriting config files if asked)
    • copy "DUKE3D.GRP" and "DUKE.RTS" to "/switch/eduke32" folder

    NOTE:
    • all renders are implemented (including polymer/polymost opengl renders !)
    • for a best experience, i do recommend to play the game with the "polymer" opengl render at 720p (all effects enabled, including dynamic lightning) without the "Duke Nukem 3D: High Resolution Pack" but with the "Duke3D HRP Music Packs"! Edit: eduke32 devs seems to recommend "polymost" render!
    • Note that some people seems to prefer the "polymost" render (original render, less effects but more accurate (?) and faster), it's up to you.
    • a switch only setting is now available in the "eduke32.cfg" file: "Overclock". Setting this to "1" will unlock cpu/gpu frequency on handheld mode.

    DUKE NUKEM 3D HIGH RESOLUTION PACK:
    • the "Duke Nukem 3D: High Resolution Pack" is now working with the opengl "polymost" render
    • you may unzip it directly to "eduke32" folder for faster access to resources
    • you must disable "dynamic lightning" to get 60 fps
    • when texture caching is enable, first map loading time will be high to generate the cache
    • texture caching will also append during gameplay, creating major slowdowns on the first play

    HPR MUSIC (OR HIGH RES) PACK INSTALLATION:
    • create an "autoload" folder in the eduke32 directory
    • download an "Duke3D HRP Music Packs" (or any other pack) from HRP website
    • copy the zipped pack to the newly created "autoload" folder

    ION FURY:
    • Ion Fury is working, slowly. To get a stable 30 fps, either use the "software" render or the "polymost" render with all effects disabled and limit fps to 30 in video menu.
    • the "polymer" render does not work with Ion Fury

    THANKS

    • devkitPro and libnx people: yellows8, plutoo, profi200, WntrMute ....
    • eduke32 team
    • ScHlAuChi for providing a 3.0 Switch! (you rock mate)
     
    Last edited by cpasjuste, May 2, 2020
    lisko, Benja81, FanNintendo and 46 others like this.
  2. Thanks for your effort! It's time to kick ass and chew bubble gum... damn, I'm all out of gum.
     
    Benja81, Tyvar1, XAIXER and 7 others like this.
  3. RichKK

    RichKK GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2015
    Messages:
    113
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Works fine, awesome work again my friend!
     
  4. _n3o_

    _n3o_ Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    France
    Good job again Cpasjuste ;)
    You're da man !

    Come get some !
     
  5. guily6669

    guily6669 GbaTemp is my Drug
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,908
    Country:
    United States
    Can anyone plz show a video of it.

    Anyway the forum is sucking so much lately, I wonder when a software release sub-forum for Switch will appear or a sticky thread here with everything that got released and was forgotten... When CFW arrives it will be so much hard to find all the awesome releases up to that date.
     
    B4rtj4h and Subtle Demise like this.
  6. Absintu

    Absintu GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2018
    Messages:
    232
    Country:
    Portugal
    agree.. Its gonna be even worst as summer arrives
     
  7. x0x0

    x0x0 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2017
    Messages:
    305
    Country:
    Poland
    Great port but we cannot saving :(
     
  8. DocAmes1980

    DocAmes1980 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2016
    Messages:
    873
    Country:
    United States
    Great. Thank you. Have you considered using the stock ROM rooted, with Xposed modules? I'm using a OnePlus 5T with the stock ROM. Gravity Box [O] has all the custom ROM like tweaks that I need.
     
  9. cpasjuste

    OP cpasjuste GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,078
    Country:
    France
    I sort of like using beta ROMs, currently using lineage 15.1 on my old note 4, but I also agree that modded stock ROMs are usually the best.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Ill take a look very soon !
     
    Last edited by cpasjuste, Apr 29, 2018
    x0x0 likes this.
  10. DocAmes1980

    DocAmes1980 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2016
    Messages:
    873
    Country:
    United States
    In the meantime there is this:
    https://switchbru.com/appstore/
     
  11. guily6669

    guily6669 GbaTemp is my Drug
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,908
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah but there's a lot of stuff here even for Windows related to switch that kinda got forgotten it's not just things released 4 Switch it self ;).
     
    DocAmes1980 likes this.
  12. crazyxelite

    crazyxelite GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    Nice work!
     
    Last edited by crazyxelite, Apr 29, 2018
  13. Gootah

    Gootah GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    242
    Country:
    United States
    Does it work on 1.0?
     
  14. HtheB

    HtheB GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    815
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Works nice on 2.1.0
    Is there a way to get the music to work?
     
  15. notimp

    notimp Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    3,829
    Country:
    Laos
    Plays like a charm. :) Except as stated above, saving currently doesnt work. It seems, that the game expects a name entry at that point, so mapping any joypad key to any number or letter key should be a way around this. :).

    edit: BGM Music doesnt seem to work either - that goes for 3.0.0 as well. :)

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    B4rtj4h, Guivas73, Greg956 and 2 others like this.
  16. guily6669

    guily6669 GbaTemp is my Drug
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,908
    Country:
    United States
    Nice pics, but wheres a video of it, pics don't show the performance even though I bet it already runs smooth, but still would like to see a video of it running.
     
  17. Gootah

    Gootah GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    242
    Country:
    United States
    Tried about 10x on 1.0, seems the presence of this app instacrashes the unit.
     
  18. notimp

    notimp Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    3,829
    Country:
    Laos
    There is a flag in build.cfg for enabling music, havn't figured out if this is how music could be enabled, but in case no music is related to this - heres the documentation: http://wiki.eduke32.com/wiki/Configuration_file_options

    Also - I havent found how to use items (Jetpack, Holo Duke...) without mapping them to specific buttons - so cycling through them doesnt do any good currently. I might be missing something very obvious - but I don't know where.. ;)

    A way to have full keyboard entry options would be great - for the simple reason of enabling cheats (phrases like DNKROY, or DNSTUFF would have to be entered on the cheats screen), I've looked into if enabled cheats could be prepopulated via .cfg - and they can't but maybe they can via a "savefile" - I'll try this out eventually.

    I'm uploading a shady video to give you an impression about performance right now - edit with the videolink soon to come.
     
    cpasjuste likes this.
  19. cpasjuste

    OP cpasjuste GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,078
    Country:
    France
    I noticed it try to load a "timidity.cfg" file which doesn't exist yet of course (and search in wrong places..). I think it should not be to hard to get music, I may try to take a look today.
     
    HtheB likes this.
  20. notimp

    notimp Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    3,829
    Country:
    Laos
    Thank you. :)

    Here is a video for everyone to gage performance on. (Its 60fps+ in game (judged by feel ;) ) )

    https://streamable.com/l6o7s

    Please try to ignore the odd camera angle and dirt underneath the fingernail on the left (*gross*). ;)
     
    bonoboy, TheZoc, cyb0rg and 1 other person like this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Nukem,