DS as an Art Tablet

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by deishido, Aug 19, 2010.

Aug 19, 2010

DS as an Art Tablet by deishido at 7:53 PM (2,227 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. deishido
    OP

    Member deishido Texture Modder

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, First and foremost: An art tablet allows users to draw on their pc, using a "pen" on a "tablet" like the mouse on a mousepad.

    For artists, the mouse is actually a very difficult tool to use in digital art. So being able to have the control of a pen or pencil while making digital art is an inexaustive resource. However, art tablets are expensive x.x

    I was thinking that maybe a program like Remote Touch DS could do this. My acekard2i is broken and I'm still working on getting the money for a new one. So could somebody see if this is a possible way to use a DS as a wireless art tablet? (some programs are pressure sensitive, maybe there is a way to write pressure sensitivity into the Remote Touch DS program?)

    Thanks in advance if anyone can confirm this idea ^^

    If not, then oh well ^^;
     
  2. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    I had a program on my ds and pc that allowed the ds to be used as a wireless game controller, and the touchscreen was the mouse.

    I tried using it as a tablet in photoshop... it sucked horribly. The touchscreen seemed to be set up on a very blocky grid, but it may have just been the program I used...
     
  3. nando

    Member nando GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,072
    Country:
    United States

    i doubt it was the program or just the program. the sensors on the ds touchscreen are very far apart. you wouldn't be able to do much with it.

    there are some really cheap tablets out there.
     
  4. deishido
    OP

    Member deishido Texture Modder

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm.. Ok, Thanks for the feedback and info.

    (It was worth a thought though... [​IMG] )
     
  5. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    You'd probably be better off using an art program made specifically for the DS, like Colors! for instance.
     
  6. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Colors! is good, I will vouch that
     
  7. spiritofcat

    Member spiritofcat GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    577
    Country:
    Australia
    As a long time owner of a Wacom tablet I can highly recommend saving up and buying one. The DS won't work very well for drawing because it has no pressure sensitivity and the screen is so small.
     
  8. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    Well the DS DOES have pressure sensitivity...but yeah it's just not as great to use when compared to a product made for that specific purpose.
     
  9. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    The DS and DS Lite have some form of pressure sensitivity, as can be seen with the Colors! drawing application. However, there is wide variance between different users, so a calibration menu had to be added. In official games, the touchscreen is controlled by the ARM7 binary, which is supplied directly by Nintendo. This binary only provides "on" and "off" states for the touchscreen, with no pressure data supplied at all.

    The DSi uses a different touchscreen, and to my knowledge it does not have pressure sensitivity, or at least it can't be accessed the same way that it can on the DS/DSL.
     

Share This Page