DS browser on R4... how to?

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by Rallhan, Oct 5, 2007.

Oct 5, 2007

DS browser on R4... how to? by Rallhan at 6:09 PM (1,539 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. Rallhan
    OP

    Newcomer Rallhan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Sweden
    is it possible to get the DS browser rom work on my R4 and in that case how?
    i'm sure this has been discussed earlier since its not a new thing but i just got in here and didnt found
    any good advices (probably just bad at searching thou)

    P.S i'm kinda new to this so plese explain it so anyobody (even me hopefully) should understand [​IMG]
     
  2. Vampant

    Newcomer Vampant Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The only way to get the offical browser to work would be with the ram pack or a slot 1 card like a supercard i think.
     
  3. Zombie_Mario

    Member Zombie_Mario GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    426
    Country:
    United States
    Cheapest way is to use homebrew or buy an EZ Flash 3-in-1 to be use as a RAM expansion so the Opera Browser can be used.
     
  4. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Long story short, you need a slot1 AND a slot2 card for the Opera browser to work.
     
  5. Rallhan
    OP

    Newcomer Rallhan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Sweden
    ok then any good suggestions on homebrews?
     
  6. KarmaUK

    Member KarmaUK GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The browser sucks to be honest but it does the job, just! Get a EZ 3in1 and your away, then you also get a rumblepak and GBA games. [​IMG]
     
  7. HBK

    Member HBK Clover - Fearless to Speak Now. ;)

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,813
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    Yeah, the 3 in 1 is the one of the best and cheapest methods.
     
  8. Zombie_Mario

    Member Zombie_Mario GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    426
    Country:
    United States
    DSHobro 0.3
    Okiwi 0.2 alpha
    DSOrganize
     
  9. sonic209

    Member sonic209 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    658
    Country:
    United States
    my stupid nintendo wifi connection usb thing doesnt let me connect to the internet with it [​IMG]
     
  10. StealthSoul

    Newcomer StealthSoul Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can add Bunjaloo to that list too, http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=61966
     
  11. Lily__Pad

    Newcomer Lily__Pad Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    DS Hobro is my favorite. The only thing is that your computer has to be turned on with the software running.
     
  12. piepants

    Member piepants GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    108
    Location:
    Dubbo, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    DSOrganise is text-only, I couldn't get okiwi to work at all, and watching a page load in DS Hobro is like watching paint dry. The Opera browser is slow, but it's heaven after using DS Hobro.

    I paid AUD$20 for my 3-in-1, well worth it. The Supercard Lite has some RAM that works with Opera as well, but it seems slower, and the 3-in-1 has better GBA compatibility (and no need to hit a key combination to save the game), so I've found myself using it more often.

    One thing to watch if you use the 3-in-1 with the browser: the 3-in-1 can also be used to back up save games from retail DS carts, but if you do this, the RAM won't work with Opera until you re-flash the NOR on the 3-in-1 with a GBA game. I found that out the hard way. [​IMG]
     
  13. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    I always found DSHobro to be faster than the Opera browser.
     
  14. Wii_DS.

    Banned Wii_DS. ウォリアー

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    681
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just in case anyone needs to know:

    How to run the Internet browser with a slot-1 device (not the EZ Flash V*) and the 3-in-1.

    1) Patch the Browser with this
    2) stick it on the Micro SD Card and pop that in your slot-1 device.
    3) Boot up your slot-1 device and start up the Loader your using
    4) Switch to the Expansion Pack option on your loader
    5) That takes you back to the slot-1 device menu, select the .nds for the browser.



    *= If you have a EZ Flash V, it says in the Wiki you don't need to patch the browser.
     

Share This Page