1. zoogie

    zoogie playing around in the dsiware
    Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    8,199
    Country:
    Micronesia, Federated States of
    NATIVE/TWL firm both access the same NAND chip and TWL_FIRM doesn't seem to care what offset you read/write to.
     
  2. I_AM_L_FORCE

    I_AM_L_FORCE Unban me from Discord
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    1,014
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Could this theoretically be used through a dsi save game exploit to restore NAND dumps on 10.4/10.5 systems? Or is the patched TWL_FIRM still needed?
     
  3. zoogie

    zoogie playing around in the dsiware
    Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    8,199
    Country:
    Micronesia, Federated States of
    No patching needed but there isn't currently any way to run TWL nand hb on latest firmware. We don't know how to access TWL save files without arm9 yet.
     
  4. I_AM_L_FORCE

    I_AM_L_FORCE Unban me from Discord
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    1,014
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Interesting.
     
  5. pdapanda

    pdapanda GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    728
    Country:
    Switzerland
    does this mean if we inject sudokuhax on 9.2 3ds, we are still able to restore our nand even if we update by mistake?
     
  6. zoogie

    zoogie playing around in the dsiware
    Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    8,199
    Country:
    Micronesia, Federated States of
    If you have injected dsiware hax booting from sysnand on <=9.2 then update, maybe! Haven't tested that lately.
    Remember, if you've patched twl_firm, it will not boot if you update.
     
    Last edited by zoogie, Feb 13, 2016
  7. I_AM_L_FORCE

    I_AM_L_FORCE Unban me from Discord
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    1,014
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You're not meant to patch sysnand afaik
     
    BasedIndex and zoogie like this.
  8. Slattz

    Slattz Easygoing Fairy
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Ireland
    This might be a bit off topic, but when I try inject pictochat over a dsiware app, I can see the banner fine but it gives the power off error... Is it because pictochat installs to the 00030005 folder of the TWLN partition but because I injected it into a dsiware app (in the 00030004 folder), it won't run or something? Whats stopping it from running? Has anyone tried this before and did it work or result in the same error?
    Thanks :)
     
  9. I pwned U!

    I pwned U! I am pleased to beat you!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Messages:
    915
    Country:
    United States
    The Cringe and redunka like this.
  10. AquaX101

    AquaX101 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    715
    Country:
    United States
    Are we able to inject ds roms yet and how? I saw a file size limit and i think my rom i have is below it
     
  11. Supster131

    Supster131 (づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ *:・゚✧
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    3,315
    Country:
    United States
    No, not yet.
     
  12. AquaX101

    AquaX101 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    715
    Country:
    United States
    ok thanks, was just going to test to see if pokemon event distribution carts worked
     
    Zidapi likes this.
  13. chyyran

    chyyran somehow a weeb now.
    Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,844
    Country:
    Canada
    Are we able to create homebrew TWL_FIRM CIAs with SD card access? Or even a simple Hello World?
     
  14. Dotmore

    Dotmore GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    707
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Will we possible be able at some point to inject DS games with this? (Like with GBA)
     
  15. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,672
    Country:
    United States
    NO 4MB of space ONLY and ds didnt have q SD Card slot
     
  16. Robz8

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14,107
    Country:
    United States
    Correction: 64MB (or below) of space.
     
  17. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9,672
    Country:
    United States
    Still useless for ds roms
     
  18. Billy Acuña

    OP Billy Acuña GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,120
    Country:
    Mexico
    Gamecube didn't have an SD/USB port and DIOS MIOS can read isos from those ports, and nintendon't is unlimited on terms of hardware and software.
     
  19. chyyran

    chyyran somehow a weeb now.
    Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,844
    Country:
    Canada
    DIOS MIOS patches GC-mode syscalls to Wii-mode syscalls, since both the Wii and GC didn't have any real OS. The 3DS in CTR mode does not have a compatible set of syscalls to the NDS(I)
     
  20. Billy Acuña

    OP Billy Acuña GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,120
    Country:
    Mexico
    Nope, DIOS MIOS runs GC-mode, you mean Nintendon't (?)
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - progress, hacking, thread