DSLinux on M3i

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by Sykes19, Nov 9, 2009.

Nov 9, 2009

DSLinux on M3i by Sykes19 at 7:07 AM (1,376 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. Sykes19
    OP

    Newcomer Sykes19 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    I've got an M3i that I'm using on a DSi, and I can't seem to get DSLinux to start. I just get white screens. I've reinstalled it 3 different times, and I've used M3 Sakura, Touchpod (whatever the alternate loader is), DSOrganize, and DS Kiosk to load it and it all ends up the same. I've tried using different buttons, or the touch screen to start it (that's what's been suggested to me in other places) but it doesn't change anything. To be quite honest, I still don't understand what DLDI is completely and how to work with it, but I know the M3i auto-patches and I often hear I never need to worry about it. I've tried starting it without DLDI patching, I've tried No-Patching it, but it's all the same.

    I've looked all over for answers, but none of them seemed relevant because I couldn't find anyone with this problem that uses the M3i. Most of the people I see with the same problem are using cards that are unsupported, but I know the M3 Real is supported, and I assumed the M3i was close enough. I'm fairly new to most of this though.

    This seems like an M3i specific problem, so I figured this would be a good place to ask. No better place than GBAtemp, so I'm told. I'll ask on the DSLinux forums as well.

    Thanks for any help,
     
  2. wchill

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    I think DSLinux requires both a Linux PC and a RAM expansion.
     
  3. Sykes19
    OP

    Newcomer Sykes19 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    It has instructions on how to install it on Windows, so Linux isn't required.

    Here's the source, straight from the DSLinux Wiki:

    [​IMG]
     
  4. stab244

    Member stab244 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    654
    Country:
    United States
    Get a DSL then? I wonder what other homebrew got broken...
     
  5. Magmorph

    Member Magmorph GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    United States
    Colors. [​IMG]
     
  6. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    Umm, DSLinux requires extra ram, did you even read the tutorials? The DSi doesn't have Slot-2, and DSi mode isn't hacked yet, so no DSLinux on a DSi ATM.
     
  7. Vague Rant

    Member Vague Rant Deceptively cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,980
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Way to disinformation. DSLinux does not require additional RAM, it's just highly recommended. This is a DSi compatibility problem, not a lack of RAM problem. Did you even read this thread?
     

Share This Page