DSI R4i problem

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by Nilophos, Apr 17, 2013.

Apr 17, 2013

DSI R4i problem by Nilophos at 10:46 AM (571 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Nilophos
    OP

    Newcomer Nilophos Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello, i recently bought my son a DSI XL (version 1.4.5E) i also purchased an R4i card with Sandisk 8GB card from http://www.uk-saler.com/r4i-sdhc-v1-4-5-card-for-nintendo-dsi-dsi-xl-dsl-ds.html
    i then installed these files
    R4.dat
    moonshl2
    R4iMenu
    which i got from http://www.r4i-sdhc.com/downloade.asp
    i then installed my games and everything worked fine, for about a month then yesterday it stopped working.
    when turned on it still has the R4i file on the main DS menu when i click it it still loads the R4i menu giving me a choice of either game / multimedia / config and wifi engine
    if i click config it loads as normal as does wifi engine if i click multimedia it loads but crashes
    but when i click games nothing happens and the DS freezes!
    I put the micro sd card into the computer hoping to copy the games as i no longer have back-ups of them and reformat the card however when i try to access the files it keeps saying not responding and wont let me do anything.
    Anyone have any idea's please?
    Thanks
     
  2. Nilophos
    OP

    Newcomer Nilophos Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Forgot to mention i now have these files on the SD card too
    SWRESET.SYS
    DEMON0.SYS
    not sure where these came from?
    Are they the problem?
     
  3. pyromaniac123

    Member pyromaniac123 ส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็(ಠ益ಠส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,000
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try a different micro sd reader.
     
  4. Nilophos
    OP

    Newcomer Nilophos Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That doesn't explain whats happened to this one though, it was working fine, if i change it the same thing could happen again surely?
     
  5. pyromaniac123

    Member pyromaniac123 ส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็(ಠ益ಠส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,000
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just try it.
     
  6. master801

    Member master801 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    330
    Country:
    United States
    You could try nuking the memory card? Backup before doing it though.
     
  7. Category

    Member Category Trainee Romhacker

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sounds like SD is corrupted. Back up, reformat, and try again. If it still fails, try a different SD card.
     
  8. Nilophos
    OP

    Newcomer Nilophos Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cant back up the the card as when i put it in the computer it keeps saying not responding?
     
  9. Nilophos
    OP

    Newcomer Nilophos Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Tried a new sd card works fine, as for getting the games from the old card well i managed to open the folder to see the files but when i tried to copy or open the games folder it says I/O device error?
    must be a corrupt game.
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    No, it's a corrupt/broken MicroSD.
     

Share This Page