1. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not aware of any router that supports WPA and not WEP. Every router I've seen sold within the past few years has supported WEP, WPA, and WPA2.

    It's a fucking setting. It can be changed. You go and change it, AND BAM, WEP.

    In your start/globe menu, go to the "run" command. If you're on vista/7, you'd use the little white box near the bottom. Type in "CMD" and press CTRL+SHIFT+ENTER.

    In the black box that comes up, type "ipconfig" and press enter. It'll list a series of four numbers as your "default gateway". Write those down. Go open any web browser, and enter the four numbers (like 192.168.x.x) into the address bar, and press enter.

    A login box should come up. The username should be "admin" or blank, and the password can be anything from "admin" to "administrator" "pass" to "password" or "password1", or something else if you've set it differently. Ask whoever set up the router what the password to get into it is, or check this page.
    http://www.phenoelit-us.org/dpl/dpl.html

    Then you'll be able to see what sort of wireless security settings you have set up. First make sure that SSID broadcasting is ON, then remember what the SSID is, it's the name of your network. Change it if you want. Turn MAC address filtering off. You will need to change the wireless security type to WEP if it's on anything other than WEP. It'll have you make a pass key or phrase. WRITE. IT. DOWN. After you save the changes, you will need to enter that key on any machine (computer or game system) that you want to connect to the internet.

    BAM, it's WEP.
     
  2. LUGiA

    OP LUGiA GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    425
    Country:
    I am in a router trial with my ISP and are not allowed to change any settings intil trial is over
     
  3. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    Like, as part of the process of elimination to find where a problem lies?
     
  4. nehe32

    nehe32 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Country:
    New Zealand
    yeah, but I think the main issue is the dramatic loss in security by doing so. WPA is much harder to crack than WEP. WEP only requires one to sniff and dump some packets, modify these packets and re-inject them (basically). WPA is a lot harder. WEP just shouldn't be used in general.
     
  5. fearofshorts

    fearofshorts GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Country:
    Yeah, WEP is pretty damn weak when it comes to security.
    And really, when you're on a low-bandwidth plan, you just can't afford anyone stealing any of it.
     
  6. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    I don't argue that, what I'm against is people thinking that they are unable to use WEP, or not knowing it's a setting they can change.
     
  7. Matthew

    Matthew GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    510
    Country:
    One on Nintendo BIGGEST mistakes when designing the DS was NOT storing the wifi settings in the DS, they have now learned the hard way.
     
  8. spinal_cord

    spinal_cord Knows his stuff
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,135
    Country:
    The wifi SETTINGS are stored in the firmware. The wifi communications SOFTWARE is stored in the games.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Security,