1. nocash123

    OP nocash123 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Messages:
    133
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    Bringing up an old question: What are the DSi regions? I had originally asked that on http://ngemu.com/threads/dsi-regions.166777/ three years ago, and so far three regions have been identified, and another three regions are "known to exist" but without knowing which countries/languages they are covering exactly:
    Code:
    Japan Region     - unknown (believed to be 1 country, 1 language by most people)
    Chinese Region   - unknown
    Korean Region    - unknown
    Australia Region - 2 countries, 1 language (as of DSi Firmware Ver 1.4.5A)
    US Region        - 47 countries, 3 languages (as of DSi Firmware Ver 1.3U)
    Europe Region    - 47 countries, 5 languages (as of DSi Firmware Ver 1.4E)
    
    The console region can be found in System Settings, the firmware version & region is shown on upper screen (for example 1.4.5E for EURopean v1.4.5). And the lower screen consists of four pages, with Language/Country options shown in the 4th page. In english language, the four pages are looking as so:
    Code:
    System Settings, page 1/4
      Data Managment         <-- only if console was connected to dsi shop
      Wireless Communications
      Brightness Settings
    System Settings, page 2/4
      Profile
      Date
      Time
      Alarm
    System Settings, page 3/4
      Parental Controls
      Touch Screen
      Mic Test
      Internet
    System Settings, page 4/4
      Language               <-- in US/EUR (not AUS)  (JAP/CHN/KOR=?)
      Country                <-- in US/EUR/AUS        (JAP/CHN/KOR=?)
      System Update
      Format System Memory
    
    And, here's the complete list of known languages & countries. The language is important for the firmware's user interface (and some games are sharing the firmware option for the game language). The country is mostly used for parental controls (age ratings).
    Code:
    JP Region
    Languages: Unknown (most people think it's japanese only)
    Contries: Unknown (most people think it's japan only)
    
    Chinese Region
    Languages: Unknown (supposedly Chinese/Mandarin?, and maybe English or so)
    Contries: Unknown (supposedly including China or Taiwan and maybe Hong Kong)
    
    Korean Region
    Languages: Unknown (supposedly Korean, and maybe English or so)
    Contries: Unknown (supposedly including North or South Korea)
    
    Australia Region - 2 countries, 1 language (as of DSi Firmware Ver 1.4.5A)
    Languages:
      English (only english, there is no language option at all)
    Countries:
      Australia
      New Zealand
    
    US Region - 47 countries, 3 languages (as of DSi Firmware Ver 1.3U)
    Languages:
      English
      Francais (=French)
      Espanol  (=Spanish)
    Countries:
      Anguilla
      Antigua and Barbuda
      Argentina
      Aruba
      Barbados
      Belize
      Bolivia
      Brazil
      British Virgin Islands
      Canada
      Cayman Islands
      Chile
      Columbia
      Costa Rica
      Dominica
      Dominican Republic
      Ecuador
      El Salvador
      French Guiana
      Grenada
      Guadeloupe
      Guatemala
      Guyana
      Haiti
      Honduras
      Jamaica
      Martinique
      Mexico
      Montserrat
      Netherlands Antilles
      Nicaragua
      Panama
      Paraguay
      Peru
      Saint Kitts and Nevis
      Saint Lucia
      Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
      Singapore
      Suriname
      The Bahamas
      Trinidad and Tobago
      Turks and Caicos Islands
      United Arab Emirates
      United States
      Uruguay
      US Virgin Islands
      Venezuela
    
    Europe Region - 47 countries, 5 languages (as of DSi Firmware Ver 1.4E)
    Languages:
      English
      Francais (=French)
      Deutsch  (=German)
      Espanol  (=Spanish)
      Italiano (=Italian)
    Countries:
      Albania
      Austria
      Belgium
      Bosnia and Herzegovnia
      Botswana
      Bulgaria
      Croatia
      Cyprus
      Czech Republic
      Denmark
      Estonia
      Finland
      France
      Germany
      Greece
      Hungary
      Iceland
      Ireland
      Italy
      Latvia
      Lesotho
      Liechtenstein
      Lithuania
      Luxembourg
      Macedonia
      Malta
      Montenegro
      Mozambique
      Namibia
      Netherlands
      Norway
      Poland
      Portugal
      Romania
      Russia
      Serbia
      Slovakia
      Slovenia
      South Africa
      Spain
      Swaziland
      Sweden
      Switzerland
      Turkey
      United Kindgom
      Zambia
      Zimbabwe
    
     
    Last edited by nocash123, Sep 13, 2017
  2. CatmanFan

    CatmanFan Anxious and regretful
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    1,951
    Country:
    Morocco
    Wow! This is very interesting!
    BTW, Japan region supports Japanese language only. Language and Country are also not available on a Japanese console.
     
    Last edited by CatmanFan, Sep 10, 2017
  3. nocash123

    OP nocash123 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Messages:
    133
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    Thanks! Added the info about japan. Do you have the firmware version number, too? (just for curiosity, I doubt that they have added/removed countries or languages in different versions, especially not in japan).
     
  4. CatmanFan

    CatmanFan Anxious and regretful
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    1,951
    Country:
    Morocco
    I don't have a Japanese system, but I think Japanese consoles never had the Country or Language option available regardless of version number.
     
  5. JimmyZ

    JimmyZ Sarcastic Troll
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    681
    Country:
    Zimbabwe
    iQue(Nintendo's China mainland subsidiary or something like that) devices are very unpopular in China, usually they came in too late, most gamers already bought imported, situation got worse for 3DS since region lock.

    As for country and language support, I suppose it's 1 country and 1 language.
    reference:
    http://price.zol.com.cn/161/1613957_all.html
    there're only two options in the 4th page, namely "console update" and "console initialize":
    [​IMG]

    And iQue is Chinese mainland only, Nintendo Hong Kong and Taiwan usually sells region J consoles, except for 3DS they have a Traditional Chinese version AFAIK. (BTW things got really funny after that, but it's off topic I suppose)

    As for region J, I don't have a Japanese DSi, but from experiences with Wii and 3DS, I suppose it's also 1 country and 1 language.
     
    Last edited by JimmyZ, Sep 10, 2017
    Deleted User and CatmanFan like this.
  6. CatmanFan

    CatmanFan Anxious and regretful
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    1,951
    Country:
    Morocco
    I might say that Korean consoles don't have any country/language option as well but I'm still not sure.
     
  7. marine5422

    marine5422 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United States
    I had korean console before, but it has no pros to collect it because lack of contents.
    It can't be long last. I sell it :P But I can tell that what I know (remember).
    Based on compare with 3ds korean console, it(korean dsi) has fixed language(korean),
    fixed country(south korea only, never include north korea. WE ARE DIFFERENT COUNTRY).
    So there is no 'language/country' options. Just 1 language, 1 country.
    And if i'm remember correctly, launch firmware with korean console was Ver 1.4.1K.
    (it means it can't be exploitable due to lack of ver 1.4.0, well actually we don't have any exploitable dsiware anyway :))




    Edit. I never heard of that nintendo has service on north korea. Literally, 'Korea' in the nintendo console country means 'South Korea(The republic of Korea) ONLY'. I hope you guys don't confuse with that.
     
    Last edited by marine5422, Sep 13, 2017
    JimmyZ and CatmanFan like this.
  8. nocash123

    OP nocash123 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Messages:
    133
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    Okay, that's confusing. If I got it right...
    GUI: So people in hong kong and taiwan are having japanese firmware user interfaces. And most people in china mainland also don't have chinese firmwares because they imported DSi's from these or that regions.
    Games: And then, as the DSi is region locked, almost nobody on earth could play chinese games, making it rather ridiculous to produce/sell custom or localized chinese titles? One thing that might work would be producing DS games (without DSi features; but I think even the DS did have some sort of region locking in china/korea). Or producing chinese DSi games that are unlocked to work in all regions would also work (at least for cartridges (for DSiware titles, nintendo would have needed to sell chinese games via EUR/AUS/US/JAP dsi shop, and they probably didn't wanted to do that)).

    And alltogether... looks as if nobody has recently seen a real DSi console from CHN/KOR/JP... so it isn't really 100.0% confirmed that they are all 1 country, 1 language. I guess it's as so, but it would be better if somebody could verify it on real hardware.
     
    Last edited by nocash123, Sep 14, 2017
  9. JimmyZ

    JimmyZ Sarcastic Troll
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    681
    Country:
    Zimbabwe
    Yeah you got it right, lots of gamers got a region J console can't read the menu, they just pop a cart in and start playing.

    On the other hand learning Japanese is not so hard for Chinese since they already knew Kanji, especially Taiwan and northeastern regions for been occupied by Japanese during WWII era for quite a while.

    Language barrier is a huge factor, official releases in China is very limited or more accurately near non-existant, fan translations are very popular in China, also pirated games, as you can see most if not all flashcarts are originated from China.

    And Nintendo did sell some games in Chinese in region J, like fire emblem echoes and of cause Pokemon sun/moon, these games are never released in China.

    And yes even iQue DS had region lock, it only had 8 official games according to Wikipedia. On the other hand most flashcarts work with it.

    Region lock was introduced with iQue GBA, as a selling point actually, only iQue GBA can play official iQue games with official Chinese localization(I might be wrong with this), but also compatible with normal GBA games. I have an iQue GBA SP since launch, all iQue GBA SP comes with backlight. but I haven't bought another iQue product since then.

    Not 100% sure yeah but I don't see why would that change after launch. AFAIK China hasn't been divided since then.
     
    Last edited by JimmyZ, Sep 15, 2017
  10. marine5422

    marine5422 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United States

    Like I said, I had korean console before and I confirm that because we korean never use other language except the korean in normal conversation. (and 'korean' language using country is South Korea only (Yea, there is North korea also, but we and they are have slightly different language, so nowdays "korean" means mostly for 'South Korea'). As I said that I had sell it before, but I'm 100% for sure.

    Edit: proof - https://m.blog.naver.com/PostView.nhn?blogId=shining8543&logNo=60105529359 see 48th of 59 picture. There are only 2 options on 4th setting page. One is Firmware Update and the other is Factory Reset.


    Edit2: And Maybe this information is also useful for you to clarification. Unlike the Wii/DSi/3DS, the DS Lite model in Korea has a 6 different language (Engish, Deutsch, French, Espanol, Korean, Japanese). I don't know why NoK (Nintendo of Korea) added other 5 language, because we never use other language excpet the korean. lol :)
    but anyway it's a some kind of exception. All other consoles that after the NDSL, has only 1 language / 1 country that I can say clarify for sure.
     
    Last edited by marine5422, Sep 14, 2017
  11. GerbilSoft

    GerbilSoft GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2,337
    Country:
    United States
    Do you happen to know of any technical information on this? As far as I know, GBA never had region lock, but the iQue DS did.

    GBATEK lists region lock for iQue DS but not GBA: http://problemkaputt.de/gbatek.htm
    It also lists a region code for South Korean DSes, but says that region lock wasn't enforced for those systems.

    (Interestingly, iQue DS games work fine on any-region 3DS.)

    GBATEK also lists the following region-lock flags for DSi-enhanced/exclusive titles:

    Code:
      1B0h 4    Region flags (bit0=JPN, bit1=USA, bit2=EUR, bit3=AUS, bit4=CHN,
                  bit5=KOR, bit6-31=Reserved) (FFFFFFFFh=Region Free)
    
     
  12. Ryccardo

    Ryccardo watching Thames TV from London
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    7,213
    Country:
    Italy
    Japanese version is also 1 country 1 language

    Capture.PNG
     
  13. JimmyZ

    JimmyZ Sarcastic Troll
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    681
    Country:
    Zimbabwe
    I guess I was wrong on that, maybe my memory confused that with iQue DS.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Regions,