DSDoom on M3 Real with GBA Expansion

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by Dash_Merc, Feb 7, 2008.

Feb 7, 2008
  1. Dash_Merc
    OP

    Newcomer Dash_Merc Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    So I recently purchased a DS Real Perfect Bundle. I don't think I'm ever using the rumble pack, but whatever... (MAN is the spring in the Slot-1 card ever powerful. I just lost my MicroSD card for ten minutes after having accidentally launched it across my room, and judging by how messy my room is, it's VERY lucky I found it at all.)

    One of the first things I loaded onto my 2GB MicroSD card was DSDoom 1.1.2. (I've also tried dsdoom 1.1.0 with the appropriate structure with the same issue).

    I have the folder structure set up the way the readme told me to (/root/dsdoom-1.1.2/), with the enclosed files:
    AUTHORS.txt
    COPYING.txt
    doom.wad
    dsdoom.nds
    prboom.wad
    README.txt

    (I used to have other files in the folder, and tried removing them to the bare minimum listed requirements...but nothing worked)

    The doom.wad is actually the shareware doom1.wad renamed as per the included instructions.

    I go through the usual motions to load up the .nds, it auto-patches it with DLDI, and I get to the main menu offering me a regular game or a network game. I choose regular game (press A), and some text flashes on the screen (for less time than I can even make out one letter) before going black. The DS is still on, I test my patience some by just waiting to see if it's loading...but I waited five minutes to no avail.

    Here is my question:
    What do I do? Am I doing it wrong? Is it an issue with my card? Maybe it's my folder structure? Should I just be more patient and wait longer?

    I have similar strange issues with bottom-screen graphics not showing up in a couple of other homebrew .nds (BeatStorm as a specific example), but mostly, things just work, or work after a bit of finagling.

    I tried running it with the "alternate" boot method through DSOrganize 3.2 as well...but it still did not work.

    I tried running it in both slot-1 and slot-2 mode with seemingly identical problems.

    The equipment I am running:
    Fatty DS Blue
    M3 DS Real with most up-to-date firmware (v2.9? or 2.7, either way, I guarantee it's the most recent release unless a new one is released in ten minutes...), etc.
    2GB Kingston China MicroSD card formatted for FAT (16 or 32, I dunno...my mac will not tell me which for some reason, but everything else works, so this should not be the problem)
    GBA expansion card (I removed the case temporarily so it would fit into my fat-arse DS)
    not much else...

    This is not a HUGE issue for me, but I would love to be able to play the classic always-come-back-for-more most-ported game I love so much on my DS. I already have it on just about every other platform I own that it fits on (relatively few, but still...)

    So yeah, please help if you can. If you use a M3 Real and have it working, please describe to me how. I would appreciate it. Lots.

    If you can't help but can manage to point me towards some documentation I have not read, please do so.

    Regards,

    Dash

    P.S. - No, I did not join the forums just to ask this one question. I wanted access to all topics and downloads, and also the ability to ask questions as I get deeper into the homebrew/flashcard/(hardware and software) hacker communities.

    P.P.S. - I was unsure of exactly where to put this topic (hardware, or here) but I figured it seemed like a configuration/software issue so I posted here. If I posted in the wrong place, please let me know nicely, or (admin/mod) kindly move it to the right place. Thank you.
     
  2. Dash_Merc
    OP

    Newcomer Dash_Merc Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Bumping for help. Any help is appreciated.

    Thank you.
     
  3. Nalin

    Newcomer Nalin Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    WA, USA
    Country:
    United States
    root refers to the top-most directory. Go into your /root/dsdoom-1.1.2/ directory and move everything to /. So, if you have, for example, E:\root\dsdoom-1.1.2\dsdoom.nds, make it E:\dsdoom.nds. No directories.
     
  4. Dash_Merc
    OP

    Newcomer Dash_Merc Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Wow. That simple. I figured it would work contained in its own directory like at least half of the other homebrew out there. Too bad. Now my root will be COMPLETELY disorganised. Darn M3 Real drivers - bu maybe...the same problem even happened launching it from within DSOrganize...so it's gotta be the program itself. I wonder if the techs who ported dsdoom could fix that to be a relative link, rather than an absolute link (wherever it is in the program).

    My original folder structure, if you're curious, was (I named my microSD card "M3DSREAL." Also, I use a mac, so I don't have drive letters and use forward-slashes rather than backslashes.) M3DSREAL/dsdoom-1.1.2/dsdoom.nds (Windows-equivalent: F:\dsdoom-1.1.2\dsdoom.nds).

    Thanks a bunch, Narin.
     
  5. Nalin

    Newcomer Nalin Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    WA, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I completely understand. I wish more homebrew would work with relative directories, or do what DSOrganize does and let you stick all data files inside /data/ProgramName/. It is nearly impossible to organize homebrew.
     

Share This Page